Back - List of Pavilions

Festival hall - Expo Turin 1911

Festival hall at the Exhibition Expo Turin 1911

Together with the Palace of Artistic Industries, located near the main entrance and which we have already visited, the Festival Hall is the most remarkable architectural work of the Exhibition. Built on the plan of the Theatre of Olympia, with a 60-metre high dome, surrounded by galleries that increase its majesty, with a surface area of 10,000 square metres, it has all the solemnity of lines, all the richness of decoration that befits the main hall for industrial and labour festivals.

The interior of the building itself is remarkable for the richness of the stucco work and the imposing size of the hall. On the parterre, on the tiers, in the galleries, 3000 spectators can be seated comfortably. There is no standing room, so the religious contemplation of those who, from May to October, twice a week, will listen to the orchestra concerts, cannot be disturbed.

These concerts have a long and glorious tradition in Turin, dating back to May 1872, when Pedrotti inaugurated, with the support of the entire population, a series of popular concerts at the Victor Emmanuel Theatre.

During the Exhibition the symphonic concerts were performed by an orchestra of 146 musicians, under the direction of the first European masters. They were conducted in May by Mengelberg, German-Dutch, Serafin, Italian, Kayanus, Finnish; in June, by the Russian Sofonoff, by the French Debussy, author of Péléas et Mélisandre, and Pierné; in July, by Mancinelli, whose triumphs in Turin in 1884 at the head of the Bologna orchestra are still remembered; In September, by another great Italian master, Toscanini; in October, to end the season with dignity, the German Steinbach, an incomparable interpreter of Brahms and Schumann, the Frenchman D'Indy, the Englishman Ellgar and the German Mahler, a famous continuator of Beethoven's work, will take to the director's podium

The Exhibition Concerts were organised by the Society of Orchestral Concerts, which has existed in Turin since 1905, under the direction of its president, Commander Joseph Depanis.

The promenade of the Festivities Hall leads to the Musical Instruments Hall.


The decorations of the Festival Hall

All around the Festival Hall, a large decorative frieze, 2 metres high, runs under the cornice; it is immediately noticeable because of the golden patina with which it surrounds the hall.

The frieze is composed of two central paintings, placed above the entrance doors and separated by allegorical figures: fauns, mythological subjects, decorative figures, which support and stretch out a festoon of flowers and fruit, surrounding the building like a great festive garland.

The vivacity of the invention, the solid position of the figures which form an architectonic body with the lower colonnade, invite us to examine more closely this work, one of the most important among the decorative works of the Exhibition. One of the paintings in the centre represents the Triumph of Labour, symbolised by a country festival at harvest time, when Ceres, Pomona and Bacchus brighten up the earth with their gifts. Two square oxen, Virgil's beloved oxen with their gentle human gaze, are seen climbing the slope. Draped and garlanded, guided in triumph by a male allegorical figure, they occupy the centre of the painting, where figures waving flowers and fruits and tilting amphorae are moving and singing. Animated, in bacchic attitudes, these figures stand out clearly against the clear sky and form a lively scene.

The second painting represents the Triumph of the Flag, a flag of brilliant red, crowned with roses, around which all the peoples of the world crowd, bringing their fruits from the land and the sea to the celebration of universal brotherhood, represented by the Exhibition.

A third decorative painting, by the same artists as the exterior frieze, adorns the interior of the salon. Above the scene a canvas, 3 m. 50 high, 13 m. long, is placed. Above the stage a canvas, 3.5 m. high and 13 m. long, celebrates the Awakening of Music. Between the god Pan who invites the nymphs to dance to the sound of the flute and the Sirens who attract the fishermen with their songs, arrives on horseback the musical theory, a beautiful figure of woman, who, by stripping herself of her veils, comes to reconcile the primitive musics, by giving them a law and a rule. Two side panels show us a faun and a woman dancing, against a background of rosebushes. Then the leitmotif of the festoon of the outer frieze returns, but lighter, as befits the enclosed space, in tones that harmonise with the roses enveloping the Nymphs and the whole scene.

Even in this painting, the same warm colouring as in the outer frieze is immediately noticeable, the same golden transparency, through which the amalgam of colours passes and merges, leaving the impression of an ancient painting.

The young painters Rodolphe Premoli and Joseph Sohrile, the authors of the paintings, have shown by their work that they have understood what cheerful and brilliant ornamentation, intended to leave a luminous memory, is suitable for the Festive Salon of an Exhibition.

While remaining faithful to the 18th century, they have produced a highly original and personal work by the antique build of their figures; they have given indisputable proof of artistic seriousness by the care and patience with which they have executed the studies of their compositions from life, alternating them, blending them, and varying them infinitely.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Salle des Fêtes

Salle des Fêtes à l'exposition de Turin 1911

La Salle des Fêtes forme, avec le palais des Industries Artistiques, situé près de l’entrée principale et que nous avons déjà visité, l’ouvrage d’architecture le plus remarquable de l’Exposition. Construite sur le plan du Théâtre d’Olympie, avec une coupole haute de 60 mètres, entourée de galeries qui en augmentent la majesté, d’une superficie de 10.000 mètres carrés, elle a toute la solennité de lignes, toute la richesse de décorations qui conviennent à la salle principale des fêtes de l’industrie et du travail.

L’intérieur même de l’édifice est remarquable par la richesse des stucs et par l’ampleur imposante de la salle. Au parterre, sur les gradins, dans les galeries peuvent trouver place, assis à l’aise, 3000 spectateurs. Il n’y a pas de places debout; ainsi l’on ne peut troubler le religieux recueillement de ceux qui, de mai à octobre, deux fois par semaine, écouteront les concerts d’orchestre.

Ces concerts sont à Turin une longue et glorieuse tradition; elle remonte au mois de mai 1872, date à laquelle Pedrotti inaugura, avec l’élan de toute la population, une série de concerts populaires au théâtre Victor-Emmanuel.

Pendant l’Exposition les concerts symphoniques sont exécutés par un orchestre de 146 musiciens, sous la direction des premiers maîtres européens. Ils seront dirigés en mai par Mengelberg, allemand-hollandais, Serafin, italien, Kayanus, finlandais; en juin, par le russe Sofonoff, par les français Debussy, auteur de Péléas et Mélisandre, et Pierné; en juillet, par Mancinelli, dont Turin se rappelle encore les triomphes en 1884, à la tête de l’orchestre de Bologne; en septembre, par un autre grand maître italien, Toscanini; en octobre, pour terminer dignement la saison, monteront sur l’estrade directoriale l’allemand Steinbach, incomparable interprète de Brahms et de Schumann, le français D’Indy, l’anglais Ellgar et l’allemand Mahler, continuateur fameux de l’œuvre de Beethoven.

Les Concerts de l’Exposition furent organisés par la Société des Concerts d’orchestre qui existe à Turin depuis 1905, sous la direction de son président, le commandeur Joseph Depanis.

Le promenoir du Salon des Fêtes donne dans la salle des Instruments musicaux.


Les décorations de la Salle des Fêtes

Tout autour du Palais des Fêtes se déroule, sous la corniche, une grande frise décorative, haute de 2 mètres; on la remarque tout de suite à cause de la patine d’or dont elle entoure le salon.

La frise est composée de deux tableaux centraux, placés au-dessus des portes d’entrée et séparés par des figures allégoriques : faunes, sujets mythologiques, figures décoratives, qui soutiennent et se tendent l’un à l’autre un feston formé de fleurs, de fruits, entourant l’édifice comme une grande guirlande de fête.

La vivacité de l’invention, la solide position des figures qui forment un corps architectonique avec la colonnade inférieure, nous invitent à examiner de plus près cet ouvrage, l’un des plus importants parmi les ouvrages décoratifs de l’Exposition. L’un des tableaux du centre représente le Triomphe du Travail, symbolisé par une fête champêtre, à l’époque des récoltes, quand Cérès, Pomone et Bacchus égayent la terre de leurs dons. On voit monter la pente deux bœufs carrés, les bœufs au doux regard humain aimés de Virgile. En raccourci, drapés, enguirlandés, guidés en triomphe par une mâle figure allégorique, ils occupent le centre du tableau où remuent et chantent des figures agitant des fleurs et des fruits, et penchant des amphores. Animées, dans des attitudes bacchiques, ces figures se détachent nettement sur le ciel clair et forment une scène mouvementée.

Le second tableau représente le Triomphe du Drapeau, drapeau d’un rouge éclatant, couronné de roses, autour duquel tous les peuples du monde se pressent, en apportant à l’envi, de la terre et de la mer, leurs fruits à la fête de la fraternité universelle, représentée par l’Exposition.

Un troisième tableau décoratif, œuvre des mêmes artistes que la frise extérieure, orne l’intérieur du salon. Au-dessus de la scène une toile, haute de 3 m. 50, longue de 13 m., célèbre le Réveil de la Musique. Entre le dieu Pan qui invite les nymphes à la danse au son de la flûte et les Sirènes qui attirent les pêcheurs par leurs chants, arrive à cheval la théorie musicale, une belle figure de femme, qui, en se dépouillant de ses voiles, vient concilier les musiques primitives, en leur donnant une loi et une règle. Deux panneaux latéraux nous montrent un faune et une femme qui dansent, sur un fond de rosiers. Puis revient le leitmotiv du feston de la frise extérieure, mais plus léger, comme il sied à l’endroit clos, aux tons qui s’harmonisent avec les roses enveloppant les Nymphes et toute la scène.

Même dans ce tableau on remarque tout de suite le même coloris chaud que sur la frise extérieure, la même transparence dorée, à travers laquelle l’amalgame des couleurs passe et se fond, en laissant l’impression d’un tableau ancien.

Des auteurs des tableaux, les jeunes peintres Rodolphe Premoli et Joseph Sohrile, ont montré par leur œuvre qu’ils ont compris quelle ornementation gaie et brillante, destinée à laisser un souvenir lumineux, convenait au Salon des Fêtes d’une Exposition.

En restant fidèles au XVIIIe siècle, ils ont fait une œuvre hautement originale et personnelle par la carrure antique de leurs figures; ils ont donné une preuve indiscutable de sérieux artistique par le soin et la patience avec lesquels ils ont exécuté d’après nature, en les alternant, en les mêlant, en les variant à l’infini, les études de leurs compositions.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911