International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Monumental Bridge

Monumental Bridge at the Exhibition Turin 1911

On leaving the Musical Instruments Gallery, the Monumental Bridge, located opposite, invites visitors to stop and admire its imposing lines.

A whole group of white statues is advancing towards us and makes us believe that the beautiful times of ancient Greece have returned. It is the winged choir of the Victories who, from the top of their columns, hold out laurel wreaths to the victors in the bright morning. At the base of the columns other statues, other nymphs, perhaps the Graces, hold hands and dance, as in the joyful chorus of the Muses and Apollo in the Guide.

The bridge is truly grand and majestic in its proportions. The trees on the left bank stretch out with us towards the other bank, as if to better admire the spectacle. The river seems to have shrunk from below; it seems as if the waters have been partly withdrawn to let the quadrigas of the victors pass.

The bridge goes towards the great monumental fountain, raised on the hill, in the grandiose style of the fountains of Bernini, in Rome. The fountain is framed by two bell towers which recall, in their decorative motifs, the beautiful St. John which Turin possesses, as well as Florence. In the large central niche of the fountain is the statue of the Fatherland, which appears to bless the spectacle of the fruitful work of the Exhibition at its feet.

The bridge that can be seen and admired from our vantage point in the centre of the park is only part of the bridge itself. It is the outer part only, for in its bowels it conceals an intense, feverish life that we cannot guess at first sight.

The two side staircases lead down to a large underground hall decorated with stucco, which forms three parallel passages. In the two side passages one walks "in lunga fila" to the other side, like the souls of Dante. In the central passage, on the other hand, we no longer witness a parade of shadows, but a creaking of iron; it is only the incessant movement of the conveyor belt that transports us in a moment to the other bank.

The bridge has five arches, each 21.30 metres long and 25 metres wide. The caryatids are the work of the sculptor J. B. Alloati; the pedestals of the columns, decorated with statues, are by the sculptor Bel Santo and the Victories by the sculptor Sassi.

The monumental bridge is the most convenient and picturesque passage to visit, coming from Valentino, the exhibitions of foreign nations lined up along the right bank of the Po. We continue, for the moment, the tour of the central pavilions, entering the Navy Gallery.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pont Monumental

Pont Monumental à l'exposition de Turin 1911

En sortant de la galerie des instruments musicaux, le Pont monumental, situé en face, invite les visiteurs à s’arrêter pour en admirer les lignes imposantes.

Tout un peuple de blanches statues s’avance vers nous et nous fait croire que les beaux temps de la Grèce antique sont revenus. C’est le chœur ailé des Victoires qui, du haut de leurs colonnes, tendent les couronnes de laurier aux vainqueurs, dans la matinée lumineuse. Ala base des colonnes d’autres statues,d’autres nymphes, peut-être les Grâces, se tiennent par la main et dansent, comme dans le chœur joyeux des Muses et d’Apollon du Guide.

Le pont est vraiment grand et majestueux dans ses proportions. Les arbres de la rive gauche s’allongent avec nous vers l’autre rive, comme pour mieux en admirer le spectacle. Le fleuve semble s’être rapetissé par-dessous; on dirait que les eaux se sont retirées en partie, pour laisser passer les quadriges des vainqueurs.

Le pont se dirige vers la grande fontaine monumentale, élevée sur la colline, dans le style grandiose des fontaines du Bernini, à Rome. La fontaine est encadrée de deux clochers qui rappellent, dans leurs motifs décoratifs, le beau St. Jean que Turin possède, aussi bien que Florence. Dans la grande niche centrale de la fontaine se trouve la statue de la Patrie, qui paraît bénir le spectacle du travail fécond de l’Exposition, à ses pieds.

Le pont qu’on voit et admire de notre point d’observation, au centre du parc, n’est qu’une partie du pont lui-même. C’est la partie extérieure seulement, car dans ses entrailles il cache une vie intense, fiévreuse, qu’on ne devine pas au premier aspect.

Les deux escaliers latéraux descendent jusqu’à un grand salon souterrain décoré de stucs, qui forme trois passages parallèles. Dans les deux passages latéraux on passe à pied, « in lunga fila » sur l’autre rive, comme les âmes du Dante. Dans le passage central, au contraire, on assiste, non plus à un défilé d’ombres, mais à un grincement de fer; ce n’est que le mouvement incessant du tapis-roulant qui nous transporte dans un instant vers l’autre rive.

Le pont a 5 arches de 21,30 mètres chacune, 106,25 mètres de long et 25 de large. Les cariatides sont l’œuvre du sculpteur J. B. Alloati; les piédestaux des colonnes, ornés de statues, sont du sculpteur Bel Santo et les Victoires du sculpteur Sassi.

Le pont monumental est le passage le plus commode et le plus pittoresque pour visiter, en venant du Valentin, les expositions des nations étrangères alignées le long de la rive droite du Pô. Nous continuons, pour le moment, le tour des pavillons centraux, en entrant dans la galerie de la Marine.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911