World's Fair Vienna 1873

Culture and Education

May 1, 1873 - October 31, 1873


Back - List of Pavilions

Mont Cenis Tunnel

manque image

Italy, which has already shone at the Vienna Exhibition with magnificent artistic products (beautiful works of sculpture in marble and wood, superb mosaics, admirable vases in majolica from Bologna), has also entered the universal competition of nations, in the field of technical productions, with one of the most grandiose enterprises of modern times. It was a very good idea for the management of the Upper Italian Railway to have a model of the Mont Cenis tunnel through the Alps built in the Prater Palace, a gigantic work completed in 1871 with the help of France. This facsimile of the Mont Cenis tunnel is built through the galleries of Switzerland and Italy; the rough part of the work is finished, it represents the southern entrance of the tunnel near Bardonnèche. The stone opening door is imposing and reminds by its massive dimensions the colossal constructions of ancient Egypt. However, whereas the pyramids of the Pharaohs are perpetual monuments of despotism and egoism, the Mont-Cenis breakthrough is the most brilliant testimony and triumph of the combined efforts of science and technical art for the good of humanity.

The execution of the model, in Vienna, was directed, under the orders of the railway management, by the engineer Giovanni del Favore, who made a very faithful copy of the magnificent creation of the three renowned engineers: Sommelier, Gratoni and Grandis. Nothing has been left out of this reduced tunnel, not even the cabin or pavilion at the entrance, where the guards and railway workers are located. When the interior is finished, the Express engine with its tender, a van with a gas tank, and a wagon with beds will be placed inside.

The Exhibition Tunnel has been open to visitors since 26 May, and naturally attracts many people, eager to enjoy the charm of walking through such a gigantic tunnel...., in a very short time. Those who have seen the original have said that the copy is very well done.

In order to give our readers an idea of this gigantic work, we place before their eyes the following figures: the real and effective length of the tunnel is 12233.55 metres, the southern opening is situated at a height of 1291.52 metres; that of the north at 1158.96 metres; the highest point is 1294.59 metres above the sea. There is room for two rails, and trains can run freely, with sufficient space for ventilation. The diameter of the sleeper forms a basket arch, with seven centres, the widest of which is eight metres. The height of the gallery, from the ground to the stones of the vault, is six metres.

The entire tunnel, with one very small exception, is lined with stone; 120,000 cubic metres of stone, 16,000 metres of bricks and 20,000 quintals of lime were used for this masonry work. A total of 3333 cubic metres of material was extracted from the quarries and mines. The mass of gunpowder burnt for this extraction represents more than one million kilograms.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tunnel du Mont-Cenis



L'Italie, qui brille déjà à l'Exposition de Vienne par de magnifiques produits artistiques (de très belles oeuvres de sculptures en marbre et en bois, des mosaïques superbes, d'admirables vases en majolique de Bologne), est aussi entrée dans le concours universel des nations, sur le terrain des productions techniques, avec une des plus grandioses entreprises des temps modernes. C'est une très heureuse idée qu'a eue la direction du chemin de fer de la haute Italie, de faire édifier dans le Palais du Prater un modèle de percement des Alpes par le Mont-Cenis, cette oeuvre gigantesque achevée en 1871 avec le concours de la France. Ce fac-similé du tunnel du Mont-Cenis est établi à travers les galeries de la Suisse et de l'Italie; la partie brute du travail est terminée, il représente l'entrée sud du tunnel près de Bardonnèche. La porte d'ouverture en pierre est imposante et rappelle par ses dimensions massives les colossales constructions de l'ancienne Egypte. Seulement, tandis que les pyramides des Pharaons sont des monuments perpétuels de despotisme et d'égoïsme, la percée du Mont-Cenis est l'éclatant témoignage et le plus grand triomphe des efforts combinés de la science et de l'art technique, pour le bien de l'humanité.

L'exécution du modèle, à Vienne, a été dirigée, sous les ordres de la direction du chemin de fer, par l'ingénieur Giovanni del Favore, qui a fait une copie très fidèle de la magnifique création des trois ingénieurs si renommés : Sommelier, Gratoni et Grandis. Dans ce tunnel en réduction, on n'a rien oublié, pas même la cabine ou pavillon qui est à l'entrée et où se trouvent les gardiens, avec des ouvriers du chemin de fer. Quand l'intérieur sera fini, on y placera la machine de l'Express avec son tender, un fourgon avec un réservoir à gaz, et un wagon avec lits.

Le tunnel de l'Exposition est ouvert aux visiteurs depuis le 26 mai, et attire naturellement beaucoup de monde, désireux de jouir du charme de franchir, à pied, un tunnel aussi gigantesque…., en très peu de temps. Les personnes qui ont vu l'original affirme, du reste, que la copie est très bien réussie.

Afin de donner à nos lecteur une idée de ce gigantesque travail, nous mettons sous leurs yeux les chiffres suivants: la longueur réelle et effective du tunnel est de 12233,55 mètres, l'ouverture du sud est située à une hauteur de 1291, 52 mètres; celle du nord à 1158,96 mètres; le point culminant est à 1294,59 mètres au dessus de la mer. Il y a la place pour deux rails, et les trains peuvent circuler librement, avec un espace suffisant pour la ventilation. Le diamètre du travers forme un arc à corbeille, avec sept centres, dont la plus grande largeur est de huit mètres. La hauteur de la galerie, à partir du sol jusqu'aux pierres de la voûte, comporte six mètres.

Tout le tunnel, à une très petite exception, est revêtu de pierres; pour ce travail de maçonnerie, il a été employé 120000 mètres cubes de pierres, 16000 mètres de briques et 20000 quintaux de chaux. On a extrait, ensemble, des carrières et des mines 3333 mètres cubes de matériaux. La masse de poudre brûlée, pour cette extraction, représente plus d'un million de kilogrammes.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873