International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Italian schools abroad

manque image

The exhibition of Italian schools abroad is also in the fourth gallery, where we are still located; we only wanted to draw it to the attention of Italian visitors, because of the high patriotic idea that inspired it.

Many Italians will probably be surprised to see that there are so many of our schools abroad, where Italian teachers or masters teach. Especially around the Mediterranean basin, they form a tight network that serves at the same time as a protection for our language and our nationality and as a starting point for our commercial penetration from the coastal cities into the interior.

The schools' exhibits are placed in simple but clean and almost elegant white wooden display cases. Each of these display cases bears the name of a country that is dear to us because of the works accomplished there by our distant fathers, from the Roman legions to the marine republics of the Middle Ages, and because of the no less great works that will certainly be accomplished there by the new Italian generations, virile in their work and boldness.

Tunisia gives the name of its main centres to several showcases. Thus we see the Royal Technical Commercial School, the Royal Vocational Elementary School for Girls Marguerite of Savoy and the G. Turrisi-Colonna school in Tunis. Then there are two kindergartens bearing the names of François Crispi and Joseph Garibaldi, also from Tunis. Let us also mention the Humbert Ier primary schools for boys in Biserte, the Italian schools for girls in Sfax and La Goulette.

In Tripoli we have the primary schools for boys, the technical commercial school, the professional and primary schools for girls.

In Egypt, in Alexandria, in addition to the three above-mentioned schools for boys, girls and commercial technology, there are the evening schools opened by the Dante Alighieri Society, in Cairo, the Garibaldi school for boys, the Humbert I school for girls, the technical-commercial school, the Tahdiria school, and the Leonardo da Vinci evening school of art applied to industry, which exhibits mosaics and objects in relief

Along the coast of Albania, we have the Technical Commercial School and the Vocational School for Girls in Scutari, the
schools of Durazzo, the school of arts and crafts of Janina, which exhibits the work of the different divisions of clockmakers, carpenters, cabinetmakers, blacksmiths and mechanics.

In Salonika, the advanced point towards the East, there are elementary schools for boys and girls, a primary school for girls of the lower classes which bears the name of Princess Yolande and a kindergarten with an orphanage called Queen Helene. We have left for last the technical commercial school, to mention especially his numerous works in different languages, in drawing, accounting and correspondence; his geographical sketches, his diagrams of Italian products and the statistics of the movement of the ships of the Italian General Navigation between Italy and Salonica, during the last ten years, 1901-1910.

As we reluctantly leave this section, we see, in a distant vision, the long lines of our students, boys and girls, long lines of young existences that are opening up to life with the name of Italy in their minds and hearts, who are learning to love her in all the languages of the coast, in Arabic, Greek, Turkish and Albanian; tender intelligences where the seed sown by Mother Italy will germinate and bear good fruit in the future.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ecoles Italiennes à l’étranger

manque image

L’exposition des écoles italiennes à l’étranger se trouve, elle aussi, dans la quatrième galerie où nous nous trouvons encore; nous avons seulement voulu la signaler ici spécialement à l’attention des visiteurs italiens, à cause de la haute idée patriotique qui l’a inspirée.

En la parcourant, beaucoup d’Italiens seront probablement surpris du grand nombre de nos écoles qui existent à l’étranger, où enseignent des professeurs ou maîtres italiens. Autour du bassin de la Méditerranée, spécialement, elles forment un réseau serré qui sert en même temps de protection pour notre langue et notre nationalité et de point de départ pour notre pénétration commerciale des villes du littoral dans l’intérieur des terres.

Les expositions des écoles sont placées dans des vitrines de bois blanc, simples mais propres et presque élégantes. Chacune de ces vitrines porte le nom d’un pays qui nous est cher à cause des œuvres qu’y ont accomplies nos pères éloignés, depuis les légions romaines jusqu’aux républiques marines du moyen-âge, et à cause des œuvres non moins grandes qu’y accompliront certainement les nouvelles générations italiennes élevées virilement pour le travail et la hardiesse.

La Tunisie donne le nom de ses principaux centres à plusieurs vitrines. Nous voyons ainsi l’Ecole royale technique commerciale, l’Ecole royale professionnelle élémentaire pour filles Marguerite de Savoie et l’école G. Turrisi-Colonna, de Tunis. Puis deux Jardins d’enfants qui portent les noms de François Crispi et Joseph Garibaldi, également de Tunis. Citons encore l’école élémentaire pour garçons Humbert Ier de Biserte, les écoles italiennes pour filles de Sfax et de la Goulette.

A Tripoli nous avons l’école élémentaire pour garçons, l’école technique commerciale, l’école professionnelle et élémentaire pour filles.

En Egypte, à Alexandrie, outre les trois écoles susdites, pour garçons, pour filles et technique commerciale, il y a les écoles du soir ouvertes par la Société Dante Alighieri, au Caire, l’école pour garçons Garibaldi, l’école pour filles Humbert Ier, l’école technique-commerciale, l’école Tahdiria, l’école du soir d’art appliqué à l’industrie Léonard de Vinci qui expose des mosaïques et des objets en relief.

Le long des côtes de l’Albanie, nous avons l’école technique commerciale et l’école professionnelle pour filles de Scutari, les
écoles de Durazzo, l’école d’arts et métiers de Janina, qui expose les travaux des différentes divisions des horlogers, des menuisiers, des ébénistes, des forgerons et des mécaniciens.

A Salonique, point avancé vers l’Orient, on trouve les écoles élémentaires pour garçons et pour filles, une école élémentaire pour les filles des classes inférieures qui porte le nom de la princesse Yolande et un jardin d’enfants avec un orphelinat appelé Reine Hélène. Nous avons laissé pour la fin l’école technique commerciale, pour mentionner particulièrement ses nombreux travaux dans différentes langues, en dessin, comptabilité et correspondance; ses esquisses géographiques, ses diagrammes de produits italiens et les statistiques du mouvement des bateaux de la Navigation générale italienne entre l’Italie et Salonique, pendant ces dix dernières années, 1901-1910.

En quittant cette section à contrecœur, nous apercevons, dans une vision lointaine, les longues files de nos élèves, garçons et filles, longues files de jeunes existences que s’ouvrent à la vie avec le nom de l’Italie dans l’esprit et dans le cœur, qui apprennent à l’aimer dans toutes les langues du littoral, en arabe, en grec, en turc, en albanais; tendres intelligences où la semence jetée par la Mère Italie germera et portera de bons fruits dans l’avenir.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911