International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Pension

manque image

The main entrance to the Exhibition of Italians Abroad also leads, on the right, to the Provident Society Gallery.

Social welfare encompasses the vast field of cooperative societies, mutual aid societies, charity societies, popular banks and savings banks. The subject, which is of capital importance for those who study social economy, is made easy and attractive by numerous diagrams even to those who are less well versed in this subject.

As soon as we enter the section, we find on the right-hand side the statistics of the workers' organisations from 1881 to 1909. Let us stop for a moment in front of one of the diagrams on display, the one which summarises the statistics of organised and free workers. Out of every 1000 workers in industry, there are a little more than 100 organised in Lombardy, about 150 in Piedmont and Liguria, and 350 in Emilia; the minimum is found in Veneto and Sardinia with a little more than 50. Moving on to agriculture, in Liguria there are barely 10 organised farmers out of 1000, in Piedmont 40, in Lombardy 50, in Sicily 80 as against 125 in industry, in Abruzzo and Apulia 100 as against 80 in industry, in Emilia 300 as against 350; in Veneto there is almost a balance with 50 as against 60. These figures explain, for example, the frequency of farm strikes, of outrageous struggles between landowners and associations in Emilia.

The high proportion of organised farmers in Lower Italy certainly derives from the fact that the agricultural industry is almost the only one in these regions.

Special tables explain the phenomenon of the periodic internal immigration of farmers to the "Agro romano", to the Maremma of Grosseto and to the Apulian Plateau at harvest time.

Let's move on to credit. On the left-hand side we read a lot of statistical data that show how far savings have come in Italy in recent years.

The ordinary savings banks had on 31 December 1910 deposits of 2,500 million, whereas in 1891 these deposits amounted to only 1,200 million. The capital deposited has therefore more than doubled in twenty years.

As for the Banques Populaires, an interesting parallel can be drawn between the Italian banks (Luzzatti type) and the German banks (Schultze-Delitzsch type). Let's take a look at the most important data: the Italian Banques Populaires number 690, with 510,222 members; the German Banks number 1022 with 627,192 members; the average for each Italian Bank is 726 members, while for the German Banks it is only 614. The paid-up capital is, in round figures, 98 million for the Italian banks (147 thousand francs on average per bank); for the German banks, 268 million (263 thousand francs per bank). The reserves are 57 million for Italian banks (86 thousand francs per bank); for German banks, ni million (109 thousand francs per bank). Deposits reached 971 million for the Italian banks (1 million 407 thousand francs per bank); for the German banks, 1 billion 324 million (1 million 296 thousand francs per bank). Loans and discounts for 1908 amounted to 1 billion 689 million francs (2 million 549 thousand francs per bank) for the Italian banks and 2 billion 369 thousand francs (2 million 312 thousand francs per bank) for the German banks. The gross interest for the year was almost the same: 5.57% for the Italian banks and 5.52% for the German banks. Net interest on share capital was 13.88% for the Italian banks and barely 9.40% for the German banks; the average dividend distributed was 8.34% for the Italian banks and 6.18% for the German banks.

The Popular Banks are also classified according to the condition of the members and the rate of interest distributed.

Among the numerous special exhibitions, we would like to mention in particular, because of the modernity of their aims, the one of the Provincial Labour Office of Udine, the Labour Office of Verona and the National House of Providence for the accidents of workers at work.

The gallery of the Provident Society leads into the gallery of Italians abroad, the section of newspapers published abroad and the colonial monographs. On the contrary, at this point, Providence continues to the right of the gallery we have just visited, with the two sections of the Italian and French social economy. This second gallery is very long and runs between a tightly packed double line of stands.
The exhibition embraces the most diverse societies; let us briefly recall the Italian scholastic mutual aid society, the mutual aid society for the deaf and dumb of Milan, the pious workhouses and orphanages which exhibit the work carried out in their workshops.

The French social economy section, which followed the Italian one, also had many exhibitors: savings banks, workers' associations, insurance companies, philanthropic societies, vaccination institute tables, sanatoriums. Among the most delicate and interesting provident societies were those of the Mutualité maternelle, to help poor mothers, and the Association, for pensions for orphans of French railway employees.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Prévoyance

manque image

D’entrée principale à l’exposition des Italiens à l’étranger donne aussi, à droite, sur la galerie de la Prévoyance.

La prévoyance sociale embrasse tout le vaste champ des sociétés coopératives, de secours mutuels, de bienfaisance; des banques populaires; des caisses d'épargne. Le sujet, d’une importance capitale pour ceux qui s’adonnent aux études d’économie sociale, est rendu facile et attrayant par de nombreux diagrammes même à ceux qui sont le moins versés dans cette matière.

A peine entrés dans la section, nous trouvons à droite les statistiques des organisations ouvrières de 1881 à 1909. Arrêtons-nous un instant, devant un des diagrammes exposés, celui qui résume les statistiques des ouvriers organisés et libres. Sur 1000 ouvriers qui travaillent dans les industries, il y en a en Lombardie un peu plus de 100 d’organisés, en Piémont et en Ligurie 150 environ, en Emilie 350; le minimum se trouve dans la Vénétie et en Sardaigne avec un peu plus de 50. En passant à l’agriculture, sur 1000 laboureurs nous en avons en Ligurie à peine 10 d’organisés, en Piémont 40, en Lombardie 50, en Sicile 80 contre 125 pour l’industrie, dans les Abruzzes et les Pouilles 100 contre 80 dans l’industrie, dans l’Emilie 300 contre 350; dans la Vénétie il y a presque balance avec 50 contre 60. Ces chiffres nous expliquent, par exemple, la fréquence des grèves agraires, des luttes à outrance entre propriétaires et associations en Emilie.

La proportion élevée des agriculteurs organisés dans la Basse-Italie dérive certainement du fait que l’industrie agricole est presque la seule de ces régions.

Des tableaux spéciaux expliquent le phénomène de l’immigration périodique intérieure des cultivateurs vers « l’Agro romano », vers la Maremme de Grosseto et vers le Plateau des Pouilles à l’époque des récoltes.

Passons au crédit. Nous lisons, à gauche, de nombreuses données statistiques qui montrent tout le chemin parcouru en Italie par l’épargne pendant ces dernières années.

Les Caisses d’épargne ordinaires avaient le 31 décembre 1910 pour 2500 millions de dépôts, tandis qu’en 1891 ces dépôts ne montaient qu’à 1200 millions. Le capital déposé a donc plus que doublé en vingt ans.

Quant aux Banques populaires on peut étudier un intéressant parallèle entre les Banques italiennes (type Luzzatti) et les Banques allemandes (type Schultze-Delitzsch). Glanons les données les plus importantes: les Banques populaires italiennes sont au nombre de 690, avec 510.222 associés; les Banques allemandes sont au nombre de 1022 avec 627.192 associés; la moyenne pour chaque Banque italienne est de 726 associés, tandis que pour les Banques allemandes elle est seulement de 614. Le capital versé est, en chiffres ronds, de 98 millions pour les Banques italiennes (147 mille francs en moyenne par banque); pour les Banques allemandes, de 268 millions (263 mille francs par banque). Les réserves sont de 57 millions pour les Banques italiennes (86 mille francs par banque) ; pour les allemandes, de ni millions (109 mille francs par banque). Les dépôts atteignent pour les Banques italiennes 971 millions (1 million 407 mille francs par banque); pour les allemandes, 1 milliard 324 millions (1 million 296 mille francs par banque). Les prêts et escomptes pour 1908 s’élèvent pour les Banques italiennes à 1 milliard 689 millions (2 millions 549 mille francs par banque); pour les allemandes, à 2 milliards 369 mille francs (2 millions 312 mille francs par banque). Les intérêts bruts de l’exercice se balancent presque: 5,57 % pour les Banques italiennes, 5,52 % pour les allemandes. Les intérêts nets du capital social atteignent 13,88 % pour les Banques italiennes et à peine 9,40 % pour les allemandes; le dividende moyen distribué est de 8,34 % pour les Banques italiennes et de 6,18 % pour les allemandes.

Les Banques populaires sont aussi classifiées selon la condition des associés et le taux de l’intérêt distribué.

Parmi les nombreuses expositions spéciales, nous citerons particulièrement à cause de la modernité de leurs buts celle du Bureau provincial du Travail d’Udine, du Bureau du Travail de Vérone et de la Maison nationale de Prévoyance pour les accidents des ouvriers dans le travail.

La galerie de la Prévoyance débouche dans celle des Italiens à l’étranger, la section des journaux publiés à l’étranger et les monographies coloniales. La prévoyance continue au contraire, à cet endroit, à droite de la galerie que nous avons parcourue, avec les deux sections de l’économie sociale italienne et française. Cette seconde galerie est très longue et se déroule entre une double file serrée de stands.
L’exposition embrasse les sociétés les plus diverses; rappelons brièvement la mutualité scolastique italienne, la société de secours mutuels entre les sourds-muets de Milan, les pieuses maisons de travail et orphelinats qui exposent les travaux exécutés dans leurs ateliers.

La section d’économie sociale française qui fait suite à l’italienne, compte aussi de nombreux exposants: caisses d’épargne, associations ouvrières, compagnies d’assurances, sociétés philanthropiques, tableaux d’institut de vaccination, sanatoriums. Parmi les œuvres de prévoyance les plus délicates et les plus intéressantes notons celle de la Mutualité maternelle, pour secourir les mères pauvres et l’Association, pour les pensions aux orphelins des employés des chemins de fer français.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911