International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Wool industry

manque image

The wool industry is no less important than the silk industry for Italy; it occupies the greater part of the activity of the factories of northern Italy.

It too, like its sister company, has understood all the advantages of cooperation and presents visitors with a collective exhibition.

It is located in a rectangular room, with display cases arranged all around the walls and topped with decorative panels that reproduce the history of wool in small pictures. On this decorative strip, flocks being driven to pasture, scenes of shepherds playing the musette alternating with views of trades in activity; in the centre, the group of a beautiful spinner followed by a few sheep completes the pastoral and artistic tone of the exhibition.

The wool industry, which flourishes throughout northern Italy, from Carignan and Caselle to Schio, has its greatest production centre in the Biella area. It has been in existence for several centuries, but its present progress dates only from 1817, when Pierre Sella introduced mechanical weaving of wool.

Diagrams provide instructive comparisons of the art of wool weaving. Hand looms, which numbered 5,989 in 1876, fell to 1,900 in 1907, while mechanical looms rose during the same period from 2,364 to 10,567. The machine triumphs!

The workshops in Piedmont, from 1894 to 1907, fell from 140 to no, while the number of workers increased from 11,767 to 15,699. The same phenomenon is found throughout Italy, with a sharp decrease in establishments from 489 to 223, and a significant increase in workers from 30,625 to 38,000. Large-scale industry, because of the great expense of organisation and operation, is gradually absorbing small-scale industry, both in Italy and abroad.

A data which is of great importance for the national economy is the ratio between domestic production and consumption, with their value in francs. In 1886, 12,500,000 kg. of wool were produced in Italy for 74 million francs; 15,400,000 kg. were consumed for 130 million francs; that is 76 million which emigrated abroad to import wool sufficient for the needs of the nation. In 1908, on the contrary, 31,900,000 kg. were produced for 250 million francs, and 34,719,700 kg. were consumed for 285 million. These figures warn us that domestic production is not yet sufficient for consumption, but that it is gradually approaching it. The tribute we pay abroad for this article is now only 35 million per year, while already facing the 120 million surplus of consumption due to the increase of the population during the last 40 years.

The wool exhibition is due to the initiative and organisation of the Italian Wool Association and the Commercial Circle of Turin.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Industrie de la laine

manque image

L’industrie de la laine n’est pas moins importante que celle de la soie pour l’Italie; elle occupe la plus grande partie de l’activité des fabriques de l’Italie septentrionale.

Elle aussi, comme sa sœur, a compris tous les avantages de la coopération et présente aux visiteurs une exposition collective.

Elle se trouve dans un salon rectangulaire, avec des vitrines disposées tout autour le long des murs et surmontées de panneaux décoratifs qui reproduisent en de petits tableaux l’histoire de la laine. Sur cette bande décorative les troupeaux conduits au pâturage, des scènes de bergers jouant de la musette alternant avec des vues de métiers en activité; au centre, le groupe d’une belle fileuse suivie de quelques brebis complète la teinte pastorale et artistique de l’exposition.

L’industrie de la laine, florissante dans toute l’Italie septentrionale, de Carignan et Caselle à Schio, a son plus grand centre de production dans le pays de Biella. Elle existe depuis plusieurs siècles; mais pourtant son progrès actuel ne date que de 1817, alors que Pierre Sella y introduisit le tissage mécanique de la laine.

Des diagrammes nous fournissent des comparaisons instructives sur l’art de la laine. Les métiers à main qui étaient au nombre de 5.989 en 1876, sont descendus à 1900 en 1907, tandis que les métiers mécaniques se sont élevés durant la même période de 2.364 à 10.567. La machine triomphe !

Les ateliers en Piémont, de 1894 à 1907, sont descendus de 140 à no, tandis que les ouvriers ont augmenté de 11.767 à 15.699. Le même phénomène se retrouve dans toute l’Italie, avec une forte diminution des établissements de 489 à 223, et une augmentation sensible des ouvriers de 30.625 à 38.000. La grande industrie, à cause des grandes dépenses d’organisation et d’exploitation, absorbe peu à peu la petite, en Italie comme à l’étranger.

Une donnée qui a une grande importance pour l’économie nationale, c’est le rapport entre la production et la consommation intérieures, avec leur valeur en francs. En 1886 on produisait en Italie 12.500.000 kg. de laine pour 74 millions de francs; on en consumait 15.400.000 kg. pour 130 millions de francs; c’étaient donc 76 millions qui émigraient à l’étranger pour importer la laine suffisante aux besoins de la nation. En 1908 au contraire, on en produisait 31.900.000 kg. pour 250 millions de francs, et on en consumait 34.719.700 kg. pour 285 millions. Ces chiffres nous avertissent que la production intérieure ne suffit pas encore à la consommation, mais qu’elle s’en approche peu à peu. Le tribut que nous payons à l’étranger pour cet article n’est plus que de 35 millions par an, en faisant déjà face aux 120 millions de surplus de consommation dus à l’augmentation de la population durant ces 40 dernières années.

L’exposition de la laine est due à l’initiative et à l’organisation de l’Association de la laine italienne et du Cercle commercial de Turin.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911