International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Italians abroad in history and art

manque image

The Historical and Artistic Exhibition of Italians Abroad is the last and pleasant surprise that the galleries of this section have in store for us. It is an original and very attractive exhibition which undoubtedly deserves to be preserved and completed when the Exhibition is over. In the face of the poverty and wounds caused by our emigration, wounds which cannot always be relieved, this collection comforts the heart and mind, showing all the nobility of the Italian genius which has royally disseminated its works throughout Europe.

The historical and artistic exhibition consists of photographs of Italian art abroad and portraits of Italians who have become famous outside Italy. As you can see, the scope of the exhibition would be immense, so it is only a test of what could be done with more time and research. Nevertheless, in its present state, it already offers valuable material to visitors who look at it with obvious satisfaction.

Let us begin with France. General political history may already have taught us the names and features of Trivulce, general, Concini, marshal of Anchor, Peter Strozzi, marshal, Cardinal Mazarin, Nicolas Gaddi, ambassador of Francis I. But very few knew of a second Peter Capponi, founder of a banking house in Lyon; of Cardinal Laurent Strozzi, of the family that founded the great banking and trading house in Lyon; very few knew that the historic Guadagni house was the work of an Italian architect.

It could also be said that artistic Paris is largely the work of Italians. The first bridge of Notre-Dame was built by Fra Giocondo of Verona. The church of St. Sulpice (1733-45) is the work of the architect Servandoni. The Gallery of Francis I in Fontainebleau was painted by Rosso del Rosso. And the endless paintings in the Louvre, the statues and tombs of the kings of France in the Louvre itself and in the abbey church of St. Denis, constantly remind us, when we visit Paris and its surroundings, of the name of an Italian master.

In Spain, palaces, churches, chapels, convents and tombs were executed and painted by Italians, from Barcelona to Saragossa, to El Escorial and Toledo; from Salamanca to Seville and Granada.

In Portugal, among other works by Italians, we may mention the church of the Estrella in Belen, built on the type of St. Peter's in Rome; the monastery of the Jeronimos, also in Belen, the royal palace of Ajuta, the National Theatre of Lisbon, the cathedral of Porto.

We also find Italian monuments in London, where the statue of Richard the Lionheart by Baron Marocchetti recalls, in its perfection, the monument of Emmanuel-Philibert, and, in its raised sword, the statue of Char les-Albert, in Turin, by the same author.

Italian artists did not fear to go as far north as Belgium, where, for example, the cathedral of Namur (1751-67) was erected by the Milanese Gaetano Pisoni. They arrived in Dresden, Berlin, Prague, Graz and Vienna. Their inspiration remained fresh and powerful under the misty skies of Krakow, Leopolis, Warsaw and St. Petersburg. They proved that the Italian genius, starting with Rome, which civilised the whole known world, has always been universal.

The photographs in question have been arranged in an orderly fashion in tables which indicate the work of the Italians in a given country.
The collection of Venetian works of art along the Dalmatian coast, in Zara, Sebenico, Traci, Lésina and Curzola, as well as in the islands of the Greek Archipelago, is noteworthy for its richness.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Italiens à l’étranger dans l’histoire et dans l’art

manque image

L’Exposition historique et artistique des Italiens à l’étranger forme la dernière et agréable surprise que nous réservent les galeries de cette section. C’est une exposition originale et très attrayante qui mérite sans nul doute d’être conservée et complétée, quand l’Exposition sera finie. En face de la pauvreté et des plaies causées par notre émigration, plaies auxquelles on ne peut pas toujours apporter un soulagement, cette collection réconforte le cœur et l’esprit, en montrant toute la noblesse du génie italien qui a disséminé royalement ses œuvres dans toute l’Europe.

L’exposition historique et artistique se compose de photographies d’œuvres d’art italien à l’étranger et de portraits d’Italiens qui se sont rendus célèbres hors de l’Italie. On le voit, le champ de l’exposition serait immense; aussi n’est-elle qu’un essai de ce qu’on pourrait faire avec plus de temps et de recherches. Malgré cela, dans son état actuel, elle offre déjà de précieux matériaux aux visiteurs qui la regardent avec une évidente satisfaction.

Commençons par la France. L’histoire politique générale peut déjà nous avoir appris les noms et les traits de Trivulce, général, de Concini, maréchal d’Ancre, de Pierre Strozzi, maréchal, du cardinal Mazarin, de Nicolas Gaddi, ambassadeur de François Ier. Mais bien peu connaissaient auparavant un second Pierre Capponi, fondateur d’une maison de banque à Lyon; le cardinal Laurent Strozzi, de la famille qui fonda à Lyon la grande maison de banque et de commerce; bien peu savaient que l’historique maison des Guadagni fût l’œuvre d’un architecte italien.

Le Paris artistique, on pourrait aussi l’affirmer, est en grande partie l’ouvrage d’Italiens. Le premier pont de Notre-Dame fut exécuté par Fra Giocondo de Vérone. L’église de St. Sulpice (1733-45)est l’œuvre de l’architecte Servandoni. La galerie de François Ier à Fontainebleau fut peinte par Rosso del Rosso. Et les peintures infinies du Louvre, les statues et les tombes des rois de France au Louvre même et dans l’abbatiale de St. Denis, nous redisent sans cesse, quand nous visitons Paris et ses environs, le nom d’un maître italien.

En Espagne des palais, des églises, des chapelles, des couvents, des tombeaux, furent exécutés et peints par des Italiens, de Barcelone à Saragos.se, à l’Escurial et à Tolède; de Salamanque à Séville et à Grenade.

Au Portugal, citons, entre autres œuvres d’Italiens, l’église de l’Estrella à Belen, bâtie sur le type de St. Pierre de Rome; le monastère des Jeronimos, aussi à Belen, le palais royal d’Ajuta, le Théâtre national de Lisbonne, la cathédrale de Porto.

Nous trouvons aussi des monuments italiens à Londres, où la statue de Richard Cœur-de-Lion du baron Marocchetti rappelle, par sa perfection, le monument d’Emmanuel-Philibert, et, par son épée levée, la statue de Char les-Albert, à Turin, du même auteur.

Les artistes italiens n’ont pas craint de pousser jusqu’au nord, en Belgique, où, par exemple, la cathédrale de Namur (1751-67) fut élevée par le milanais Gaétan Pisoni. Ils sont arrivés à Dresde, à Berlin, à Prague, à Graz, à Vienne. Leur inspiration est restée fraîche et puissante sous le ciel brumeux de Cracovie, de Léopolis, de Varsovie et de St. Pétersbourg. Ils ont prouvé que le génie italien, à commencer par Rome qui a civilisé tout le monde connu, a toujours été universel.

On a disposé avec ordre les photographies en question en tableaux qui indiquent de suite l’œuvre des Italiens dans un pays donné.
Remarquons, à cause de sa richesse, la collection de œuvres d'art vénitien le long des côtes de la Dalmatie, à Zara, Sebenico, Traci, Lésina et Curzola, ainsi que dans les îles de l’Archipel grec.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911