International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Silk Exhibition

manque image

The Silk Exhibition is the first to open on the right, along the colonnade of the main square.

The ideas which governed its preparation deserve to be recalled here, because they demonstrate the vitality of the industry itself and the strong organisation of the industrialists who have devoted themselves to it in Italy. Each company gave up an individual exhibition to bring together the products of its spinning mills with those of the other companies in a single, grandiose collective exhibition. The excellent results of such an annihilation, so to speak, of the particular individualities fused into a great general individuality, directing the silk industry in Italy, can be seen at once in the various sections of the exhibition. Guided by a general guiding idea, the exhibition has acquired such homogeneity, such a fusion of elements, such seriousness and such a height of expression that it should serve as a lesson for all future Exhibitions.
First, at the entrance, there are the four large artistic display cases which reproduce environments and subjects from Italian history, skilfully highlighting the rich silk costumes of the Middle Ages.
The first period, from 1450 to 1550, is represented by Leonardo da Vinci; the great painter is painting the portrait of Isabella d'Este. The Medicean period (1150-1650) shows Donna Aldobrandini, all ablaze with Italian spirit, refusing to dance with Maramaldo who has killed Ferruccio by surprise. The period of the Dukes of Savoy (1650-1750) is represented by the poet Fulvio Festi who invites Charles Emmanuel I to deliver Italy. Finally, Venice (1750-1850) brings all its Goldonian gaiety with Goldoni himself who is about to read a comedy to the artists of his Company.

The success of these artistic showcases, populated by life-size plastic figures, is only surpassed by the dioramas displayed in the adjoining salon, which is kept in shadow by a velarium so that all the light is focused on the paintings.

There are eight dioramas arranged around the salon, which reproduce in chronological order the most important periods and facts in the history of sericulture, especially in relation to Italy:
I. - Cultivation of the silkworm in China (3000 B.C.).
II. - Importation of silkworm seed from China to the Court of the Emperor Justinian in Constantinople (553 A.D.).
III. - Introduction of sericulture in Sicily under Roger the Norman (year 1130).
IV. - Silk Palace, near Orsanmichele, in Florence (year 1400).
V. - Two Piedmontese workers present silk fabrics to the consuls of Lyon (year 1530).
VI. - Emmanuel-Philibert had the first mulberry trees planted in Piedmont, in his park for the royal venry (year 1557).
VII. - Emperor Napoleon visits Jacquard (year 1806).
VIII. - The largest cocoon market in Italy, in Cuneo (present time).

The historical data used to summarise the history of sericulture were collected in 1906, on the occasion of the Milan Exhibition, in a booklet by J. B. L. De Angelis, secretary of the Silk Industry Associations. Following their indications, the painter J. B. Carpanetto designed and executed, with the collaboration of the engineer Adolphe Dalbesio, the various compositions. Carpanetto is also the author of the allegory on the façade of the building and the decorations in the main exhibition hall.

The historical paintings in the showcases were designed by Professor Emile Magistrelli of Milan, with the help of Baron Bugatti-Valsecchi; under their direction, the costumes were executed with scrupulous historical fidelity by Mr. Adelchi Zamperoni of Milan.

Let us now take a quick look at the exhibition itself.

The central hall includes the Como Manufacturers' Collective Exhibition. The brilliant fashionable fabrics, tastefully and artfully arranged in rich showcases by Mr. Thomas Petersen, produce delicate and refined effects of colour. The Como Association also exhibits fabrics for export in another room. The other showcases scattered around contain the products of the main Piedmontese, Lombard, Tuscan and Umbrian firms.

The following rooms present the exhibition of silkworms, samples of cocoons, the didactic and statistical exhibition, with important diagrams and cartograms on the industrial and commercial movement in all the branches of sericulture, collected and arranged by the Associations of the silk industry and packaging of Turin and Milan.

The pavilion also includes spinning machines, various tools and precision instruments for weighing silk.

The silk exhibition, rich, varied, and tastefully arranged, tells visitors, even without figures, how important this industry is in Italy. Our production is only inferior to that of China and Japan, and we compete victoriously with them.

The exhibition is the initiative of the Piedmont Silk and Silkworm Industry Association, based in Turin; the Association of the Silk Industry and Trade in Italy, based in Milan; the Italian Association of Silk Manufacturers, based in Como; and the Italian Association of Silkworm Breeders, based in Milan.

The Executive Committee is composed of the President, Mr. Craponne, and the Vice-Presidents, Mr. Maxime De Vecchi, Mr. Albert Clerici and Mr. Amilcar Redaelli, each of whom heads one of the four associations organising the exhibition.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Exposition de la Soie

manque image

L’Exposition de la Soie est la première qui s’ouvre à droite, le long de la colonnade de la grande place d’honneur.

Les idées qui ont présidé à sa préparation méritent d’être rappelées ici, parce qu’elles démontrent la vitalité de l’industrie même et la forte organisation des industriels qui s’y sont consacrés en Italie. Chaque maison a renoncé à une exposition individuelle, pour réunir les produits de ses filatures à ceux des autres maisons dans une seule et grandiose exposition collective. Les excellents résultats d’un tel anéantissement, pour ainsi dire, des individualités particulières fondues en une grande individualité générale, dirigeant l’industrie de la soie en Italie, se font tout de suite remarquer en parcourant les diverses sections de l’exposition. Guidée par une idée directive générale, l’exposition a acquis une homogénéité, une fusion d’éléments, un tel sérieux et une telle hauteur d’expression qu’elle devrait servir de leçon à toutes les Expositions de l’avenir.
Voici d’abord, à l’entrée, les quatre grandes vitrines artistiques qui reproduisent des milieux et des sujets de l’histoire d’Italie, en mettant habilement en relief les riches costumes de soie du moyen-âge.
La première époque, qui va de 1450 à 1550, est représentée par Léonard de Vinci; le grand peintre est en train de faire le portrait d’Isabelle d’Este. La période médicéenne (1150-1650) nous montre donna Aldobrandini, tout enflammée d’esprit italien, refusant de danser avec Maramaldo qui a tué Ferruccio par surprise. L’époque des Ducs de Savoie (1650-1750) est figurée par le poète Fulvio Festi qui invite Charles Emmanuel Ier à délivrer l’Italie. Enfin, Venise (1750-1850) apporte ici toute sa gaieté goldonienne avec Goldoni lui-même qui s’apprête à lire une comédie aux artistes de sa Compagnie.

Le succès de curiosité obtenu par ces vitrines artistiques, peuplées de figures plastiques de grandeur naturelle, n’est surpassé que par les dioramas exposés dans le salon contigu tenu dans l’ombre par un velarium, de sorte que toute la lumière se concentre sur les tableaux.

Les dioramas disposés tout autour du salon sont au nombre de huit; ils reproduisent par ordre chronologique les époques et les faits les plus saillants de l’histoire de la sériciculture, par rapport spécialement à l’Italie:
I. — Culture du ver à soie en Chine (3000 ans avant Jésus-Christ).
II. — Importation de la semence du ver à soie de la Chine à la Cour de l'Empereur Justinien à Constantinople (l’an 553 de l’ère vulgaire).
III. — Introduction de la sériciculture en Sicile sous Roger-le-Normand (l’an 1130).
IV. — Palais de la Soie, près d'Orsanmichele, à Florence (l’an 1400).
V. — Deux ouvriers piémontais présentent aux consuls de Lyon les tissus de soie (l’an 1530).
VI. — Emmanuel-Philibert fait planter les premiers mûriers en Piémont, dans son parc à la Vénerie royale (l’an 1557).
VII. — L'Empereur Napoléon visite Jacquard (l’an 1806).
VIII. — Le plus grand marché de cocons en Italie, à Cuneo (temps présent).

Les données historiques qui ont servi à résumer l’histoire de la sériciculture furent recueillies dès 1906, à l’occasion de l’Exposition de Milan, dans un opuscule par J. B. L. De Angelis, secrétaire des Associations d’industrie de la soie. Sur leurs indications le peintre J. B. Carpanetto dessina et exécuta, avec la collaboration de l’ingénieur Adolphe Dalbesio, les différentes compositions. Carpanetto est aussi l’auteur de l’allégorie de la façade de l’édifice et des décorations de la grande salle de l’exposition.

Les tableaux historiques des vitrines furent dessinés par le professeur Emile Magistrelli de Milan, avec l’aide du baron Bugatti-Valsecchi; c’est sous leur direction que les costumes furent exécutés avec une scrupuleuse fidélité historique par M. Adelchi Zamperoni, de Milan.

Visitons maintenant rapidement l’exposition proprement dite.

Le salon central comprend l’Exposition collective des fabricants de Côme. Les brillantes étoffes à la mode, disposées avec goût et art dans de riches vitrines par M. Thomas Petersen, produisent par leur disposition de délicats et raffinés effets de teintes. L’Association de Côme expose aussi dans une autre salle les étoffes pour l’exportation. Les autres vitrines éparses tout autour renferment les produits des principales maisons piémontaises, lombardes, toscanes et ombriennes.

Les salles suivantes présentent l’exposition des vers à soie, des échantillons de cocons, l’exposition didactique et statistique, avec d’importants diagrammes et cartogrammes sur le mouvement industriel et commercial dans toutes les branches de la sériciculture, recueillis et arrangés par les Associations de l’industrie et du conditionnement de la soie de Turin et de Milan.

Le pavillon comprend encore des machines de filature, divers outils et instruments de précision pour le pesage de la soie.

L’exposition de la soie, riche, variée, et arrangée avec une élégance de bon goût dit aux visiteurs, même sans chiffres, toute l’importance de cette industrie en Italie. Notre production n’est inférieure qu’à celle de la Chine et du Japon et en soutient victorieusement la concurrence.

L’exposition est due à l'initiative de l’Association de l’industrie de la soie et du ver à soie du Piémont qui a son siège à Turin, de l’Association de l’industrie et du commerce des soies en Italie, de Milan ; de l’Association italienne des fabricants de soieries de Côme et de l’Association italienne des reproducteurs de vers à soie, de Milan.

Le Comité exécutif est composé du président M. Craponne, et des vice-présidents MM. Maxime De Vecchi, Albert Clerici et Amilcar Redaelli qui dirigent chacun une des quatre associations organisatrices de l’exposition.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911