International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

City of Turin

City of Turin at the Exhibition Expo Turin 1911

The City of Turin exhibition occupies the last pavilion of the decorative arts, towards the avenue of the Botanical Garden; its large dome is 47.50 metres high and its surface area is 1400 square metres.

With the rich and majestic façade of its pavilion, facing the park, Turin seems to welcome the cities and sister nations that have accepted its invitation and taken part in the international festival of industry and work.

The pavilion consists of a vast square hall, surrounded by a gallery, also square, with four advanced bodies in the centre on each side.

The exhibition is very interesting and will certainly be a subject of rational study and sincere praise by the Commissions sent by the other Municipalities. Turin, which has seen its population double in the last fifty years, has had to solve in this time the most difficult problems of urban management, from drinking water to sewage, from lighting to the transport of electric energy, from the establishment of workers', professional and industrial schools to the evacuation of the central districts deprived of air and light. The municipalization of a part of the electric tramways, pushed more and more towards the periphery; the construction of a new post office and telegraph building, of a new headquarters for the telephone company, the new bridge over the Po, are all questions that were still burning yesterday, that have agitated the population of Turin in the last few years and that the visitor finds completely resolved.

Among the drawings and albums on display, the plastic relief of the Riparian River basin and the
Dora Ripaire and the French border slope as far as Briançon and Modane, which was made on the express orders of the Electricity Company and the Municipal Railway Commission.

The relief map, made up of two panels, one measuring 1.90 x 2.30 metres and the other measuring 1 x 2.30 metres, includes the very long basin of the Dora Riparia and part of the basin of its tributaries.

The relief map in question makes it possible to follow on the ground the entire development of the municipal hydroelectric service, with the canal from Salbertrand to Chiomonte, where the central station operates, and with the transmission lines from Chiomonte to Turin.

The execution of the map was also decided upon by the permanent Railway Commission of the Municipality, because it is related to the question of the Alpine crossings around Turin. Naturally, the map includes the area where the new, gently sloping base tunnel from Modane to Exilles is to be opened; in this respect, the relief will be of great interest to France, which is just as interested in the new international tunnel as Italy.

The relief is on a scale of 1:25,000, for both planimetry and altimetry. It is the work of Mr. Dominique Locchi, a well-known and appreciated cartographer, who has produced other plastic reliefs, including: the Province of Turin, the Piossasco Quarries, the Apuan Alps, Lake Como, and Trentino, which will be on display in the various pavilions of the Exhibition.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ville de Turin

Ville de Turin à l'exposition de Turin 1911

L’exposition de la Ville de Turin occupe le dernier pavillon des arts décoratifs, vers l’avenue du Jardin botanique; sa grande coupole est haute de 47,50 mètres et sa superficie est de 1400 mètres carrés.

Avec la façade de son pavillon, riche et majestueuse, tournée vers le parc, Turin semble souhaiter la bienvenue aux villes et aux nations sœurs, qui ont accepté son invitation et ont pris part à la fête internationale de l’industrie et du travail.

Le pavillon est composé d’un vaste salon carré, entouré d’une galerie également carrée, avec quatre corps avancés au centre de chaque côté.

L’exposition est très intéressante et sera certainement un sujet d’étude rationnelle et de sincère éloge de la part des Commissions envoyées par les autres Municipalités. Turin qui a vu doubler sa population pendant les cinquante dernières années, a dû résoudre dans ce laps de temps les plus ardus problèmes de l’édilité urbaine, de l’eau potable aux égouts, de l’éclairage au transport de l’énergie électrique, de l’établissement des écoles ouvrières, professionnelles et industrielles à l’écheventrement des quartiers du centre privés d’air et de lumière. La municipalisation d’une partie des tramways électriques, poussés toujours plus vers la périphérie; la construction d’un nouveau palais des postes et des télégraphes, d’un nouveau siège pour la direction des téléphones, le nouveau pont sur le Pô, sont autant de questions brûlantes hier encore, qui ont agité ces dernières années la population turinoise et que le visiteur trouve complètement résolues.

Parmi les dessins et les albums exposés, il faut noter, à cause de son importance spéciale, le relief plastique du bassin de la
Doire Ripaire et du versant français de frontière jusqu’à Briançon et Modane, qui a été fait sur les ordres exprès de la Société électrique et de la Commission municipales des chemins de fer.

Le relief, formé de deux tableaux, l’un de 1,90 sur 2,30 mètres, l’autre de 1x2,30 m. comprend le bassin, très allongé, de la Doire Ripaire et une partie du bassin de ses affluents.

La carte en relief en question permet de suivre sur le terrain tout le développement de l’établissement du service hydro-électrique municipal, avec le canal de Salbertrand à Chiomonte, où fonctionne la station centrale, et avec les lignes de transmission de Chiomonte à Turin.

L’exécution de la carte fut aussi décidée par la Commission des chemins de fer permanente de la Municipalité, parce qu’elle se rattache à la question des passages des Alpes autour de Turin. Naturellement on y a compris la zone où devrait s’ouvrir le nouveau tunnel de base, à pente douce, de Modane à Exilles; sous cet aspect, le relief sera très remarqué par la France, aussi intéressée que l’Italie au nouveau tunnel international.

Le relief est à l’échelle de 1:25.000, pour la planimétrie comme pour l’altimétrie. C’est l’œuvre de M. Dominique Locchi, cartographe connu et apprécié, constructeur d’autres reliefs plastiques, entre autres: la Province de Turin, les Carrières de Piossasco, les Alpes Apuanes, le Lac de Côme, le Trentin, que nous trouverons exposés dans les différents pavillons de l’Exposition.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911