International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Naval Pavilion

Naval Pavilion at the Exhibition Turin 1911

The Navy has never been missing from our exhibitions; the Navy exhibition not only has a special importance for technicians, but it also serves to spread among the people, among the masses, the cult of the sea, to make the models and names of our great warships familiar to the whole nation.

In the centre of the gallery, on a sea-coloured blue mirror, are arranged in a fine order all our ships, from the modest cruisers to the Giulio Cesare, the Dante Alighieri, the Leonardo da Vinci, the Conte di Cavour, the giants which tomorrow will descend to kiss the waves. It is an original and instructive idea, which gives at a glance the synthesis of our maritime forces. Further on, models built on a larger scale allow us to better study the organism.

Various elements were then reproduced from different ships: the infirmary of the "San Giorgio", the commander's quarters, the kitchen and the oven of the "Dante Alighieri".
To give an exact idea of the power of modern ships, seven steel cannons were displayed, no longer facsimiles, as in 1898, but authentic, one for each of the calibres used on our ships, from the smallest (37 mm) to the largest (305 mm).

Collections of photographs, models of basins, searchlights and explosion engines complete the exhibition. The exhibition of the Ministry of the Navy is made even more complete by the special exhibitions of various naval institutes: the Hydrographic Institute, the Naval Academy, the electroplating workshop, the Castellamare rope factory, the Muggiano range.

The naval pavilion covers an area of 4,000 square metres. It was built by adapting new galleries to the old building of the Palestre gymnastique founded in Valentin in 1844 under the auspices of Charles Albert, later transformed into the Skating-Ring; the technical office of the current Exhibition was placed there during the works.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon de la Marine

Pavillon de la Marine à l'exposition de Turin 1911

La Marine n’a jamais manqué à nos expositions; l’exposition de la Marine non seulement a une importance spéciale pour les techniciens, mais elle sert aussi à répandre dans le peuple, dans les masses, le culte de la mer, à rendre familiers à toute la nation les modèles et les noms de nos grands navires de guerre.

Au centre de la galerie, sur une glace bleue couleur de mer, sont disposés en bel ordre tous nos vaisseaux, des modestes croiseurs au Giulio Cesare, au Dante Alighieri, au Leonardo da Vinci, au Conte di Cavour, les géants qui demain descendront pour baiser les vagues. C’est une idée originale et instructive, qui donne d’un coup d’œil la synthèse de nos forces maritimes. Plus loin, des modèles construits sur une plus grande échelle permettent de mieux en étudier l’organisme.

Puis on a reproduit divers éléments d’après différents navires: l’infirmerie du « San Giorgio », le logement du commandant, la cuisine et le four du «Dante Alighieri».
Pour donner une idée exacte de la puissance des navires modernes on a exposé sept canons d’acier, non plus en fac-similé, comme en 1898, mais authentiques, un pour chacun des calibres employés sur nos navires, depuis le plus petit (37 millimètres) jusqu’au plus gros (305 millimètres).

Des collections de photographies, des modèles de bassins, des projecteurs, des moteurs à explosion, complètent l’exposition. L’exposition du Ministère de la Marine est rendue plus entière encore par les expositions spéciales de divers instituts navals: l’Institut hydrographique, l’Académie navale, l’atelier de galvanoplastie, la corderie de Castellamare, le polygone de Muggiano.

Le pavillon de la Marine occupe une superficie de 4000 mètres carrés. Il a été construit en adaptant de nouvelles galeries à l’ancien édifice de la Palestre gymnastique fondée au Valentin en 1844 sous les auspices de Charles-Albert, transformée plus tard en Skating-Ring ; on y avait mis le bureau technique de l’Exposition actuelle pendant les travaux.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911