World's Fair Vienna 1873

Culture and Education

May 1, 1873 - October 31, 1873


Back - List of Pavilions

Children's pavilion

manque image

The construction of the pavilion which was to contain everything connected with the feeding, care, maintenance and education of the child, from its birth to the beginning of its education at school, is now complete, and the installation of the objects which are to be included in it is already being undertaken.

Everyone is trying to equip this pavilion in such a way as to make it rich, interesting and instructive. The impatience with which women, in particular, await the opening of this new kind of exhibition, is therefore perfectly justified by the prospect of seeing there things most worthy of attention.

All the care and tenderness which is usually applied to childhood will be found, one may be sure, in the complete arrangement of this pavilion.

The building, situated on the right, in front of the courtyard pavilion, is airy, light and spacious; the rooms and halls are very high, and receive light both from above and from the side. The middle of the pavilion consists of a large hall; at its two ends are added two smaller rooms. From the middle of the hall, one enters a wing containing three other rooms. The large room is used for the display of all objects related to the life and occupations of the child; the smaller rooms are devoted to more special exhibitions.

The pavilion has not yet been arranged in all its parts, but in sum it already gives an idea of what will be seen in detail later on.

The general management has entrusted Dr. Jules Hirsch, well known for his love of children and a distinguished writer, with the organisation of this exhibition, and this is an excellent guarantee that the programme will be faithfully executed. The layout has been entrusted to Mr. Weber, the architect who built the pavilion.

The centre of the large hall is occupied by a large Christmas tree, decorated and furnished in such a way as to delight a host of little people and to offer everyone something pleasant and useful. On the walls of the room are tables, on which are arranged articles of lingerie and children's clothing for all ages and all countries, according to their respective uses. The variety of these objects makes for a most attractive and instructive display.

Finally, this group is joined by an exhibition of children's furniture, with cradles and chairs of various shapes, as well as small carriages for walking these charming creatures.

Let us not forget that the Christmas tree is surrounded by tables full of toys and all those thousand things that occupy the good men of this age.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon de l'enfant



La construction du pavillon qui devait contenir tout ce qui a rapport à la nourriture, aux soins, à l'entretien et à l'éducation de l'enfant, à partir de sa naissance, jusqu'au commencement de son instruction à l'école, est dès à présent terminée, et on s'occupe déjà de commencer l'installation des objets qui doivent y figurer.

Chacun cherche à doter ce pavillon de manière à le rendre riche, intéressant et instructif. Aussi l'impatience avec laquelle les femmes, particulièrement, attendent l'ouverture de cette exposition d'un genre nouveau, est elle parfaitement justifiée par la perspective d'y voir réunies des choses les plus dignes d'attirer l'attention.

Tout le soin et la tendresse qui s'appliquent d'ordinaire à l'enfance se retrouveront, on peut en être sûr, dans l'arrangement complet de ce pavillon.

Le bâtiment, situé à droite, devant le pavillon de la cour, est aéré, clair et spacieux; les chambres et les salles sont très élevés, et elles reçoivent le jour à la fois d'en haut et par le côté. Le milieu du pavillon est formé d'une grande salle; à ses deux extrémités sont ajoutées deux chambres plus petites. Du milieu de la salle, on entre dans une aile contenant trois autres chambres. La grande salle sert à l'exposition de tous les objet qui ont un rapport avec la vie et les occupations de l'enfant; les plus petites chambres sont consacrées à des expositions plus spéciales.

L'arrangement du pavillon n'est pas encore fixé dans toutes les parties, mais en somme il permet déjà d'avoir une idée de ce que l'on y verra en détail par la suite.

La direction générale à chargée le Dr Jules Hirsch, bien connu par son amour pour les enfants et écrivain distingué, de l'organisation de cette exposition, et c'est là une excellente garantie, à coup sûr, de la fidèle exécution du programme. L'agencement en a été confié à M. Weber, l'architecte qui à bâti le pavillon.

Le centre de la grande salle est occupé par un grand arbre de Noël, décoré et garni de manière à réjouir une foule de petits êtres et pour offrir à chacun quelque chose d'agréable et d'utile. Aux murs de la salle sont fixées des tables, sur lesquelles se trouvent rangés des articles de lingerie et d'habillements d'enfant pour tous les âges et de tous les pays, suivant leurs usages respectifs. La diversité de ces objets permet d'espérer une exhibition des plus attrayante et des plus instructives.

A ce groupe enfin, est jointe une exposition de meubles d'enfants, avec des systèmes de berceaux et de chaises de diverses formes, ainsi que des petites voitures pour promener ces charmantes créatures.

N'oublions pas surtout que l'arbre de Noël est entouré de tables chargées de jouets et de tous ces mille riens qui occupent les bons hommes de cette âge.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873