International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Amusement Park

manque image

The subway of the Isabella Bridge and a secondary entrance on the same bridge lead to the third part of the Exhibition, located upstream, on the banks of the Po.

The Isabelle Bridge, which had marked the extreme limit of the 1884 and 1898 Exhibitions, now serves as the entrance to an exhibition as important as that of Valentino, from which we have just emerged.

The Exhibition has a cheerful opening: the Amusement Park.

The mechanical games, the wooden horses, the giant wheels, the roller coasters, the slides, which would have disturbed the severe calm of the Valentin, have been gathered here in a large park which delights the little visitors and even the grown-ups. There are more than 15,000 square metres of land on both banks devoted to amusements; they remind us of the Tivoli, the Luna-Park, the Kermesse and other amusement parks abroad.

If the left bank is home to mechanical amusements, on the right bank, on the other hand, a whole Oriental city in miniature emerges. The Orient, which exerts such a great charm on the minds of Western peoples, has erected here, on the banks of our most important river, its tents, its low domes, its minarets, a varied and picturesque ensemble if ever there was one. The flexible palms have raised their slender trunks towards the sky, shading white Moorish houses, caravanserais, huts of savages, camels advancing, as in the desert, with a serious and balanced step.

The eastern city is divided into several sections which give an idea of the life and customs of the countries they represent. Here is Egypt, which we like to see again, after the Egyptian Village of 1884 and the City of Cairo in Milan, in 1906, with its great Mosque, the School, the Harem, the Café. Near Egypt, Algeria and Tunisia. Further on, we go to the centre of Africa with the villages of Congo, Senegal, Niger, Dahomey, Madagascar, where European civilisation penetrates more and more every day among the Negroes with their half-naked bodies, their wide and flat faces, their wide eyes or their childish laughter wandering over their white teeth.

Oriental life, transplanted to the northern coasts of Africa, has its origins in Asia. This is represented here by Siam, China, Indo-China and Japan. The scenes, painted with exquisite taste and an inimitable stamp of local colour by Jusseaume, the artist who decorated the two largest theatres in Paris, are of interest not only to those who visit the park for amusement but also to those who enjoy studying the history of humanity. They show the gradual, almost imperceptible passage from the huts of the savages of the Congo to the first dwellings of Senegal adorned with rudimentary decorations, and the Siamese, Indochinese and Japanese progress, all of which show a great ethnic affinity.

The amusement park was organised by Mr. Ernest Pourtauborde, who had already arranged the similar exhibitions of Cambodia and Algeria at the Universal Exhibition in Paris in 1900.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Parc des Amusements

manque image

Le passage souterrain du pont Isabelle et une entrée secondaire sur le même pont permettent de pénétrer dans la troisième partie de l’Exposition, située en amont, sur les rives du Pô.

Cette vaste exposition que le visiteur voit s’ouvrir devant lui à l’improviste, il n’en soupçonnait même pas l’existence, Le pont Isabelle qui avait marqué la limite extrême des Expositions de 1884 et de 1898, sert ainsi aujourd’hui d’entrée à une exposition aussi importante que celle du Valentin d’où nous venons de sortir.

L’Exposition a une gaie ouverture : le Parc des Amusements.

Les jeux mécaniques, les chevaux de bois, les roues géantes, les montagnes russes, les toboggans, qui auraient troublé le calme sévère du Valentin, ont été réunis ici dans un grand parc qui fait les délices des petits visiteurs et même des grands. Il y a plus de 15.000 mètres carrés de terrain, sur les deux rives, consacrés aux distractions; ils nous font penser au Tivoli, au Luna-Park, à la Kermesse et aux autres parcs d’amusements à l’étranger.

Si la rive gauche abrite les amusements mécaniques, sur la rive droite, au contraire, surgit toute une ville orientale en miniature. L’Orient, qui exerce un si grand charme sur l’esprit des peuples occidentaux, a dressé ici, au bord de notre fleuve le plus important, ses tentes, ses coupoles basses, ses minarets, ensemble varié et pittoresque s’il en fut. Les palmiers flexibles ont levé vers le ciel leurs troncs minces qui ombragent de blanches maisons mauresques, des caravansérails, des huttes de sauvages, des chameaux s’avançant, comme dans le désert, d’un pas grave et balancé.

La ville orientale se divise en plusieurs sections qui donnent une idée de la vie et des mœurs des pays qu’elles représentent. Voici l’Egypte, on la revoit volontiers, après le Village égyptien de 1884 et la Ville du Caire à Milan, en 1906, avec sa grande Mosquée, l’Ecole, le Harem, le Café. Près de l’Egypte, l'Algérie et la Tunisie. Plus loin, on s’avance jusqu’au centre de l’Afrique avec les villages du Congo, du Sénégal, du Niger, du Dahomey, de Madagascar, où la civilisation européenne pénètre tous les jours davantage parmi les nègres aux corps à moitié nus, aux faces larges et plates, aux yeux écarquillés ou au rire enfantin errant sur leurs dents blanches.

La vie orientale, transplantée sur les côtes septentrionales de l’Afrique, tire son origine de l’Asie. Celle-ci est représentée ici par le Siam, la Chine, l’Indo-Chine et le Japon. Les scènes, peintes avec un goût exquis et un cachet inimitable de couleur locale par Jusseaume, artiste décorateur des deux plus grands théâtres de Paris, intéressent non seulement ceux qui visitent le parc pour s’amuser mais aussi ceux qui se plaisent à étudier l’histoire de l’humanité. Elles montrent le passage graduel, presque imperceptible, des huttes des sauvages, du Congo aux premières habitations du Sénégal ornées de décorations rudimentaires et le progrès siamois, indochinois et japonais qui témoignent tous d’une grande affinité ethnique.

Le parc des amusements a été organisé par M. Ernest Pourtauborde, qui avait déjà arrangé les expositions analogues du Cambodge et de l’Algérie à l’Exposition Universelle de Paris, en 1900.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911