World's Fair Vienna 1873

Culture and Education

May 1, 1873 - October 31, 1873


Back - List of Pavilions

Salzburg Chalet

manque image

Where there was a rich collection of rustic dwellings of different nationalities, such as could be seen in the group of villages at the Exhibition, the chalet in the high mountains around Salzburg was certainly not to be missed. The building appears poor and unattractive in the midst of its surroundings of peasant houses, as befits a modest chalet. It is a sort of low thatched cottage, built of tree trunks, with a roof that protrudes very much in front and is reinforced with pieces of rock to resist the violence of the storm. This roof bears this inscription above the entrance: "This house is in the hand of God".

It has the sign "Au haut Göll" and indicates by this inscription the vicinity of the high mountain of rocks which rises to the sky, the proximity of the glaciers and the snowfields, which constitute the setting of this grandiose spectacle of nature, of which the small house which we reproduce forms one of the most interesting subjects.

And, now, do you like to enter this low hut which, at first glance, does not offer anything, we confess, very attractive? To know what it is worth, what it represents in terms of comfort, relative, it is true, you must have found yourself, on a dark night, without a guide, on the rocky and wooded slopes of the Wastmann or the Schafberg.
The wind whistles and bends the fir trees, throwing handfuls of rain in your face at times. The good road abandoned in the shadows, you have to climb ahead of you, at random, clinging to the branches, tearing at the stones, among the increasingly intense darkness. The lightning that strikes eight shows you the inextricable forest from all sides. When do we arrive? These solitudes may be visited by English tourists during the day, but at night they take on their sinister aspect. The gourd is already empty, so much did we need to regain courage! And always stones, branches, darkness. We try to laugh, to tell ourselves that we have undertaken an excursion recommended by the guide Joanne, but nothing helps. You feel lost in the dark, angry mountain! And so, with what joy, over there, beyond the fir trees, you see a ray of light. Where does it come from? From a little house like the one you despised earlier. Courage returns to the legs. You climb, you run out of breath, you arrive. You find yourself on a plateau with rocky knolls here and there. Five or six huts are scattered across this sort of plain. We run to the nearest one. It is very low, very puny, half sunk in the earth. We knock. The door opens. A young, fresh, fat mountain woman, with a piece of resinous candle in her hand, tells you to enter. A sort of gallery leads beyond the first entrance to the stable, where you hear the bell of a sleeping cow tinkling vaguely, as if in a dream. Here you are in the house. The house is a single room with no ceiling; the floor is a cellar floor. There is no fireplace. Your hostess throws some small pieces of wood on the large pine branches that serve as prams, and the smoke, after floating here and there in the house, finally finds its way out through an opening in the roof boards. The only furniture is a well-scrubbed fir shelf with bowls and milk spoons, and a board attached to the wall which serves as a table. The wood of the bed is very high, but the bed is very low, which produces a sort of dark cabinet where one undresses and dresses. Do not walk without covering your head; you will hit the floor of the second floor, or rather of the little loft where hay and straw are thrown for the children to sleep. It is all very poor, very dark, very squalid. Ah, the good, restful sleep, especially after the feast of milk and butter in the little hut on Gugleralp!

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chalet de Salzbourg



Là où se trouvait une riche collection d'habitations rustiques des différentes nationalités, telle qu'on a pu la voir dans le groupe des villages à l'Exposition, le chalet de la haute montagne des environs de Salzbourg ne devait assurément pas faire défaut. L'édifice parait, au milieu de son entourage de maisons de paysans, pauvre et de peu d'apparence, comme cela convient du reste à un modeste chalet. C'est une sorte de chaumière basse, construite avec des tronc d'arbres, dont le toit est très en saillie sur le devant et consolidé avec des morceaux de rochers pour résister aux violences de la tempête. Ce toit porte au-dessus de l'entrée cette inscription : "cette maison est dans la main de Dieu".

Elle a pour enseigne : "Au haut Göll" et indique par cet inscription le voisinage de la haute montagne de rochers qui monte jusqu'au ciel, la proximité des glaciers et des champs de neige, qui constituent la mise en scène de ce spectacle grandiose de la nature, dont la petite maisonnette que nous reproduisons forme un des sujets les plus intéressants.

Et, maintenant, vous plait-il d'entrer dans cette maisonnette basse qui, au premier coup d'oeil, n'offre rien, nous l'avouons, de bien attrayant? Pour savoir ce qu'elle vaut, ce qu'elle représente de confort, relatifs, il est vrai, il faut s'être trouvé, par une nuit noire, sans guide, sur les pentes rocheuses et boisées du Wastmann ou du Schafberg.
Le vent siffle et courbe les sapins, vous jetant, par moments, des poignées de pluie au visage. La bonne route abandonnée dans l'ombre, il faut monter devant soi, au hasard, s'accrochant aux branches, se déchirant aux pierres, parmi l'obscurité de plus en plus intense. L'éclair qui huit vous montre de toutes parts l'inextricable forêt. Quand arrive t-on? Ces solitudes ont beau, le jour, être visitées par des touristes anglais, elles reprennent, la nuit, leur aspect sinistre. La gourde est déjà vide, tant on a eu besoin de reprendre courage! Et toujours des pierres, des branches, des ténèbres. On essaye de rire, de se dire qu'on a entrepris une excursion conseillée par le guide Joanne, rien n'y fait. On se sent bien perdu parmi toute la montagne irritée et sombre! Aussi, avec quelle joie, là-bas, au delà des sapins, on aperçoit une raie de lumière. D'où sort-elle? D'une maisonnette pareille à celle que vous méprisiez tout à l'heure. Le courage revient aux jambes. On grimpe, on s'essouffle, on arrive. On se trouve sur un plateau bosselé çà et là de mamelons rocheux. Cinq ou six huttes sont éparses dans cette sorte de plaine. On court à la plus proche. Elle est bien basse, bien chétive, à demi enfoncée dans la terre. ON frappe. La porte s'ouvre. Une montagnarde, jeune, fraiche, grasse, un morceau de chandelle résineuse à la main, vous dit entrer. Une sorte de galerie règne au delà de la première entrée, conduisant à l'étable où vous entendez tinter vaguement, comme en songe, la clochette d'une vache endormie. Vous voilà dans la maison. La maison, c'est une seule chambre, sans plafond; le parquet, c'est un sol de cave. De cheminée, point. Sur de grosses branches de pin, qui tiennent lieu de landiers, votre hôtesse jette quelque menu bois, et la fumée, après avoir flotté çà et là dans la demeure finit par trouver sa voie et s'échapper grâce à une ouverture pratiquée dans les planches du toit. Pour tout meuble, une étagère de sapin bien frotté où s'étalent des écuelles, des cuillères à lait, et une planche assujettie au mur, e qui sert de table. Le bois de lit est très haut, mais la couche est très basse, ce qui produit une sorte de cabinet obscur où l'on se déshabille et s'habille. Ne marchez pas sans couver la tête; vous heurteriez du front le plancher du second étage, ou plutôt de la petite soupente où l'on jette du foin et de la paille pour le sommeil des enfants. Tout cela est bien pauvre, bien noir, bien sordide. Ah! le bon sommeil réparateur, surtout, après le festin de lait et de beurre, dans la petite hutte de la Gugleralp !

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873