International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Bells

manque image

Passing from the Salon des Fêtes to the Pont Monumental, during the visit to the Pavillon de la Ville de Paris or descending from the Cours Raphaël entrance to the Tobacco, Russia and Turkey exhibition, visitors will often have stopped, surprised by a ringing of bells.

Where are they?

Where did this ringing of blessed bronzes come from in the Industrial and Labour Exhibition?

The sound of the bells has reached us, sometimes loud as on feast days, sometimes faint, distant, an echo carried by the wind, late at night, in the deserted countryside, on the shore of a solitary lake or in the silence of the high mountains.

The bells that have awakened in the visitors the nostalgia of the bells of the village where they were born and where their dear dead perhaps give their last sleep, these bells are really in the Exhibition. They have been placed in the open air, along the so-called "Aisle of Sighs", behind the gallery of working machines. It is there that they do their work, grateful to those who draw from their metallic souls the chords for which they were born.

The bells are about twenty in number, arranged in three rows; they come from four foundries, one of which is in Seregno, another in Valduggia, a third in Varese, a fourth in Milan, and all bear inscriptions inspired by their mystical office.

The hours passed and they rested, mute, among the continuous comings and goings of the park. Then, all of a sudden, a sharp, vibrating ringing makes us jump. It is a passer-by who has amused himself by making them speak, by touching a key on the keyboard.

But even more often, the first jingle is followed by a second, a third, a fourth. Then they are no longer to be counted: they are the brief and hurried beats of the Ave Maria, which call the faithful to church for mass in the morning or for the recitation of the rosary in the evening. It calls them, the pious bell, to the bed of a sick person, to put out a fire, eager, imperious, guardian of their time and their duties.

Amateurs, those who understand the language of bells, are quite numerous; they like to try out their talent in front of the crowd of visitors. Thus one has the pleasure of witnessing a real bell concert. Funera plango, I weep for the one who died," one of them whispers gravely in the chorus of her neighbours. And the other retorts: Fac nos innocuam decurrere vitam, may our life be without sin! Another is inspired by the Good Shepherd of the Gospel and repeats softly: Oves meae audiunt vocem meam, my flock obeys my voice.

The crowd, however, has grown and is circling; the impromptu musician throws the beats of all the bells across the park. Cheerful notes meet in the festive air, merge, alternate, sing a hymn to nature, to the pure sky, to beauty: Tota pulchra es, Maria! repeats, in effect, one of them in the joyful chorus of bells. The musical jubilation climbs the whole scale, crosses the park, climbs the hillside, rises over the countryside, proclaiming the empire of the divinity over earthly things: Christus vincit, Christus imperat.

The concert is over. The visitors move away to regain the time lost in the corridors of the various exhibitions, while the bells still confide their sweet and passionate secrets to some solitary amateur. Their bronze souls are shaken by a sonorous and prolonged vibration that makes them shiver all over.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Cloches

manque image

En passant du Salon des Fêtes au Pont monumental, pendant la visite au pavillon de la Ville de Paris ou en descendant de l’entrée du Cours Raphaël à l’exposition des tabacs, de la Russie et de la Turquie, les visiteurs se seront souvent arrêtés, surpris par un tintement de cloches.

Où sont-elles ?

D’où vient cette sonnerie de bronzes bénits dans l’enceinte de l’exposition de l’industrie et du travail ?

Le son des cloches est arrivé jusqu’à nous, tantôt sonore comme aux jours de fête, tantôt faible, lointain, un écho apporté par le vent, le soir, très tard, dans la campagne déserte, sur la rive d’un lac solitaire ou dans le silence des hautes montagnes.

Les cloches qui ont éveillé dans les visiteurs la nostalgie des cloches du village qui les a vus naître et où leurs chers morts donnent, peut-être, leur dernier sommeil, ces cloches se trouvent réellement dans l’Exposition. On les a placées en plein air, le long de l’allée dite « des soupirs », derrière la galerie des machines en activité. C’est là qu’elles remplissent leur office, reconnaissantes à qui tire de leur âme métallique les accords pour lesquels elles sont nées.

Les cloches sont au nombre d’une vingtaine, disposées sur 3 rangs; elles sortent de quatre fonderies, dont une de Seregno, une autre de Valduggia, une troisième de Varese, un quatrième de Milan et portent tout autour des inscriptions inspirées par leur office mystique.

Les heures passent et elles se reposent, muettes, parmi le va-et-vient continu du parc. Puis, tout d’un coup, un tintement sec, vibrant, nous fait tressaillir. C’est un passant qui s’est amusé à les faire parler, en touchant une touche du clavier.

Mais plus souvent encore au premier tintement succède un deuxième, un troisième, un quatrième. Puis on ne les compte plus : ce sont les battements brefs et pressés de l’Ave Maria, qui appellent les fidèles à l’église pour la messe, le matin ou pour la récitation du chapelet, le soir. Elle les appelle, la pieuse cloche, au lit d’un malade, pour éteindre un incendie, empressée, impérieuse, gardienne de leur temps et de leurs devoirs.

Les amateurs, ceux qui comprennent le langage des cloches, sont en assez grand nombre; ils se plaisent à faire l’essai de leur talent devant la foule des visiteurs. On a ainsi le plaisir d’assister à un vrai concert de cloches. Funera plango, je pleure celui qui est mort, murmure gravement l'une d’elles, dans le chœur de ses voisines. Et l’autre riposte: Fac nos innocuam decurrere vitam, que notre vie se passe sans péché ! Une autre s’inspire du Bon Pasteur de l’Evangile et répète doucement: Oves meae audiunt vocem meam, mon troupeau obéit à ma voix.

La foule cependant s’est accrue et fait cercle; le musicien improvisé lance à travers le parc les battements de toutes les cloches. Des notes gaies se rencontrent dans l’air en fête, se fondent, s’alternent, chantent un hymne à la nature, au ciel pur, à la beauté : Tota pulchra es, Maria ! répète, en effet, l’une d’elles dans le chœur joyeux de cloches. L’allégresse musicale monte toute la gamme, traverse le parc, gravit la pente de la colline, s’élève sur la campagne, en proclamant l’empire de la divinité sur les choses terrestres: Christus vincit, Christus imperat.

Le concert est fini. Les visiteurs s’éloignent pour regagner dans les couloirs des différentes expositions le temps perdu, pendant que les cloches confient encore à quelque amateur solitaire leurs secrets doux et passionnés. Leur âme de bronze est secouée d’une vibration sonore et prolongée qui les fait frissonner tout entières.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911