International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Railway equipment

manque image

The last point that the Exhibition pushes towards the city, before changing route and extending to the right bank of the Po at Pilonetto, is the Railway Exhibition. It also attracts a good number of visitors.

The entrance to the exhibition is the attractive, flowery pavilion, enriched with arabesques and stucco, built by the Italian State Railways.

Outside, in the open air, the exhibition of fixed equipment: samples of signal poles; a section of electrically powered line, with a three-phase system, used on the Valtellina and Giovi lines; a complete model of the armature weighing kg. 46.3 per running metre, thanks to which it will be possible to reach, even on our lines, with modern locomotives, the normal speed of 100 kilometres and more.

Inside the pavilion, an elegant ensemble forms a large reception room, carefully furnished with armchairs, tables where plans, drawings and publications of the state railways are artfully arranged. From the pretty pavilion we pass under the sheds that make up the Railway Exhibition.

The material of the different nations is exhibited on 15 tracks of 180 metres each; there are, all in all, 2600 m. of tracks to be covered.

The first track, from right to left of the entrance, contains the Armstrong House exhibit. Lanes 2 and 3 are occupied by the French exhibition, lane 4 by the Swiss exhibition. The central lanes, from 6 to 9, are reserved for Italy; lanes 5 and 10 for the various Italian industries related to it. Lanes 11, 12 and 13 are occupied by Germany and lane 14 by Belgium.

Let us say straight away, for the people in the trade and also for the public interested in the operation of the railways, that this exhibition does not offer any radical novelties, any new inventions worthy of note. On the other hand, there was a great deal of improvement in the equipment on display throughout the section. Special elevated walkways, with elegant red carpets, make it possible to study the interior of the exhibited cars from the outside.

The five trains lined up here by the Italian State Railways give us the opportunity to see the enormous progress made in recent years in the construction of equipment. On one of the tracks is a pre-1860 train, with almost entirely foreign construction material, and immediately afterwards, on the same line, a modern narrow-gauge train, with the most powerful engine of the type now running in Europe, all built in Italy.

On the track next to it is displayed a train of great communication and luxury. At the head of the display is the first Pacific-type 690 (69,001) engine, a monstrously beautiful colossus in its enormous dimensions, which alone weighs 87 tonnes in service and can travel at a speed of 130 km per hour.

Behind the engine comes the baggage car with toilet compartment and water closet, built in the State Workshops of Florence. The passenger carriages, built by various Italian companies, are all of the latest type, communicating, with a side corridor and a very large central water closet, with a washbasin abundantly supplied with water. The train is joined by a lounge car, also built entirely in Italy. The three sections of this train are the same length as the seven sections of the pre-1860 train; each class seat in the 1860 train, which had neither a side corridor nor a water closet, cost 400 francs, while a similar seat in the 1911 train costs 1600 francs; these figures are sufficient to explain the evolution in the construction of the carriages.

The fourth train on display is an electric train, pulled by a three-phase, five-axle coupled locomotive, built to operate on the old Giovi line. The locomotive, with a power of 2000 hp and a weight of only 65 tons, has a notable advantage over the Pacific type which, weighing twice as much, only produces the same power. Two of these locomotives are enough to pull a long train up the steep slopes (35°/00) of the Giovi at a speed of 45 km per hour.

The fifth train is, even more than a real train, a collection of various samples of the types of locomotives and wagons used on the Italian railways. At the head of the train is a locomotive from the Société Suisse de Constructions Mécaniques of Winterthur, fitted with a special mechanism for rack and pinion traction. Also noteworthy is a locomotive of group 740, with twin cylinders and a superheater, built by the Italian mechanical workshops to pull very heavy goods trains at high speed on the plains and at sufficient speed on the mountain lines. Among the types of carriages, there is one with two trucks that can carry a load of 40 tons; others of a brand new model for the transport of horses and luxury crews, built in such a way as to be able to run on all the lines of Europe.

At the end of the tracks there is a special exhibition of the State Railways for the technicians: a boiler with furnace from the Verona workshops, two others from the Turin workshops, a jacketed boiler from the Foggia workshops built according to the modern systems of tubular plate envelopment, a group of cylinders melted down in the Granili workshops in Naples. In this exhibition, outside the shed, is the powerful 150 ton trolley or ferry bridge, 21 metres long, capable of transferring the heaviest modern locomotives. Equipped with three-phase electric motors and a winch, also electric, built by the national workshops in Savigliano and similar to the one already in operation in Turin at the locomotive depot, it is destined for the workshops in Sampierdarena.

The exceptional importance of the exhibition of the State Railways is even better understood if one considers that the material on display has a value of at least 3 million francs.

The 10th track, which also belongs to Italy, is occupied by a luxury train of the Compagnie Internationale des Wagons-lits, hauled by a second engine of group 690 (69008), type Pacific, and composed of 2 sleeping cars, a dining car and a baggage car.

The main foreign countries also took part in the exhibition, as mentioned above.

France exhibits a train of the Compagnie de l'Est with mixed cars of the three classes; a train of the Compagnie Paris-Lyon-Méditerranée, with a lounge car which is a jewel of good taste and elegance, with 2 corridor and toilet cars of the first class and another mixed car of the second class, with lounge beds and lounge. The Compagnie du Nord also exhibits passenger cars and freight wagons used on its lines.

Switzerland exhibited a very modern machine of group 616, with a series of photographs from the Société de Winterthur and the Société Anonyme des Aciéries, formerly Société Georges Fischer de Schaffhouse.

Germany lined three lanes with a veritable exhibition of samples of its types of machines, carriages and railway wagons. The machines included all types, from the oldest, built for Italian companies, to the most modern, from the whole machine to machine parts of particular interest. Among the carriages we can see a sleeping car, an Imperial German Post Office carriage, an ordinary 1st and 2nd class corridor carriage, a 2nd and 3rd class 4-axle carriage used from Frankfurt to Hamburg and Altona, a 4th class 3-axle passenger carriage. Among the goods wagons there is one with automatic unloading, with a capacity of 50 tonnes. Germany is also very advanced, as we know, in the laying and operation of electric lines. Here we find a 6-axle electric double car with accumulators, with 46 3rd class seats and 54 4th class seats; another electric double car with alternating current, also on 6 axles, mixed 2nd and 3rd class for 130 passengers.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Matériel des chemins de fer

manque image

La dernière pointe que l’Exposition pousse vers la ville, avant de changer de route et de s’étendre sur la rive droite du Pô au Pilonetto, c’est l’Exposition des chemins de fer. Elle attire aussi un bon nombre de visiteurs.

L’entrée de l’exposition est constituée par le pavillon séduisant, fleuri, enrichi d’arabesques et de stucs, construit par les chemins de fer de l’Etat italien.

Dehors, en plein air, l’exposition du matériel fixe: échantillons de poteaux pour les signaux; tronçon de ligne arme à traction électrique, à système triphasé, employé sur les lignes de la Valteline et des Giovi; modèle complet de l’armature pesant kg. 46,3 par mètre courant, grâce à laquelle on pourra atteindre, même sur nos lignes, avec les locomotives modernes, la vitesse normale de 100 kilomètres et plus encore.

A l’intérieur du pavillon, un ensemble élégant formant une grande salle de réception, meublé avec soin de fauteuils, de tables où sont disposés avec art des plans, des dessins et des publications des chemins de fer de l’Etat. Du pavillon coquet nous passons sous les hangars qui composent l’Exposition des chemins de fer.

Le matériel des différentes nations est exposé sur 15 voies de 180 mètres chacune; il y a, tout compte fait, 2600 m. de voies à parcourir.

La première voie en allant de droite à gauche de l’entrée, contient l’exposition de la maison Armstrong. Les voies 2 et 3 sont occupées par celle de la France, la voie 4 par celle de la Suisse. Les voies centrales, de 6 à 9, sont réservées à l’Italie; les voies 5 et 10 aux diverses industries italiennes qui s’y rattachent. Les voies 11, 12 et 13 sont occupées par l’Allemagne et la voie 14 par la Belgique.

Disons de suite, pour les gens du métier et aussi pour le public qui s’intéresse à l’exploitation des chemins de fer, que cette exposition n’offre pas de nouveautés radicales, d’inventions nouvelles dignes d’être signalées. En revanche on remarque, dans toute la section, un grand perfectionnement dans le matériel exposé. Des trottoirs surélevés exprès, où courent d’élégants tapis rouges, permettent d’étudier commodément du dehors l’intérieur des voitures exposées.

Les cinq trains qu’ont alignés ici les chemins de fer de l’Etat italien nous offrent le moyen de constater les progrès gigantesques faits durant ces dernières années dans la construction du matériel. Sur une des voies est exposé un train antérieur à 1860, avec un matériel de construction presque entièrement étranger, et, immédiatement après, sur la même ligne, un train moderne à écartement réduit, avec la machine la plus puissante du type qui circule maintenant en Europe, tout entier construit en Italie.

Sur la voie à côté est exposé un train de grande communication et de luxe. En tête figure, colosse monstrueusement beau dans ses énormes dimensions, la première machine du groupe 690 (69.001), type Pacific, qui pèse à elle seule, en service, 87 tonnes et peut faire 130 km. à l’heure.

Derrière la machine vient le fourgon à bagages avec compartiment toilette et water-closet, construit dans les Ateliers de l’Etat de Florence. Les voitures de voyageurs, construites par différentes maison italiennes, sont toutes du dernier type, communicantes, avec corridor latéral et water-closet central très grand, avec lavabo abondamment pourvu d’eau. Au train est unie une voiture-salon, construite, elle aussi, complètement en Italie. Les trois tronçons de ce train ont la même longueur que sept tronçons du train antérieur à 1860; chaque place de Ie classe du train 1860 où il n’y avait ni corridor latéral ni water-closet, coûtait 400 francs, tandis qu’une place analogue du train 1911 coûte 1600 francs; ces données suffisent pour expliquer toute l’évolution accomplie dans la construction des wagons.

Le quatrième train exposé est un train électrique, trainé par une locomotive à système triphasé, à 5 essieux accouplés, construite pour fonctionner sur l’ancienne ligne des Giovi. La locomotive, de la puissance de 2000 chevaux et du poids de 65 tonnes seulement, présente un notable avantage sur le type Pacific qui, pesant le double, ne produit que la même force. Il suffit de deux de ces locomotives pour traîner un long train sur les fortes pentes (35°/00) des Giovi, à la vitesse de 45 km. à l’heure.

Le cinquième train est, plus encore qu’un vrai train, un ensemble de divers échantillons de types de locomotives et de wagons employés sur les chemins de fer italiens. Observons, en tête, une locomotive de la Société Suisse de Constructions mécaniques de Winterthur, munie d’un mécanisme spécial pour la traction à crémaillère. A remarquer aussi une locomotive du groupe 740, à deux cylindres jumeaux avec surchauffeur, construite par les Ateliers mécaniques italiens pour traîner de trains de marchandises très lourds à forte marche en plaine et à vitesse suffisante sur les lignes de montagne. Parmi les types de wagons on en observe un à deux trucks qui peut recevoir un chargement de 40 tonnes; d’autres d’un modèle tout nouveau pour le transport de chevaux, d’équipages de luxe, construits de façon à pouvoir circuler sur toutes les lignes d’Europe.

Au bout des voies est placée pour les techniciens une exposition spéciale des chemins de fer de l’Etat: une chaudière avec four des ateliers de Vérone, deux autres des ateliers de Turin, une chaudière à enveloppe des ateliers de Foggia construite suivant les systèmes modernes d’enveloppement à plaques tubulaires, un groupe de cylindres fondus dans les ateliers de Naples aux Granili. Dans cette exposition, hors du hangar, se trouve le puissant chariot ou pont transbordeur de 150 tonnes, long de 21 mètres, capable de transborder les plus lourdes locomotives modernes. Fourni de moteurs électriques à système triphasé et de treuil également électrique, construit par les ateliers nationaux de Savigliano et pareil à celui qui fonctionne déjà à Turin, au dépôt des locomotives, il est destiné aux ateliers de Sampierdarena.

L’importance exceptionnelle de l’exposition des chemins de fer de l’Etat se comprend mieux encore si l’on considère que le matériel exposé a une valeur d’au moins 3 millions de francs.

La 10e voie qui est aussi à l’Italie, est occupée par un train de luxe de la Compagnie Internationale des Wagons-lits, tramé par une seconde machine du groupe 690 (69008), type Pacific, et composé de 2 wagons-lits, un wagon-restaurant et un fourgon à bagages.

Les principaux Etats étrangers concourent aussi, nous l’avons dit, à l’exposition.

La France expose un train de la Compagnie de l'Est avec voitures mixtes des trois classes; un train de la Compagnie Paris-Lyon-Méditerranée, avec un wagon-salon qui est un joyau de bon goût et d’élégance, avec 2 voitures de Ie classe à corridor et toilette et une autre mixte de Ie classe, lits-salon et salon. La Compagnie du Nord expose aussi des voitures de voyageurs et des wagons de marchandises employés sur ses lignes.

La Suisse expose une machine très moderne du groupe 616, avec une série de photographies de la Société de Winterthur et de la Société anonyme des Aciéries, anciennement Société Georges Fischer de Schaffhouse.

L'Allemagne a aligné sur trois voies une véritable exposition d’échantillons de ses types de machines, de voitures et de chariots de chemins de fer. Les machines comprennent tous les types, depuis les plus anciens, construits pour des sociétés italiennes, jusqu’aux plus modernes, depuis la machine entière jusqu’aux pièces de machine offrant un intérêt particulier. Parmi les voitures remarquons un wagon-lits, un wagon de la poste impériale allemande, une voiture ordinaire de Ie et 2e classes à corridor, une voiture de 2e et 3e classes à 4 essieux, employée de Francfort à Hambourg et Altona, une voiture à 3 essieux pour voyageurs de 4e classe. Parmi les wagons de marchandises on en observe un à déchargement automatique, de la portée de 50 tonnes. L’Allemagne est aussi très avancée, on le sait, dans la pose et l’exploitation de lignes électriques. Nous trouvons ici une double voiture électrique à accumulateurs sur 6 essieux, avec 46 places de 3e classe et 54 de 4e classe; une autre double voiture électrique à courant alterne, également sur 6 essieux, mixte de 2e et 3e classes pour 130 voyageurs.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911