International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Fashion Palace

Fashion Palace at the Exhibition Turin 1911

While we lingered at the Industrial Art and Modern City Exhibitions, a colourful and picturesque crowd had already invaded the rooms of the Fashion Palace. It is a crowd composed for the most part, understandably, of ladies; for them fashion, this skilful art of embellishment, has never called in vain. This time, however, the entire public, even the male public, will be interested in the exhibition, for it constitutes, along with the exhibition of the wonders of electricity which we shall visit later, the most attractive new feature of the exhibition.
This exhibition is the most attractive novelty, the last word in modernity, of the International Exhibition.

The purpose of this exhibition is to give fashion, which has been so variously and unfairly judged, its rightful place in modern life. Fashion, when we do not restrict it to the ways of dressing, but when we take it in the much broader and more comprehensive sense of decorating our homes with taste, has a function of educating society that no one can ignore. The house, with the layout of its rooms, with its furniture, with its ornaments, reveals the tastes and tendencies of the person who lives in it; the evocation of the Fashion Palace at our Exhibition will remain as a historical document of our intimate life at the beginning of the 20th century.

The Palazzo della Moda occupies the undulating meadow to the left of the entrance, with a beautiful view of the Po River and the Turin hills. This place, one of the most picturesque in the Valentin area, was for many years the home of the Swiss Dairy. The calm solitude, the cool mountainous meadows, the green and pretty landscape of the hills give the perfect illusion of the countryside. The Exhibition only added a new note of beauty with the palaces of the Argentine Republic, Latin America and Brazil, which on the other side of the river, opposite us, set their polychrome facades into the Po.

On entering the pavilion, the crowd of visitors is surprised to find themselves in front of another crowd, that of the actors. The idea of presenting animated fashion, by populating its enclosure with wooden mannequins and living figures, was an idea of genius; it is one of those inventions which are sufficient to make a section successful.

The vestibule, where all sorts of people are crowded together, reveals that today there is a reception in the palace. Between the bows of the servants and the stolid figures of the footmen, gentlemen and ladies disappear into the hallway, heading to the left. They enter the small tea room, extremely elegant in its intimacy, where the mistress of the house is surrounded by her friends in visiting costume.

Witty remarks, worldly indiscretions and artful tips pass the time; it's time to go to the next dining room. We enter just in time to admire the new evening gowns, highlighted by the lovely movements of the ladies as they take their seats at the table.

The festivities quickly died down; dinner was over; it was the next morning. First, in the adjoining dressing room, Madame does her hair; then she goes into the bedroom in her bathrobe and receives her children, who come to say hello to her and give them a motherly kiss.

The right wing of the pavilion surprises us with its original rooms of distinguished elegance. Let's cross the hallway; here is first of all the library, in the Louis XVI style, severe and collected. Then the buffet, animated by a group of gentlemen who are waiting for the moment to go into the adjoining dining room. After dinner, there is a concert in the large ballroom, where the gold-framed mirrors reflect the sparkle of the diamonds and the glittering reflections of the magnificent costumes.

The modern house is not only open for parties and welcomes not only friends of the parents. As one moves through the flat, one finds the salon and the bedroom of the mademoiselle, fresh with youth and grace in her morning dress; one finds the nursery, an English institution like its name, the quarter of the children who indulge with the gaiety of their age in their favourite games, among nannies covered with ribbons and lace and maids who strive in vain to bring some order and silence to this bustle.

The fashion palace has not yet said its last word to us with its double row of flats. In the circular partition that connects the right wing with the left wing of the pavilion, the secret of its dioramas is hidden. The dioramas, scenes of large dimensions, illuminated by a special play of light, with the foreground executed entirely in plastic, are one of the most modern expressions that art has created to give the spectator the absolute illusion of the animated real.

The fashion dioramas, painted by Georges Ceragioli and Jean Giani, are three in number. Going from right to left, after the nursery, we see first the diorama of the skating rink, then that of the paper-hunt, and finally that of the beach, with the rotunda of establishments populated by bathers. Naturally, these scenes of elegant life offer visitors the opportunity to admire the different ways of winter, summer and autumn.

The fashion palace, which already houses so many wonders of good taste, did not need to be very showy on the outside.
It is a quiet, simple mansion, 60 metres long and with a surface area of 1500 square metres, but it is recommended for its comfort, its beautiful country views and the practicality with which it was built and the interior layout of the flats was designed.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais de la Mode

Palais de la Mode à l'exposition de Turin 1911

Pendant que nous nous sommes attardés aux Expositions de l’Art Industriel et de la Ville Moderne, une foule bigarrée et pittoresque a déjà envahi les salles du palais de la Mode. C’est une foule composée en majeure partie, cela se comprend, de dames; pour elles la mode, cet art savant de s’embellir, n’a jamais lancé en vain ses appels. Cette fois pourtant tout le public, même le public masculin, s’intéressera à l’exposition, car celle-ci constitue, avec l’exposition des merveilles de l’électricité que nous visiterons
plus tard, la plus attrayante nouveauté, le dernier mot en fait de modernité, de l’Exposition Internationale.

Cette exposition a pour but de donner à la mode, si diversement et si injustement jugée, la place qui lui revient dans la vie moderne. La mode, quand on ne la restreint pas aux façons de l’habillement, mais quand on la prend dans le sens bien plus large et bien plus compréhensif d’orner nos maisons avec goût, a une fonction d’éducatrice de la société que personne ne peut méconnaître. La maison, avec la disposition des pièces, avec ses meubles, avec ses ornements révèle les goûts et les tendances de celui qui l’habite; l’évocation du palais de la Mode à notre Exposition restera comme un document historique de notre vie intime au commencement du XXe siècle.

Le palais de la Mode occupe la prairie ondulée qui s’étend à gauche de l’entrée; on y jouit d’une très belle vue sur le Pô et sur la colline turinoise. Cet endroit, un des plus pittoresques du Valentin, a abrité plusieurs années la Laiterie Suisse. La calme solitude, la fraîcheur montagneuse des prés, le paysage vert et joli des collines donnent la parfaite illusion de pleine campagne. L’Exposition n’a fait qu’y ajouter une nouvelle note de beauté avec les palais de la République Argentine, de l’Amérique Latine et du Brésil, qui sur l’autre rive, en face de nous, mirent dans le Pô leurs façades polychromes.

En entrant dans le pavillon, la foule des visiteurs est surprise de se trouver en face d’une autre foule, celle des acteurs. L’idée de présenter la mode animée, en peuplant son enceinte de mannequins de bois et de figures vivantes, a été une idée de génie; c’est là une de ces trouvailles qui suffisent à faire le succès d’une section.

Le vestibule où se pressent toutes sortes de gens, nous révèle qu’aujourd’hui il y a réception au palais. Entre les courbettes des domestiques et les figures compassées des valets de pied, messieurs et dames disparaissent dans le vestibule, en se dirigeant vers la gauche. Ils entrent dans le petit salon de thé, extrêmement élégant dans son intimité, où la maîtresse de maison est entourée de ses amies en costume de visite.

Les traits d’esprit, les indiscrétions mondaines et les pointes d'art font passer le temps; c’est l’heure de se rendre dans la salle à manger voisine. Nous y entrons juste à temps pour admirer les nouvelles toilettes de soirée, mises en évidence par les jolis mouvements des dames en train de prendre leurs places à table.

Les éclats de la fête s’éteignent vite; le dîner est fini; nous sommes au lendemain matin. D’abord, dans le cabinet de toilette voisin, madame se coiffe; puis elle passe en peignoir dans la chambre à coucher et y reçoit ses enfants qui viennent lui dire bonjour, en leur donnant un baiser maternel.

D’aile droite du pavillon nous étonne par ses pièces originales, d’une élégance distinguée. Traversons le vestibule; voici en premier lieu la bibliothèque, de style Louis XVI, sévère et recueillie. Puis le buffet, animé par un groupe de messieurs qui attendent le moment de passer dans la salle à manger contiguë. Après le dîner, concert dans la grande salle de bal, où les glaces aux cadres dorés se renvoient l’étincellement des diamants, les reflets scintillants des magnifiques toilettes.

La maison moderne n’est pas seulement ouverte aux fêtes et n’accueille pas seulement les amis et amies des parents. Un avançant dans l’appartement, on trouve le salon et la chambre à coucher de mademoiselle, fraîche de jeunesse et de grâce dans son costume du matin; on trouve la nursery, institution anglaise comme son nom, le quartier des enfants qui s’adonnent avec la gaîté de leur âge à leurs jeux favoris, parmi des nourrices couvertes de rubans et de dentelles et des bonnes qui s’efforcent en vain de mettre un peu d’ordre et de silence dans ce remue-ménage.

Le palais de la mode ne nous a pas encore dit son dernier mot avec la double rangée de ses appartements. Dans la cloison circulaire qui met en communication l’aile droite avec l’aile gauche du pavillon, est renfermé le secret de ses dioramas. Les dioramas, scènes de grandes dimensions, éclairées par un jeu de lumière spécial, avec le premier plan exécuté tout en plastique, sont une des expressions les plus modernes que l’art ait créées pour donner au spectateur l’illusion absolue du vrai animé.

Les dioramas de la mode, peints par MM. Georges Ceragioli et Jean Giani, sont au nombre de trois. Un allant de droite, à gauche, après la nursery, on voit d’abord le diorama de la patinoire, puis celui du paper-hunt, et enfin celui de la plage, avec la rotonde des établissements peuplés de baigneurs. Naturellement ces scènes de la vie élégante offrent aux visiteurs l’occasion d’admirer les différentes façons d’hiver, d’été et d’automne.

Le palais de la mode, qui abrite déjà tant de merveilles de bort goût, n’avait pas besoin d’être très voyant extérieurement.
Recueilli, tranquille comme une simple villa de maître, long de 60 mètres avec une superficie de 1500 mètres carrés, il se recommande plutôt par le confort, par la belle vue champêtre et par le sens pratique qui a présidé à sa construction et à la disposition intérieure des appartements.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911