Back - List of Pavilions

Valentino Castle -

Valentino Castle at the Exhibition Expo Turin 1911

He is the master of the square and, although he has remained outside the enclosure, we owe him a visit before ending our first tour of the Exhibition close to him.

The name and fate of Valentine are linked to two names of illustrious and beautiful women, Valentine Balbiano, wife of René Birago, President of the Parliament of Turin, and Marie-Christine of France, Regent of Piedmont. Valentine Birago did not give it its name, which, according to tradition, goes back to an ancient chapel dedicated to Saint Valentine; but she felt the poetry of this place and began to make it known by building a castle there in 1550. Marie-Christine, continuing the traditions of good taste imported from France to the Court of Savoy by Bonne de Bourbon and Bonne de Berry, took over the construction in 1633, and moved there with the Court in 1640.

The architect, the style of the present castle, the princess who had it built, everything was French. Only the director of the works, Antoine Bobba, and the majority of the workers, who came from the Lanzo valleys, were Piedmontese, as was Count Amédée de Castellamonte, who at the time was in charge of the works of the Royal Palace and who played an important part in the exterior decoration of the Valentino.

The large gate, through which we enter the courtyard of the Castle, dates back to 1860, when Le Valentin became the seat of the School of Application for engineers. Until then, the semicircular portico that connected the two outer pavilions could still be seen. The centre of the courtyard is occupied by the statue of Quintino Sella, who established the School of Application for Engineers.

The warm fantasy of the 17th century can already be seen on the exterior, in the cornice that ends the pavilions and in the windows of the first floor, which then develops fully and grandly in the large staircases and the rooms of the first floor. The doors and vaults of the flats are decorated with rich white and gold stucco decorations, frescoes with a gold background in Flemish style, by Carlo Solaro, Tommaso Carloni, Francesco and Pompeo Bianchi, Alessandro Casella and others. There is the Chamber of the Lily, the Audience Hall, the War Chamber, which receive their names from the paintings that adorn them.

As we walk through these rooms, where our bourgeois times have only known how to put school benches, the thought of the artist and the curious instinctively goes back to the times when the Castle joyfully resounded with the echoes of carrousels, jousts, tournaments and public festivals.

Then came more serious worries: the diplomatic talks for the truce between France and Spain, the evacuation of Turin by the French in 1645. Time laid its wrathful hand on the castle: the Jacobin fury damaged the paintings, tore up the tapestries and made the flats uninhabitable. Later still, in the last century, the Castle, once a place of delight, had to receive ignorant, drunken troops, who completed the vandal destruction begun by the French Revolution.

Nevertheless, in spite of so many insults that men have done to it, the Valentin, as it is now, still bears the stamp of its noble origin on its forehead. The delicate and aristocratic spirit of Marie-Christine still floats in it, and our era, which so finely searches for all the traces of the art of the past, can re-examine and execute this primitive and so grandiose design that the worries of the State and the troubled times prevented the Regent from bringing to a successful conclusion.

The insults of the centuries can be erased and, in a few years, when another more suitable location for the Polytechnic School has been found and the artistic collections currently scattered throughout the city have been placed in the Valentino Castle, Turin will be able to boast of having one of the most picturesque and suggestive Museums in Europe. When contemplating the sunset from the terrace overlooking the Po River, with the green hill and the dome of the Superga shining on the horizon, the visitor will have an impression that will make him think of the Palace of Versailles, of Notre-Dame, of the palaces of the Cité and of the banks of the Seine in the vicinity of Paris.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Château du Valentin

Château du Valentin à l'exposition de Turin 1911

C’est lui le maître de la place et, quoiqu’il soit resté hors de l’enceinte, nous lui devons une visite avant de terminer tout près de lui notre premier tour dans l’Exposition.

Le nom et le sort du Valentin sont liés à deux noms de femmes illustres et belles, Valentine Balbiano, femme de René Birago, président du Parlement de Turin, et Marie-Christine de France, régente de Piémont. Valentine Birago ne lui a pas donné son nom qui remonterait, à en croire la tradition, à une ancienne chapelle dédiée à Saint-Valentin; mais elle sentit toute la poésie de cet endroit et commença à le faire connaître en y bâtissant un château en 1550. Marie-Christine, continuant les traditions de bon goût importées de France à la Cour de Savoie par Bonne de Bourbon et Bonne de Berry, reprit la construction en 1633, et alla y habiter avec la Cour en 1640.

L’architecte, le style du Château actuel, la princesse qui le fit bâtir, tout fut français. Il n’y eut de piémontais que le directeur des travaux, Antoine Bobba, la majeure partie des ouvriers, qui venaient des vallées de Lanzo, et aussi le comte Amédée de Castellamonte, qui alors dirigeait les travaux du Palais Royal et qui prit une part importante à la décoration extérieure du Valentin.

La grande grille, par laquelle nous entrons dans la cour du Château, ne remonte qu’à 1860, quand le Valentin devint le siège de l’Ecole d’application pour les ingénieurs. Jusqu’alors on pouvait encore voir le portique semi-circulaire qui reliait les deux pavillons extérieurs. Le centre de la cour est occupé par la statue de Quintino Sella, qui institua l’Ecole d’application des ingénieurs.

Déjà dans l’extérieur, dans la corniche qui termine les pavillons et dans les fenêtres du premier étage, se révèle la chaude fantaisie du XVIIe siècle, qui ensuite se développe pleinement et grandiosement dans les grands escaliers et dans les salles du premier étage. Les portes, les voûtes des appartements sont ornées de décorations très riches à stucs blancs et or, de fresques à fond d’or en style flamand, exécutées par Carlo Solaro, Tommaso Carloni, Francesco et Pompeo Bianchi, Alessandro Casella et d’autres encore. On a ainsi la Chambre du Lys, la Salle des Audiences, la Chambre de la Guerre, qui reçoivent leurs noms des peintures qui les ornent.

En parcourant ces salles, où nos temps bourgeois n’ont su que mettre des bancs d’école, la pensée de l’artiste et du curieux se reporte instinctivement aux temps où le Château retentissait joyeusement des échos des carrousels, des joutes, des tournois et des fêtes publiques.

Puis vinrent de plus graves soucis: les pourparlers diplomatiques pour la trêve entre la France et l’Espagne, l’évacuation de Turin par les Français en 1645. Le temps abattit sa main courroucée sur le Château: la fureur jacobine abîma les peintures, déchira les tapisseries, rendit inhabitables les appartements. Plus tard encore, au siècle dernier, le Château, jadis lieu de délices, dut recevoir des troupes ignorantes, ivres, qui achevèrent la destruction vandale commencée par la Révolution française.

Néanmoins, malgré tant d’injures que lui ont faites les hommes, le Valentin, tel qu’il est actuellement, porte encore au front le cachet de sa noble origine. L’esprit délicat et aristocratique de Marie-Christine y flotte encore, et notre époque qui recherche si finement toutes les traces de l’art du passé, peut réexaminer et exécuter ce dessein primitif si grandiose que les soucis de l’Etat et les temps troublés empêchèrent la Régente de mener à bonne fin.

Les injures des siècles peuvent s’effacer et, dans quelques années, quand on aura trouvé pour l’Ecole Polytechnique un autre siège mieux adapté et qu’on aura placé au Château du Valentin les collections artistiques actuellement disséminées à travers la ville, Turin pourra se vanter d’avoir un des Musées les plus pittoresques et les plus suggestifs d’Europe. En contemplant, vers le soir, le spectacle du coucher du soleil du haut de la terrasse qui donne sur le Pô, avec la colline verte et la coupole de la Superga brillant à l’horizon, le visiteur aura une impression qui le fera songer au Château de Versailles, à Notre-Dame, aux palais de la Cité et aux bords de la Seine dans les environs de Paris.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911