International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Defence of the country

manque image

The exhibition of War has been placed here, among the arts of peace, with a name, defence of the country, which testifies to the evolution accomplished in recent years in the conception of its office. War, according to its former meaning, is rapidly and imperceptibly disappearing from our heritage of ideas and ideals, as a remnant of useless barbarism, to be restricted to the social function of defending the integrity of the country.

The transformation of the ideal of warfare in the arrangement of the exhibition can also be noted. It is true that the artillery still exhibits models of cannons made by the Naples Arsenal, and projectiles from the Genoa workshop.

But the largest part is reserved for the peaceful exhibitions of the engineers, the commissariat, and subsistence, and presents us with very successful models of improvised bridges, overhead transmission lines, military uniforms, bags, and harnesses. Several reliefs show the life of the barracks and the hospital in action; there is the new covered riding school of Pignerol, the infantry barracks of Como, the military hospital of Coelius in Rome, the project, on a scale of 1:100, of the new military hospital of Turin, comprising an area of 8 hectares and a group of buildings which make it seem at first sight like the plan of a new city.

A very important part is reserved for the Red Cross, which exhibits tents, ambulances, first-aid boxes and photographs of volunteer nursing schools, often recruited from among the most noble ladies of the Italian aristocracy. The exhibition of the Red Cross is made more attractive by two dioramas, one of which shows an isolated, improvised ambulance scene, the other the Red Cross attached to military mountain manoeuvres.

The exhibition on the defence of the country ends with the work of the Military Geographical Institute of Florence, which is preparing the general revision of the topographical map of Italy at a scale of 1:100,000. We are also pleased to note the exhibition of the work of the Institution for the Daughters of Soldiers, of which the Italian military welfare system can be proud and of which Turin is proud to host it, and finally, last but not least, the exhibition of the National Institute for Soldiers' Libraries. The Institute had the ingenious idea, which quickly developed, of forming small regimental libraries of 25, 50, 75 and 100 volumes. In a little over two years, from 1908 to 1910, the Institute, which is based in Turin (Piazza Venezia), distributed about 32,000 volumes, 27,000 of which were free of charge, among 600 regiments, carabinieri stations, military hospitals, infirmaries, penal institutions, schools and various other institutions. Among the latter are the Peking legation, the on-board libraries of the ships Charles-Albert, Vettor Pisani and Volta, the garrison of the Col de Tende and the guard corps of the Royal Palace in Turin. In the first quarter of 1911 the Institute has already distributed another 4000 volumes.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Défense du pays

manque image

L’exposition de la Guerre a été placée ici, parmi les arts de la paix, avec un nom, défense du pays, qui témoigne de l’évolution accomplie durant ces dernières années dans la conception de son office. La guerre, selon son ancienne signification, s’efface rapidement et insensiblement de notre patrimoine d’idées et d’idéaux, comme un reste de barbarie inutile, pour se restreindre à la fonction sociale de défendre l’intégrité du pays.

On peut noter aussi la transformation de l’idéal de la guerre dans l’arrangement de l’exposition. L’artillerie expose encore, il est vrai, les modèles des canons fabriqués par l’Arsenal de constructions de Naples, les projectiles sortis de l’Atelier de Gênes.

Mais la plus grande partie est réservée aux expositions pacifiques du génie, du commissariat, des subsistances et nous présente des modèles très réussis de ponts improvisés, de lignes aériennes de transmission, d’uniformes militaires, de sacs, de harnais. Plusieurs reliefs montrent en action la vie de la caserne et de l’hôpital; il y a le nouveau manège couvert de l’Ecole de cavalerie de Pignerol, la caserne d’infanterie de Côme, l’hôpital militaire du Cœlius à Rome, le projet, à l’échelle de 1 : 100, du nouvel hôpital militaire de Turin, comprenant une superficie de 8 hectares et un groupe de constructions qui le font prendre à première vue pour le plan d’une nouvelle ville.

Une part très importante est réservée à la Croix rouge qui expose des tentes, des ambulances, des caisses de secours; des photographies d’écoles d’infirmières volontaires, recrutées souvent parmi les plus nobles dames de l’aristocratie italienne. L’exposition de la Croix rouge est rendue plus attrayante par deux dioramas qui nous font assister, l’un à une scène isolée, improvisée, d’ambulance, l’autre, à la Croix rouge attachée aux manœuvres militaires de montagne.

L’exposition de la défense du pays se termine par les travaux de l'Institut géographique militaire de Florence qui est en train de préparer la révision générale de la carte topographique d’Italie à l’échelle de 1 : 100.000. Notons encore avec plaisir l’exposition des travaux de l’Institution des filles de militaires, dont peut être fière la prévoyance militaire italienne et dont s’enorgueillit Turin qui lui donne l’hospitalité, et enfin, la dernière par sa place mais au premier rang par son importance, l’exposition de l'Institut national pour les bibliothèques des soldats. L'Institut a eu l’idée géniale qui s’est rapidement développée, de former de petites bibliothèques de régiments, de 25, 50, 75 et 100 volumes. En un peu plus de deux ans, de 1908 à 1910, l’Institut qui a son siège à Turin (place Venezia) a distribué environ 32.000 volumes, dont 27.000 à titre gratuit, entre 600 régiments, stations de carabiniers, hôpitaux militaires, infirmeries, établissements pénaux, écoles et institutions diverses. Notons, entre ces dernières, la légation de Pékin, les bibliothèques de bord des navires Charles-Albert, Vettor Pisani et Volta, la garnison du Col de Tende et le corps de garde du Palais royal de Turin. Dans le Ier trimestre 1911 l’Institut a déjà distribué 4000 autres volumes environ.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911