International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Various industries

manque image

The silk and wool exhibitions are, so to speak, only the avant-garde of the Pilonetto exhibitions. The high, bright galleries stretch out, intersecting and succeeding one another, soberly decorated and closed by blinds that shed a quiet, even light on the exhibits.

Among the manufacturing industries, next to the wool industry, there is the collective exhibition of leather, an industry that is flourishing throughout Italy, but especially in Piedmont, with its production centre in Turin. Japan, together with China, has placed a complementary industrial exhibition in the gallery overlooking the Po. There are coloured lamps, fans, trinkets, sports articles, games; the screens, works of the needle fairies, so admired in the Palace of Industrial Art, are again on display.

The gallery now changes in character and colour: manufactured goods have given way to foodstuffs. Here are colossal trophies of wine and liquor bottles; here are giant barrels of 120, 200 hectolitres capacity. Flour, pasta, and daily bread alternate with refined confectionery products, with delicate early fruit, with bunches of grapes wonderfully preserved throughout the winter. In a section on the right is the collective exhibition of the Italian sugar industry.

We have now entered the Agriculture section, which will keep us here for a long time. The agrarian industry has nowadays taken on a worldwide importance thanks to the exchange of its products from one continent to another. From this exchange new industries have arisen: the construction of transport tanks, the refrigeration industry and refrigerators. Everywhere, in the cultivation of the land, the machine complements the work of man, replacing the increasingly expensive and scarce labour force. Thus there is mechanical ploughing, steam, benzine, electric; clod breakers, sowers, threshers, lifts, presses, forage cutters, grain dryers, and so on, a whole new mechanics invented by science and put by industry at the service of agriculture.

The importance of the agrarian industry explains its international character and the great development it is taking here. First we enter Germany, then Switzerland, and from there the French agricultural exhibition. At this point, the exhibition makes a right angle, cutting across the head of the great inner square of the Pilonetto, and running, with Italy, Hungary and Japan, along the front of all the successive galleries: defence of the country, foresight, to stop only before the Italians abroad. The agricultural exhibition stretches out, curves, agile, flexible, to form the rib of the Pilonetto exhibition. It is Mother Earth, the Great Mother Cybele who triumphs over all human activity, and to whom a symbolic statue has been erected here, in the centre of one of the galleries, rising from a pedestal of sacks of chemical fertilizers.

The mining and chemical industries reveal a new aspect of the earth's industry by taking us into its bowels. We have the exhibitions of the Royal Mining Corps, the Sardinian Mining Association, the Brosso mines, the Cogne iron mine, the talc and graphite quarries of Val Chisone, the collective exhibition of chemical manufacturers. Let us observe the curious soap monument erected to King Victor-Emmanuel II with blocks of soap, one of which weighs five quintals and sculpted by prof. César Zocchi. Outside, in a separate pavilion, there is an exhibition of samples of the beautiful marble of Serravezza, in the Apuan Alps.

The mining and chemical industries are closely allied to metallurgy, which, through its furnaces, makes possible the processes and molecular reactions necessary for these industries. The art of shaping metals, as old as man, received with Vulcan among the divinities of Olympus, includes iron, copper, lead, tin, gold and silver just out of the mine. It purges them of slag, separates them from heterogeneous bodies, unites them into alloys, works them into colossal masses and very thin threads, bending them to all the demands of life, to all the fantasies of art, producing cast iron, steel, bronze and all the infinitely delicate creations of goldsmiths. Metallurgy preceded agriculture in the history of mankind; the latter was only able to transform pasture into stable soil cultivation thanks to the instruments manufactured by the former.

The furniture is located in the extension of the Defence of the Country gallery; it can be reached from this section or directly from the large entrance square of the Pilonetto.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Industries diverses

manque image

Les expositions de la soie et de la laine ne forment, pour ainsi dire, que l’avant-garde des expositions du Pilonetto. Les galeries hautes et claires s’allongent, se croisent et se succèdent, sobrement décorées et fermées par des stores qui répandent sur les objets exposés une lumière tranquille et égale.

Parmi les industries manufacturières, à côté de celle de la laine, se dresse l’exposition collective du Cuir, industrie florissante dans toute l’Italie, mais surtout en Piémont, avec son centre de production à Turin. Le Japon a placé, en compagnie de la Chine, une exposition industrielle complémentaire dans la galerie qui regarde le Pô. Il y a des lampes de couleur, des éventails, des bibelots, des articles de sport, des jeux; on y retrouve les paravents, œuvres des fées de l’aiguille, si admirés dans le palais de l’Art Industriel.

La galerie à présent change de caractère, de teinte : les produits manufacturés ont cédé la place aux produits alimentaires. Voici de colossaux trophées de bouteilles de vins et de liqueurs; voici des fûts géants de 120, 200 hectolitres de capacité. Les farines, les pâtes alimentaires, le pain quotidien alternent avec les produits raffinés de la confiserie, avec les délicates primeurs de fruits, avec les grappes de raisin merveilleusement conservées pendant tout l’hiver. Dans une section à droite est placée l’exposition collective de l’industrie italienne du sucre.

Nous voilà entrés dans la section de l'Agriculture; elle nous retiendra longtemps. L’industrie agraire a pris de nos jours une importance mondiale grâce à l’échange de ses produits d’un continent à l’autre. De cet échange sont nées de nouvelles industries: la construction des réservoirs de transport, l’industrie du froid et des frigorifères. Partout, dans la culture de la terre, la machine complète le travail de l’homme, en se substituant à la main de œuvre toujours plus coûteuse et plus rare. Ainsi il y a le labourage mécanique, à vapeur, à benzine, électrique ; les brise-mottes, les semeuses, les batteuses, les élévateurs, les pressoirs, les coupe-fourrage, les sécheurs pour céréales, et ainsi de suite, toute une mécanique nouvelle inventée par la science et mise par l’industrie au service de l’agriculture.

L’importance de l’industrie agraire explique son caractère international et le grand développement qu’elle prend ici. On entre d’abord dans l’Allemagne, puis dans la Suisse, et de là dans la exposition agricole française. A cet endroit, l’exposition fait un angle droit, coupant ainsi la tête de la grande place intérieure du Pilonetto, et parcourant, avec l’Italie, la Hongrie et le Japon, le front de toutes les galeries successives: défense du pays, prévoyance, pour s’arrêter seulement devant les Italiens à l’étranger. L’exposition agraire s’allonge, se courbe, agile, flexible, pour former la nervure de l’exposition du Pilonetto. C’est la Mère Terre, la Grande Mère Cybèle qui triomphe de toute l’activité humaine, et à qui on a érigé ici, au centre d’une des galeries, une statue symbolique, surgissant d’un piédestal de sacs d’engrais chimiques.

Les industries minières et chimiques nous révèlent un nouvel aspect de l’industrie de la terre, en nous faisant pénétrer dans ses entrailles. Nous avons les expositions du Corps royal des Mines, de l’Association minière sarde, des mines de Brosso, de la mine de fer de Cogne, des carrières de talc et graphite de Val Chisone, l’exposition collective des fabricants de produits chimiques. Observons le curieux monument de savon érigé au roi Victor-Emmanuel II avec des blocs de savon, dont un seul pèse cinq quintaux et sculpté par le prof. César Zocchi. A l’extérieur, dans un pavillon isolé, l’exposition des échantillons des beaux marbres de Serravezza, dans les Alpes Apuanes.

Les industries minières et chimiques sont étroitement alliées à la métallurgie qui, par ses fourneaux, rend possible les procédés et les réactions moléculaires nécessaires à ces industries. L’art de façonner les métaux, aussi ancien que l’homme, reçu avec Vulcain parmi les divinités de l’Olympe, comprend le fer, le cuivre, le plomb, l’étain, l’or, l’argent à peine sortis de la mine. Il les purge des scories, les sépare des corps hétérogènes, les unit en alliages, les travaille en masses colossales et en fils très minces, en les pliant à toutes les exigences de la vie, à toutes les fantaisies de l’art, en produisant la fonte, le fer, l’acier, le bronze et toutes les créations infiniment délicates de l’orfèvrerie. La métallurgie a précédé dans l’histoire de l’humanité l’agriculture elle-même; celle-ci n’a pu transformer le pâturage en culture stable du sol que grâce aux instruments fabriqués par celle-là.

Les meubles se trouvent dans le prolongement de la galerie de la Défense du pays; on y arrive par cette section ou directement par la grande place d’entrée du Pilonetto.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911