International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Gallery of Work

Gallery of Work at the Exhibition Turin 1911

We shall continue to call the gallery of machines in action, which opens to the right of the entrance to the Cours Raphaël, by its old and happy name of Galerie du Travail, although in 1911 such a name seems inappropriate. With the dominant idea of the Exhibition to present, as far as possible, all the industries in activity, capturing them, through the different transformations, in their progressive development, the whole International Exhibition should, to put it exactly, be defined as one great, immense gallery of work.

Having made this remark - and we can repeat it for the electricity gallery we have just visited - let us enter the gallery of machines in action.

245 metres long, 80 metres wide, with a total area of 16,600 square metres, it is perhaps the most international gallery of the Exhibition. Here all the nations, even those that have exhibited extensively in their own pavilions, such as England, France, Germany and Belgium, have come together. If you listen carefully to the rhythm of the machines in motion, you can feel the joyful, lively, or rough and tumble soul of the nations that built them, so true is it that man puts the stamp of his own personality on all the works that come out of his hands. The public, which knows how to guess all this, is always
The public, which knows how to guess all this, always rushes around the wheels that turn silently, the pistons that come and go regularly, taking with them the trinkets that they have seen created before their eyes and which will remind them, later on, of the miracles of manufacture that they have witnessed.
Symmetrical with the electricity gallery, the work gallery, with its powerful iron framework, also has a light greenish decoration that rests the eye without disturbing its observation.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Galerie du Travail

Galerie du Travail à l'exposition de Turin 1911

Nous continuerons à appeler de son vieux nom si heureux de Galerie du Travail, la galerie des machines en action qui s’ouvre à droite de l’entrée du Cours Raphaël, bien que, en 1911, une telle dénomination semble impropre. Avec l’idée dominante de l’Exposition de présenter, autant que possible, toutes les industries en activité, en les saisissant, à travers les différentes transformations, dans leur développement progressif, toute l’Exposition internationale devrait, pour parler exactement, se définir une seule grande, immense galerie du travail.

Cette remarque faite — et nous pouvons la répéter pour la galerie de l’électricité que nous venons de visiter, — entrons dans la galerie des machines en action.

Longue de 245 mètres, large de 80, avec une superficie totale de 16.600 mètres carrés, elle est peut-être la galerie la plus internationale de l’Exposition. Ici toutes les nations, même celles qui ont largement exposé dans leurs pavillons propres, comme l’Angleterre. la France, l’Allemagne et la Belgique, se sont donné rendez-vous. En écoutant bien le rythme des machines en mouvement, on sent vibrer l’âme joyeuse, vive, ou rude, batailleuse, des nations qui les ont construites, tant il est vrai que l’homme imprime le cachet de sa propre personnalité sur toutes les œuvres sorties de ses mains. Le public qui sait deviner tout cela, se presse
toujours volontiers autour des roues qui tournent en silence, des pistons qui vont et viennent régulièrement, en emportant les bibelots qu’il a vu créer sous ses yeux et qui lui rappelleront, plus tard, les miracles de fabrication auxquels il a assisté.
Symétrique avec celle de l’électricité, la galerie du travail, à la puissante charpente de fer, a, elle aussi, une légère décoration verdâtre reposant l’œil, sans le gêner dans son observation.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911