International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Hungarian Pavilion

Hungarian Pavilion at the Exhibition Turin 1911

The Hungarian pavilion is the most original building of the Exhibition; this would be enough, even if we disregard its aesthetic value, to draw all our attention to it. Built as a result of a competition between the country's best architects, it will be a novelty for the Hungarians themselves; they will find in it the architectural elements of Hungary of a thousand years ago, patiently exhumed from history and from museums to form a new modern style.

At first sight, the pointed, pyramidal tower looks like a large tent with a pointed roof, rather than a palace.
The impression is correct, for the architects, Mr. Emile Tory and Mr. Maurice Pogâny, really wanted to reproduce in their building a picture of the old Hungarian nomadic life.

Its contours, with large, strongly curved lines, evoke memories of the East. They are reminiscent of India and Persia; it is like an echo of distant centuries in an original and absolutely Hungarian picture.

The legendary Tatra Mountains, reproduced in the three hills of the Hungarian coat of arms, are symbolised here by three tents, the highest of which represents the royal tent. This is the tent of Atila, king of the Huns; in fact, on the façade, a bas-relief carved on large green sandstone slabs depicts the Wedding of Attila, while the other one which is opposite has as its subject the coronation of Saint Stephen, king of Hungary.

The entrance, covered by a copper helmet-shaped dome, guarded on the right and left by the ancient Hungarian warrior gods, is of a strange and powerful effect; it wonderfully conveys the mystical character of the great Eastern portals that have survived in Hungary.

From the entrance one passes into the central hall or festival gallery, built in the form of a cathedral nave, where a veiled light rains down from the high coloured stained glass windows of more than 60 small windows. These windows are the work of the painter Max Rôth. In the centre, a beautiful group representing Arts and Industries, by Maroti, already admired in Venice; opposite, the two busts of Franz Joseph, King of Hungary, and of Victor-Emmanuel III, works of the sculptor Edouard Telcs. The arches that run around the room are decorated in a varied and intense blue, made of primitive Hungarian elements: warrior ornaments, fabrics, embroideries, jewels, found in ancient tombs and reproduced here with an exquisite aesthetic sense and a rare patience. Artistic furniture adorns the living room, bronzes, carpets, tents, paintings with Hungarian subjects. The effect is bizarre and the artist has achieved his goal: he transports us to the heart of historical Hungary.

Beyond the two royal busts, passing between two streams of water, where the stream, falling from the skylights into basins of black enamelled plates and strewn with gold arabesques, produces a pleasant coolness, we arrive at the salon where the exhibition of the city of Budapest is located.


Budapest. - The capital of Hungary is made up of three different cities: O-Buda (Old Buda) dates back to Roman times. In 192 paintings and various albums exhibited here, we can note the development of the city since 1872, when the three cities of O-Buda, Buda and Pest, which were at first separate and often rivals, were united into one large commercial and industrial centre. Budapest has a million inhabitants; it is one of the great capitals of Europe and has resolutely faced the difficult problems of the modern city.

Vocational and industrial schools, workers' houses, a people's hotel, a people's house, a people's library - these are institutions which attest to the interest of the city in the solution of the most burning social questions. The widening of the streets of old Pest to give air and light to the old quarters, the municipalization of gas, the municipal oven, the municipal printing works, the large butcher shops for the poor classes, the central cooperative dairy, the Kâposztmegyer aqueduct, all of this makes Budapest one of the cities that the Municipal Commissions of the whole world prefer to visit and study.

Budapest is not only a large commercial market, but also, as many of us are unaware, a first-class spa resort, thanks to the salty thermal waters of Buda, St. Margaret's Island and the neighbouring settlements. In a few years, using its rugged location, Budapest will also be the city of gardens and flowers, a sort of Florence on the Danube, with cottage districts about to spring up on the northern slope of Mount Gerard.

The paintings of the city include the Mathias Church, a reproduction of a masterpiece from the time of Mathias Corvin; the five great bridges over the Danube; the paintings of the ruins of Acquincum, the Roman city; the prints of the Buda and Pest of the Middle Ages.


Industrial Hungary. - Leaving the Budapest Exhibition, let us walk through the two corridors of the central Hungarian pavilion reserved for industry.
Hungary, an eminently agricultural country, has devoted itself to industry for several decades. This phenomenon, identical to the one we are witnessing in Italy, has produced the best results for the country. The railway network, in order to cope with economic development, has increased from 2285 km. in 1867 to 20,262 in January 1910. Foreign trade has risen from 1690 million in 1885 to 3477 million in 1910. In the latter figure, imports are slightly higher than exports: 1798 against 1679 million crowns. Italy accounted for 50 million in purchases and 17 million in sales.

Foodstuffs: flour, alcohol, sugar, beer, were the most important products of Hungarian industry, with a total of 1,117 million crowns in 1906. Italy bought a considerable quantity of sugar and flour. Budapest's beer is mainly sold in the Orient.

Next comes metallurgy, the iron and metal industry, and mechanical engineering with a total value of 500 million crowns per year. Electrical engineering is also very developed, producing 16 million crowns per year. Italy buys machines and electrical appliances from Hungary.

Among the main industries are wood, charcoal, raw wood, half-finished wood, shelves, furniture, beautiful furniture in a simple and harmonious style, bentwood furniture; the leather industry, which has been renowned for a long time; the fabric industry, which, thanks to the support of the Government, rose from 52 million crowns in 1898 to 150 million in 1910.

Italy, which, in addition to the above-mentioned goods, also imports charcoal, processed wood and furniture, is also a client of Hungary for paper pulp. Hungary enjoys a privileged position in this branch of trade, thanks to the abundance of its forests, which supply more than 300,000 cubic metres of resinous plants.

The Royal Hungarian Trade Museum, founded in 1887, is a very practical governmental institution for promoting foreign trade. Thanks to its many correspondents-agents spread all over the world (there are 8 in Italy), the Museum gives free information to Hungarian traders looking for new outlets for their products and to foreigners wishing to enter into business relations with Hungary.

Industrial education is given in Hungary in 501 apprentice schools to 80,000 children who intend to take up an industrial career, and in 74 vocational schools to more than 10,000 pupils. For the protection of workers there is a National Workers' Insurance Fund with 865,280 members who, in 1909, paid out about 22 million crowns.

The Hungarian government, by the law of 1907, ensures preference in public supplies to national industry and grants large subsidies to encourage the creation of new industries in the country.

Agricultural Hungary. - The industry pavilion, by means of a terrace which, with a beautiful view of the Po and the hill, offers the distraction of the gypsy music of a Hungarian ice-cream parlour, communicates with the pavilion of the Hungarian agricultural exhibition. On the façade, a mystical Redeemer, surrounded by the sheep of his flock, introduces us to the exhibition.

Although Hungary is no longer the breadbasket of the world due to competition from America, it is still an eminently agricultural country and will only gradually become an industrial country.

Of the 32,491,813 hectares of Hungarian territory, more than 13 million (42%) are cultivated as fields, 9 million (28%) as woods, 4 million (12%) as pastures, 3 million (10%) as meadows; there are not even 2 million (5%) of barren land.

Cereals occupy more than 3/4 (78%) of the cultivated fields. Livestock breeding, horses, horned cattle, sheep, pigs and poultry are the second major concern of Hungarian agriculture. The horned cattle breeders are gradually replacing the white Hungarian breed, which was only used for draught and slaughter, with western breeds with abundant milk. The export of eggs reached 30 million crowns per year.

Hungarian farmers have felt the benefits of cooperation, which provides small producers with low-interest loans, direct sales of their products, and the direct acquisition of tools and raw materials needed for cultivation. 1/Association générale des Crédits mutuels, created only in 1888, already has 579,079 members in 2,206 communes. The Hungarian Farmers' Cooperative Union, which deals with the sale of products and the purchase of tools for its members, has a share capital of 862,600 crowns. The Hangya (Ant) Consumption and Sales Cooperative Union has 1000 branches, 150,000 members and a turnover of 35 million. There are 558 social dairies.

For agricultural education, special courses have been established in primary schools; there are also 21 practical schools and 5 agronomy academies.

The National Agricultural Association is the official body of farmers.

Hungary has a third exhibition in the meadow opposite the main exhibition: it is the Woodland and Forestry Exhibition, organised by Engineer Pfeiffer, Chief Inspector. It is an original exhibition, where the main woods that Hungary exports in such large quantities are presented in the state in which they are put on the market. A windmill, made entirely of beech, has two pairs of paddles as paddles; this is also a speciality of Hungarian exports. Four antennae of beech, oak, fir and pine show us Hungary's trees at the height they are at twenty years old. In the central pavilion, we see robust oak trunks of the exact length - 18 metres - used in the construction of railway wagons. The exhibition of Hungarian woods and forests occupies about 400 square metres.

The total exhibition of Hungary occupies about 8000 square metres. The works were all carried out under the supervision of the engineer and architect Jules Tôrôck; the commercial delegation was entrusted to Dr. Nândor Vajkai, correspondent of the Royal and Commercial Museum in Genoa.

The presidents of the Hungarian Executive Commission are Mr. Nicolas Zsolnay, an alderman, a great industrialist, and Mr. François Chorin, member of the Chamber of Magnates. Professor Alfred Krolopp, deputy curator, and Dr. Jules Kovacs, alderman, director of the Royal Commercial Museum in Budapest, also collaborated in the exhibition.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon de la Hongrie

Pavillon de la Hongrie à l'exposition de Turin 1911

Le pavillon de la Hongrie est l’édifice le plus original de l’Exposition; cela suffirait, même en faisant abstraction de sa valeur esthétique, pour attirer sur lui toute notre attention. Construit à la suite d’un concours entre les meilleurs architectes du pays, il sera une nouveauté pour les Hongrois eux-mêmes; ils y trouveront les éléments architectoniques de la Hongrie d’il y a mille ans, exhumés patiemment de l’histoire et des musées pour en former un nouveau style moderne.

Devant la tour pointue et pyramidale on croirait, à première vue, se trouver devant une grande tente à toit en pointe, bien plutôt que devant un palais.
L’impression est juste, car les architectes, MM. Emile Tory et Maurice Pogâny, ont réellement voulu reproduire dans leur édifice un tableau de l’ancienne vie nomade hongroise.

Ses contours, à grandes lignes fortement courbées, évoquent des souvenirs d’Orient. Ce sont des réminiscences des Indes, de la Perse ; c’est comme un écho des siècles lointains dans un tableau original et absolument hongrois.

Les monts légendaires du Tatra, reproduits dans les trois collines des armoiries hongroises, sont ici symbolisés par trois tentes dont la plus haute représente la tente royale. C’est la tente d’Atila, roi des Huns; de fait, à la façade, un bas-reilef sculpté sur de grandes plaques de grès vert représente les Noces d’Attila, tandis que l’autre qui lui fait pendant a pour sujet le couronnement de Saint Etienne, roi de Hongrie.

L’entrée, couverte d’une coupole en forme de casque de cuivre, gardée à droite et à gauche par les anciens dieux guerriers hongrois, est d’un effet étrange et puissant; elle rend à merveille le caractère mystique des grands portails d’Orient qui se sont conservés en Hongrie.

De l’entrée on passe dans le salon central ou galerie des fêtes, bâti en forme de nef de cathédrale, où une lumière voilée pleut des hauts vitraux coloriés de plus de 60 petites fenêtres. Ces vitraux sont l’œuvre du peintre Max Rôth. Au centre, un beau groupe représentant les Arts et les Industries, de Marôti, déjà admiré à Venise; en face, les deux bustes de François-Joseph, roi de Hongrie, et de Victor-Emmanuel III, œuvres du sculpteur Edouard Telcs. Les arcs qui courent tout autour, ont des décoration d’un bleu varié et intense, faites d’éléments hongrois primitifs : ornements de guerriers, tissus, broderies, bijoux, retrouvés dans les tombes antiques et reproduits ici avec un exquis sens esthétique et une rare patience. Des meubles artistiques ornementent le salon, des bronzes, des tapis, des tentes, des peintures à sujets hongrois. L’effet est bizarre et l’artiste a atteint son but : il nous transporte en pleine Hongrie historique.

Au-delà des deux bustes royaux, en passant entre deux cours d’eau, où le jet, en retombant des lucernaires dans des bassins de plaquettes émaillées de noir et semées d’arabesques d’or, produit une agréable fraîcheur, on arrive au salon où se trouve l’exposition de la ville de Budapest.


Budapest. — La capitale de la Hongrie est formée, on le sait, de trois villes différentes: la O-Buda (la vieille Buda) remonte aux temps romains. En 192 tableaux et en divers albums exposés ici on peut noter le développement qu’a pris la ville depuis 1872 ; c’est en cette année-là que les trois villes d’O-Buda, de Buda et de Pest, d’abord séparées et souvent rivales, furent réunies en un seul grand centre commercial et industriel. Budapest a un million d’habitants; c’est une des grandes capitales d’Europe et elle a affronté résolument les ardus problèmes de la ville moderne.

Ecoles professionnelles et industrielles, maisons ouvrières, hôtel populaire, maison du peuple, bibliothèque populaire, voilà des institutions qui attestent l’intérêt que prend la ville à la solution des questions sociales les plus brûlantes. Elargissement des rues de la vieille Pest, pour donner de l’air et de la lumière aux anciens quartiers; municipalisation du gaz, four municipal, imprimerie municipale, grandes boucheries hippophagiques pour les classes pauvres, laiterie coopérative centrale, aqueduc de Kâposztmegyer, tout cela fait de Budapest une des villes que visitent de préférence pour l’étudier, les Commissions municipales du monde entier.

Budapest n’est pas seulement un grand marché commercial, mais aussi, — ce que beaucoup parmi nous ignorent, — une station balnéaire de premier ordre, grâce aux eaux thermales salées de Buda, de l’île Ste Marguerite et des localités voisines. Dans quelques années, en utilisant sa situation accidentée, Budapest sera aussi la ville des jardins et des fleurs, une sorte de Florence sur le Danube, avec des quartiers de cottages qui s’apprêtent à surgir de terre sur le versant nord du mont Gérard.

Notons encore, en passant en revue les tableaux de la ville, l’église Mathias, reproduction d’un chef-d’œuvre des temps de Mathias Corvin; les cinq grands ponts sur le Danube; les tableaux des ruines d’Acquincum, la ville romaine; les estampes de la Buda et de la Pest du moyen-âge.


La Hongrie industrielle. — En quittant l’Exposition de Budapest, parcourons les deux couloirs du pavillon central de la Hongrie réservés à l’industrie.
La Hongrie, pays éminemment agricole, s’est adonnée à l’industrie depuis quelques dizaines d’années. De phénomène, identique à celui auquel nous assistons en Italie, a produit les meilleurs résultats pour le pays. De réseau des chemins de fer, pour faire front au développement économique, est monté, de 2285 km. qu’il avait en 1867, à 20.262 en janvier 1910. De commerce extérieur est monté de 1690 millions en 1885 à 3477 millions en 1910. Dans ce dernier chiffre, les importations sont peu supérieures aux exportations: 1798 contre 1679 millions de couronnes. D’Italie y entre pour 50 millions d’achats et 17 millions de ventes.

Des produits alimentaires : farines, alcools, sucre, bière, occupent le premier rang dans l’industrie hongroise, avec un total de 1.117 millions de couronnes en 1906. D’Italie achète une quantité notable de sucres et de farines. Da bière de Budapest trouve ses débouchés Surtout en Orient.

Ensuite vient la métallurgie, l’industrie du fer, des métaux, des constructions mécaniques pour une valeur totale de 500 millions par an. D’électrotechnique est aussi très développée ; elle produit 16 millions de couronnes par an. D’Italie achète à la Hongrie des machines et des appareils électriques.

Citons encore entre les industries principales celles du bois, du charbon de bois, du bois brut, du bois à demi travaillé, des étagères, des meubles, beaux meubles d’un style simple et harmonieux, meubles en bois courbé; les cuirs renommés depuis si longtemps; l’industrie des tissus qui, grâce à l’appui du Gouvernement, est montée de 52 millions de couronnes en 1898 à 150 millions en 1910.

D’Italie qui, outre les marchandises indiquées plus haut, importe aussi du charbon de bois, des bois travaillés, des meubles, est aussi cliente de la Hongrie pour la pâte à papier. Da Hongrie jouit dans cette branche du commerce d’une position privilégiée, grâce à l’abondance de ses forêts qui lui fournissent plus de 300.000 mètres cubes de plantes résineuses.

De Musée Commercial Royal Hongrois, fondé en 1887, est une institution gouvernementale très pratique pour favoriser le commerce à l’étranger. Grâce à de nombreux correspondants-agents disséminés dans le monde entier (il y en a 8 en Italie), le Musée donne des indications gratuites aux commerçants hongrois qui cherchent de nouveaux débouchés pour leurs produits et aux étrangers désireux d’entrer en relations d’affaires avec la Hongrie.

L’enseignement industriel est donné en Hongrie dans 501 écoles d’apprentis à 80.000 enfants qui ont l’intention d’embrasser la carrière industrielle, et dans 74 écoles professionnelles à plus de 10.000 élèves. Pour la protection des ouvriers il y a une Caisse Nationale d'Assurances ouvrières avec 865.280 adhérents qui, en 1909, ont versé environ 22 millions de couronnes.

Le gouvernement de la Hongrie, par la loi de 1907, assure la préférence dans les fournitures publiques à l’industrie nationale et accorde de grosses subventions pour favoriser la création de nouvelles industries dans le pays.

La Hongrie agricole. — Le pavillon de l’industrie, au moyen d’une terrasse qui, avec une belle vue sur le Pô et la colline, offre la distraction de la musique de tziganes d’un café-glacier hongrois, communique avec le pavillon de l’exposition agricole hongroise. Sur la façade, un Rédempteur mystique, entouré des brebis de son troupeau, nous introduit à l’exposition.

La Hongrie, quoiqu’elle ne soit plus, par suite de la concurrence de l’Amérique, le grenier du monde, est pourtant toujours un pays éminemment agricole et qui ne se transformera que par degrés en pays industriel.

Sur les 32.491.813 hectares du territoire hongrois, plus de 13 millions (le 42 %) sont cultivés en champs, 9 millions (28 %) en bois, 4 millions (12 %) en pâturages, 3 millions (10 %) en prés; il n’y a pas même 2 millions (5 %) de terres stériles.

Les céréales occupent plus des 3/4 (78 %) des champs cultivés. L’élevage du bétail, les chevaux, les bêtes à cornes, la race ovine, la race porcine, les volatiles forment la deuxième grande préoccupation de l’agriculture hongroise. Les éleveurs des bêtes à cornes remplacent peu à peu la race blanche hongroise, qui servait seulement pour le trait et pour la boucherie, par les races occidentales à lait abondant. L’exportation des œufs atteint 30 millions de couronnes par an.

Les agriculteurs hongrois ont senti tous les avantages de la coopération qui assure aux petits producteurs des prêts à un taux modéré, la vente directe de leurs produits, ainsi que l’acquisition directe des outils et des matières premières nécessaires à la culture. 1/Association générale des Crédits mutuels, créée seulement en 1888, compte déjà 579.079 adhérents répartis en 2206 communes. Le Syndicat coopératif des Cultivateurs hongrois, qui s’occupe de la vente des produits et de l’achat des outils pour ses membres, a un capital social de 862.600 couronnes. Le Syndicat coopératif de consommation et de vente Hangya (fourmi) compte 1000 succursales, avec 150.000 associés et un mouvement d’affaires de 35 millions. Les laiteries sociales sont au nombre de 558.

Pour l’enseignement agricole on a établi des cours spéciaux dans les écoles primaires; il y a aussi 21 écoles pratiques et 5 académies d’agronomie.

L’Association nationale d’Agriculture est l’organe officiel des agriculteurs.

La Hongrie a une troisième exposition dans la prairie vis-à-vis l’exposition principale: c’est l’Exposition des bois et des forêts, organisée par l’ingénieur Pfeiffer, inspecteur en chef. C’est une exposition originale, où les principaux bois que la Hongrie exporte en si grande quantité sont présentés dans l’état où on les met sur le marché. Un moulin à vent, tout en hêtre, a pour palettes deux paires de rames; c’est aussi une spécialité de l’exportation hongroise. Quatre antennes de hêtre, de chêne, de sapin et de pin nous montrent les arbres de la Hongrie à la hauteur qu’ils ont à vingt ans. Dans le pavillon central, on voit des troncs de chênes robustes de la longueur exacte — 18 mètres — employée dans la construction des wagons de chemin de fer. L’exposition des bois et des forêts hongrois occupe environ 400 mètres carrés.

L’exposition totale de la Hongrie occupe environ 8000 mètres carrés. Les travaux ont tous été exécutés sous le contrôle de l’ingénieur et architecte Jules Tôrôck; la délégation commerciale est confiée au docteur Nândor Vajkai, correspondant du Musée royal et commercial à Gênes.

Les présidents de la Commission exécutive hongroise sont MM. Nicolas Zsolnay, conseiller aulique, grand industriel, et François Chorin, membre de la Chambre des Magnats. M. le professeur Alfred Krolopp, commissaire adjoint et le docteur Jules Kovacs, conseiller aulique, directeur du Musée royal de commerce à Budapest, ont aussi collaboré à l’exposition.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911