International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Modern City

Modern City at the Exhibition Turin 1911

The Palace of Decorative Art is more a collection of pavilions than a single pavilion. Here, after the exhibitions of industrial and Japanese art, we find the Modern City.

The modern city, by whatever name it is called, is, as a result of the colossal development of public services, an organism which is becoming more complicated and more ingenious every day, like a delicate clockwork.

The street, first of all, with its complex problems of paving, passage, cleanliness, lighting, embellishment by flowerbeds, gardens and fountains. The subsoil, with the tangled network of drinking water, gas, electricity, sewage and pneumatic pipes, which extend and cross in all directions with their gigantic tentacles. Above ground, the air, with the network of telegraph, telephone and electric wires that must give our squares, seen from above, the appearance of monstrous spider webs.

Streets, water, lighting, power for industry and transport represent only the material, animal, shall we say, life of the modern city. The intelligence and the spirit claim their share with the Schools, schools of all kinds and degrees, from the Nursery Schools to the Polytechnics and the Universities, from the classical schools to the working and professional schools; with the Libraries, with the Museums, with the cult of the Fine Arts. After the spirit, the heart, the human solidarity, the defence of the health of citizens, which is the most precious wealth of cities and states, with Public Hygiene, with Hospitals, with Beggar's and Charity Shelters, up to the cult of the dead, honouring the memory of illustrious citizens to stimulate the latent energies of the new generations.

The simple enumeration of the infinitely complex services that modern life has imposed on our cities, creating budgets of dozens of millions, is enough to demonstrate the usefulness and the novelty of this special exhibition.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ville Moderne

Ville Moderne à l'exposition de Turin 1911

Le palais de l’art décoratif est plutôt un ensemble de pavillons qu’un pavillon isolé. Là, après les expositions de l’art, industriel et de l’art japonais, nous trouvons la Ville Moderne.

La ville moderne, quel que soit son nom, est, par suite du colossal développement qu’ont pris les services publics, un organisme qui devient tous les jours plus compliqué et plus ingénieux, pareil à un délicat mécanisme d’horlogerie.

La rue, d’abord, avec ses problèmes complexes de pavement, de passage, de propreté, d’éclairage, d’embellissement par les plates-bandes, les jardins, les fontaines. Le sous-sol, avec le réseau enchevêtré des conduites d’eau potable de gaz, d’énergie électrique, d’égouts, de poste pneumatique, qui allongent et croisent en tous sens leurs tentacules gigantesques. Le dessus du sol, l’air, avec le réseau des fils télégraphiques, téléphoniques et électriques qui doivent donner à nos places, vues d’en-haut, l’aspect de monstrueuses toiles d’araignée.

Les rues, l’eau, l’éclairage, la force pour les industries et les transports ne représentent que la vie matérielle, animale, dirons-nous, dans la vie de la cité moderne. L’intelligence et l’esprit réclament leur part avec les Écoles, écoles de tous les genres et de tous les degrés, depuis les Ecoles Maternelles jusqu’aux Polytechniques et aux Universités, depuis les écoles classiques jusqu’aux écoles ouvrières et professionnelles; avec les Bibliothèques, avec les Musées, avec le culte des Beaux-Arts. Après l’esprit, le cœur, la solidarité humaine, la défense de la santé des citoyens, qui est la richesse la plus précieuse des villes et des états, avec l'Hygiène publique, avec les Hôpitaux, avec les Refuges de Mendicité, de Charité, jusqu’au culte des morts, honorant la mémoire des citoyens illustres pour stimuler les énergies latentes des nouvelles générations.

La simple énumération des services infiniment complexes que la vie moderne a imposés à nos villes, en y créant des budgets de douzaines de millions, suffit à démontrer toute l’utilité et toute la nouveauté de cette exposition spéciale.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911