International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Palace of Industrial Art

Palace of Industrial Art at the Exhibition Turin 1911

The entrance to the Valentino Park, at the corner of the Cairoli and Victor-Emmanuel II courtyards, near the monumental Humbert I bridge, also marks the main entrance to the Exhibition.

It is the most charming and rustic entrance, as befits a park. No triumphal arch, no portico of honour! Only a short colonnade, in the style of the 18th century, guarded by a few allegorical statues, such as one sees at the entrance to the princely villas of Lombardy and Rome. Groups of secular trees entwine their branches and foliage above us, weaving arcs of greenery across the sky. Far, far away is the modern city, with its noise and traffic, and we can dream freely in the poetry of the wood, in front of the green line of the hill, on the edge of the calm waters of the Po, already under the spell of the enchanting city we are going to visit.

On the right a great white palace, with high ridges and a bold dome crowned with a winged Victory, immediately attracts our attention.

This is the palace of Industrial Art, where decorative art has created a home worthy of it, before spreading its treasures over the entire park.

The avenue that leads to it ends in a large flowery space, surrounded by balustrades, brightened up by fountains that repeat their pleasant song, decorated with statues that smile on all sides. The building, examined closely, reveals a great movement of lines, an abundance of forms, an exquisite elegance of decorations, an incomparable variety of tones. It is the triumph of the tasteful baroque that could already be admired in the main entrance and in the Salon des Concerts at the National Exhibition of 1898; it has been erected here as a system; it has been subjected to the harsh discipline of constructive fantasy. The richness of style and decoration of the eighteenth century first appeared in Turin around 1650 with the works of Castellamonte and Lanfranchi, and reached its full development between 1680 and 1720 with Guarini and above all with Juvara.

The architects of the Exhibition - let's name them right away to give them credit - the engineers Fenoglio, Molli and Salvadori, made the entire Exhibition in the local style. This ingenious idea has two advantages: it gives the International Exhibition an indisputable character of artistic seriousness and it reveals the existence of Piedmontese architecture, full of ideals and originality.

The wide semicircular staircase leads to a gallery with interior colonnades which contains the large octagonal hall, decorated with circular niches in the corners, rich in decorations and statues, surmounted by the dome 45 metres high above the pavement. This octagon will remind many visitors of the analogous octagon of ceramics at the 1898 Exhibition, located at the intersection of six galleries.

In the octagon and the side galleries, the various branches of art applied to industry, such as metals, ceramics, furnishings and room decorations, are arranged in a methodical manner.

The galleries of the Palazzo delle Industrietà Artigiani extend and develop in an originally turbulent perimeter, through the groups of trees of the small mountain located at the corner of the Massimo d'Azeglio and Victor Emmanuel courtyards. These undulating groves form a fresh green setting, from which the Palace of Artistic Industries emerges, white and pretty, with its graceful and light lines.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Palais de l'Art Industriel

Palais de l'Art Industriel à l'exposition de Turin 1911

L’entrée du Parc du Valentin, à l’angle des cours Cairoli et Victor-Emmanuel II, près du pont monumental Humbert Ier, marque également l’entrée principale de l’Exposition.

C’est la plus charmante et la plus rustique des entrées, comme il convient à un parc. Pas d’arc de triomphe, pas de portique d’honneur ! A peine une courte colonnade, en style du XVIIIe siècle, gardée par quelques statues allégoriques, comme on en voit à l’entrée des villas princières de Lombardie et de Rome. Des groupes d’arbres séculaires enchevêtrent au-dessus, sur le fond du ciel, leurs branches et leurs feuillages, en tissant des arcs de verdure sur notre passage. Loin, très loin est la ville moderne, avec son bruit et son trafic, et nous pouvons rêver librement dans la poésie du bois, en face de la ligne verte de la colline, au bord des eaux tranquilles du Pô, déjà sous le charme de la ville enchanteresse que nous allons visiter.

A droite un grand palais blanc, aux faîtes élevés, à la coupole hardie couronnée d’une Victoire ailée, attire tout de suite notre attention.

C’est le palais de l’Art Industriel, où l’art décoratif a su se créer une demeure digne de lui, avant de répandre ses trésors sur le parc tout entier.

L’avenue qui y mène aboutit à un grand espace fleuri, entouré de balustrades, égayé par des fontaines qui redisent leur aimable chanson, décoré de statues qui sourient de tous côtés. L’édifice, examiné de près, révèle un grand mouvement de lignes, une abondante richesse de formes, une exquise élégance de décorations, une incomparable variété de tons. C’est le triomphe du baroque de bon goût qu’on pouvait déjà admirer dans l’entrée d’honneur et dans le Salon des Concerts à l’Exposition nationale de 1898; on l’a érigé ici en système; on l’a plié à la rude discipline de la fantaisie constructrice. C’est la richesse de style et de décorations du XVIIIe siècle qui a fait à Turin ses premières apparitions, vers 1650, avec les œuvres de Castellamonte et de Lanfranchi, pour atteindre, entre 1680 et 1720, son plein développement avec Guarini et surtout avec Juvara.

Les architectes de l’Exposition — nommons-les tout de suite pour leur faire honneur — les ingénieurs Fenoglio, Molli et Salvadori, ont fait l’Exposition tout entière dans le style du pays. Cette géniale idée a deux avantages: celui de donner à l’Exposition Internationale un caractère indiscutable de sérieux artistique et celui de révéler l’existence d’une architecture piémontaise, pleine d’idéal et d’originalité.

Le large escalier en hémicycle nous conduit à une galerie à colonnades intérieures qui renferme le grand salon octogonal, orné de niches circulaires dans les angles, riche de décorations et de statues, surmonté de la coupole haute de 45 mètres au-dessus du pavé. Cet octogone rappellera à bien des visiteurs l’octogone analogue de la céramique à l’Exposition de 1898, situé au croisement de six galeries.

Dans l’octogone et les galeries latérales sont disposées méthodiquement les diverses branches de l’art appliqué à l’industrie, comme métaux, céramiques, ameublements, décorations de pièces.

Les galeries du palais des industries artistiques se prolongent et se développent dans un périmètre originalement mouvementé, à travers les groupes d’arbres de la petite montagne située au coin des cours Massimo d’Azeglio et Victor-Emmanuel. Ces bosquets ondulés forment un cadre de fraîche verdure, d’où le palais des industries artistiques émerge, blanc et joli, avec ses lignes gracieuses et légères.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911