Back - List of Pavilions

Building architecture - Expo Turin 1911

Building architecture at the Exhibition Expo Turin 1911

The Pilonetto, which probably takes its name from some ancient pillar lost in the fields, spreads out before us the vast amphitheatre of its colonnades alternating with the monumental facades of the various exhibitions, and surmounted by the minarets and the great 38-metre high dome which crowns the centre of the buildings. The view of the waters of the Po River flowing in a curve between rows of poplars, of the white buildings that also form a harmonious curve against the green background of the hill, is so beautiful, so picturesque, that all the visitors unwillingly stop to look at it and admire it longer, before resolving to go down to the bridge that leads to the entrance.

The Pilonetto exhibition has a completely industrial character. From the agricultural industry to the mining and chemical industry, from the manufacturing industry to the metallurgical industry, industry has transported here its entire field of action, as vast as the human activity applied to the research of natural forces and their transformation into products useful for existence.

The surface area covered by the various exhibitions combined is 65,000 square metres. The buildings, built according to a single guiding idea which makes them a single architectural organism, like a single immense pavilion, are skilfully separated by interior courtyards, populated with flowers, flowerbeds, and trees which, while delighting the eye, open up convenient and practical passages from one section to another. The largest of these courtyards, which stretches between the Metallurgy and National Defence on the left and the Silk and Manufacturing Exhibition on the right, is no less than 225 metres long and 40 metres wide and covers a total area of 9,000 square metres.

The entrance colonnade extends over 570 metres in length. The forecourts that form the entrances to the exhibitions of manufacturing industry and Italians abroad are richly decorated with ornaments, friezes, statues and bear the arms of the Italian provinces at the top.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Architecture du bâtiment

Architecture du bâtiment à l'exposition de Turin 1911

Le Pilonetto, qui tire probablement son nom de quelque antique pilier perdu dans les champs, étale devant nous le vaste amphithéâtre de ses colonnades alternant avec les façades monumentales des différentes expositions, et surmontés par les minarets et la grande coupole haute de 38 mètres qui couronne le centre des édifices. La vue des eaux du Pô qui coulent en décrivant une courbe entre des files de peupliers, des blancs édifices qui, eux aussi, se profilent en une courbe harmonieuse sur le fond vert de la colline, est si belle, si pittoresque, que tous les visiteurs s’arrêtent sans le vouloir pour la regarder et l’admirer plus longtemps, avant de se résoudre à descendre au pont qui mène à l’entrée.

L’exposition du Pilonetto a un caractère complètement industriel. De l’industrie agricole à l’industrie minière et chimique, de l’industrie manufacturière à l’industrie métallurgique, l’industrie a transporté ici tout son champ d’action, aussi vaste que l’activité humaine appliquée à la recherche des forces naturelles et à leur transformation en produits utiles pour l’existence.

La surface couverte par les différentes expositions réunies est de 65.000 mètres carrés. Les édifices, construits d’après une seule idée directive qui en fait un seul organisme architectonique, comme un seul immense pavillon, sont séparés adroitement par des cours intérieures, peuplées de fleurs, de parterres, d’arbres qui, en réjouissant le yeux, ouvrent d’une section à l’autre des passages commodes et pratiques. La plus grande de ces cours qui s’étend entre la Métallurgie et la Défense du Pays à gauche, l’exposition de la Soie et des Industries manufacturières à droite, n’a pas moins de 225 mètres de long sur 40 de large et couvre une superficie totale de 9000 mètres carrés.

La colonnade d'entrée se déroule sur une longueur de plus de 570 mètres. Les avant-corps qui constituent les entrées aux expositions de l’industrie manufacturière et des Italiens à l’étranger sont richement ornés de décorations, de frises, de statues et portent en haut les armes des provinces italiennes.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911