International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Medieval town

manque image

People always come back to see the medieval town; in the 27 years of its existence, it has already taken on the brown patina of the fifteenth century from which it was evoked by the brilliant artists who created it in 1884.

Visitors who have not returned to Turin in the meantime will be pleased to see again, like old and dear acquaintances, the large Franciscan cross at the entrance, the drawbridge, the wide door, the Annunciation after the one in the castle of Malgrà in the Canavais, the Pilgrims' Hospice, the fountain of Salbertrand and Oulx in the Susa Valley, the long street with low arches, with bricks arranged in a chessboard pattern, with overhanging roofs, the houses of Alba, Bussoleno, Cuorgnè and Avigliana. Then there is the inn with the sign of St. George, with the Dance of the Fools of Lagnasco, and the little church that is not to be found in any specific place in Piedmont and yet recalls and unites them all, from the colossal St. Christopher of Verzuolo to the St. Anthony abbot of Piossasco, from the terracotta of Ciriè to the decorative motifs of the churches in Chieri, Chivasso and Dronero.

The Middle Ages also played a joyful and active part in the 1911 Exhibition. The long medieval me has been repopulated by craftsmen who make vases and earthenware; by blacksmiths who work with wrought iron; by armourers who burnish spurs; by pharmacists who sell the elixir of long life; by merchants and fruit growers who offer their wares, all in fifteenth-century costume.

But the great novelty that the medieval town brings to the 1911 Exhibition is not the workshops and shops that survived the 1884 Exhibition, but the art of 15th century printing. Guttenberg's typographical workshop has transported its presses here, and all visitors can witness the first glorious steps of this art, which we saw giant in the Journal Palace and which dominates and invades our time.

All the objects we see in the medieval printing house belonged to that time or were reproduced exactly, with the same attention to detail as the construction of the Burg. Here, in the house of Bussoleno, we see the making of handmade paper, with the vats and sieves, the work of the masters of Fabriano and Pale. Further on, in the neighbouring house of Alba, we follow, with growing curiosity and affection, the xylographers in their patient work of wood engraving which gave the world the first illustrations of the book. There, one watches the composers aligning these movable typefaces, whose invention must have seemed at the time a find inspired by heaven or by the devil. Elsewhere, one observes the proofreader doing his humanist work, or the printer, the machinist, as he draws from the humble and crude primitive press typographic harmonies which we, in our century proud of so many inventions, no longer know how to achieve.

The typographical workshop of 1911 will also leave a memory of him in one of those editions which are the object of admiration and despair of bibliophiles. The Divine Comedy was printed in front of the public in the Foligno edition of 1470, enriched with the best illustrations of the time. Among other things, a Book of Hours was printed, adorned with delicious engravings, both sacred and secular; nearby, in the bookseller's shop - the "bibliopola" of the Middle Ages - one can admire the products of an exquisite art, obtained, more than 400 years later, using the same processes.

On the first floor of the house of Alba there is a retrospective exhibition of the art of the press for book lovers, containing the most famous typographical marks, a collection of bookplates, woodblock prints and a reproduction, made especially for this occasion, of the first and last pages of the most precious Italian incunabula.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Bourg Moyen-âge

manque image

On revient toujours volontiers voir le Bourg Moyen-âge; depuis 27 ans qu’il existe, il a déjà pris admirablement la patine brune de ce XVe siècle d’où l’ont évoqué les artistes de génie qui le créèrent en 1884.

Des visiteurs d’alors, qui ne sont pas revenus à Turin dans l’intervalle, reverront avec plaisir, comme de vieilles et chères connaissances, la grosse croix franciscaine à l’entrée, le pont-levis, la porte à larges battants, l’Annonciation d’après celle du château de Malgrà dans le Canavais, l’hospice des Pèlerins, la fontaine de Salbertrand et Oulx dans le Val de Suse, la longue rue à arcades basses, aux briques disposées en échiquier, aux toits surplombants, des maisons d’Alba, de Bussoleno, de Cuorgnè et d’Avigliana. Puis l’auberge à l’enseigne de Saint-Georges, avec la Danse des fous de Lagnasco, et la petite église qui ne se trouve en aucune localité précise du Piémont et qui pourtant les rappelle et les réunit toutes, depuis le colossal Saint-Christophe de Verzuolo jusqu’au Saint-Antoine abbé de Piossasco, depuis les terres cuites de Ciriè jusqu’aux motifs décoratifs des églises de Chieri, Chivasso et Dronero.

Le Bourg Moyen-âge prend, lui aussi, une part joyeuse et active à l’Exposition de 1911. La longue me moyen-âgeuse s’est repeuplée d'artisans qui fabriquent des vases, des faïences du pays; de forgerons qui travaillent le fer battu; d’armuriers qui brunissent les éperons; de pharmaciens qui vendent l’élixir de longue vie; de marchands, de fruitiers qui vous offrent leurs marchandises, tous en costume du XVe siècle.

Mais la grande nouveauté que le Bourg Moyen-âge apporte à l’Exposition de 1911, ce ne sont ni les ateliers ni les boutiques qui ont survécu à l’Exposition de 1884, c’est l’Art de l’imprimerie du XVe siècle. L’atelier typographique de Guttenberg a transporté ici ses presses et tous les visiteurs peuvent assister aux premiers pas glorieux de cet art, que nous avons vu géant dans le palais du Journal et qui domine et envahit notre époque.

Tous les objets que nous avons sous les yeux dans l’imprimerie moyen-âgeuse ont appartenu à l’époque ou furent reproduits exactement, avec le même souci des détails que la construction du Bourg. Ici on assiste, dans la maison de Bussoleno, à la fabrication du papier à main, avec les cuves et les tamis, travail des maîtres de Fabriano et de Pale. Plus loin, on suit, dans la maison d’Alba voisine, avec une croissante curiosité et une affectueuse sympathie, les xylographes dans leur patient ouvrage de la gravure sur bois qui a donné au monde les premières illustrations du livre. Là, on regarde les compositeurs aligner ces caractères mobiles, dont l’invention dut paraître alors une trouvaille inspirée par le ciel ou par le diable. Ailleurs, on observe le correcteur qui fait son œuvre d’humaniste, ou l’imprimeur, le machiniste, pendant qu’il tire de l’humble et grossière presse primitive des harmonies typographiques auxquelles nous, dans notre siècle fier de tant d’inventions, nous ne savons plus parvenir.

L’atelier typographique de 1911 laissera aussi un souvenir de lui dans une de ces éditions qui sont l’objet de l’admiration et du désespoir des bibliophiles. Sous les yeux du public on imprime la Divine Comédie dans l’édition de Foligno de 1470, enrichie des meilleures illustrations de l’époque. On imprime, entre autres, un Livre d'heures orné de délicieuses gravures, sacrées et profanes; tout près dans la boutique du libraire — le « bibliopola » du Moyen-âge — on peut admirer les produits d’un art exquis, obtenus, plus de 400 après, au moyen des mêmes procédés.

Au premier étage de la maison d’Alba est installée, pour les amateurs du livre, une exposition rétrospective de l’art de la presse, qui contient les plus fameuses marques typographiques, une collection d’ex-libris, d’estampes sur bois, et la reproduction, exécutée exprès à cette occasion, de la première et dernière page des plus précieux incunables italiens.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911