World's Fair Vienna 1873

Culture and Education

May 1, 1873 - October 31, 1873


Back - List of Pavilions

Swedish Hunting Pavilion

Swedish Hunting Pavilion at the Exhibition Vienna 1873

The undeniable purpose of a hunting pavilion is to house the hunters and to shelter the hunting utensils.

This is as clear as the sunlight and many readers will wonder why we place this very profound definition of a "hunting pavilion" at the beginning of these lines. Well, if this definition is completely superfluous, let us go into this so-called "hunting pavilion" which is placed next to the Swedish school. Probably we will find some hunting utensils there?
Well, let's see!

The exterior of the pavilion is very nice. The little tower is pretty, the ramp to climb up is very graceful, and excites our interest enough, from the point of view of form. But if we want to go further in and climb the stairs, a sign says: "No entry".

There are only two small rooms, which are accessible to the public. They have been filled with women's work (embroidery, woolen knitting, crochet work, etc.). All this is not a masterpiece, Swedish Octavio! For what purpose embroidered petticoats or children's bonnets are to be found in a hunting pavilion, we cannot possibly understand. Pavilions like those shown in the picture have not yet been introduced in Sweden; there are only three in the whole country.

The Swedish schools have provided such a wealth of material for the Exhibition that some educational institutions have been forced to seek shelter in the hunting pavilion. It must be said, moreover, that this double kingdom of the North is well represented at the Exhibition, which proves well in its honour. The Swedish school house, the hunting pavilion and the war pavilion, the fishermen's house, part of the Rotunda, the Swedish gallery, and the Swedish restaurant represent Sweden and Norway in the richest possible way.
But above all it is the Swedish public education, which will have a great future in this country.

But despite all this, we do not find a single object that reminds us of hunting, which is the name of this pavilion, and on the other hand, there are many handicrafts made by women. Women are honoured, but not in hunting pavilions!

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon de Chasse Suédois


Pavillon de Chasse Suédois à l'exposition de Vienne 1873

Un pavillon de chasse a pour but incontestable d'héberger les chasseurs et d'abriter les ustensiles de chasse.

Cela est clair comme la lumière du soleil et maint lecteur se demandera, tout étonné, pourquoi nous plaçons cette définition, très profonde, d'un "pavillon de chasse" en tête de ces lignes. Eh bien! si cette définition est tout à fait superflue, entrons un peu dans ce soi-disant "pavillon de chasse" qui est placé à côté de l'école Suédoise. Probablement nous y trouverons des ustensiles de chasse?
Eh bien, voyons!

L'extérieur du pavillon est très gentil. La petite tour est coquette, la rampe à monter, fort gracieuse, excite assez notre intérêt, au point de vue de la forme. Mais si nous voulons pénétrer davantage et monter l'escalier, une affiche nous dit : "Entrée défendue"

Il n'y a que deux petites chambres, qui soient accessibles au public. On les a remplies de travaux de femme (broderies, tricots de laine, ouvrages au crochet, etc.). Tout cela n'est point un chef-d'oeuvre, Octavio Suédois! Car nous ne pouvons absolument pas comprendre dans quel but il se trouve des jupons brodés ou des bonnets d'enfant dans un pavillon de chasse. Des pavillons comme ceux que le dessin nous montre ne sont pas encore introduits en Suède; il n'y en a que trois dans le pays entier.

Les écoles Suédoises ont fourni un si riche matériel à l'Exposition, que quelques institutions pédagogiques ont été forcées de chercher asile dans le pavillon de chasse. Il faut du reste, dire que ce double royaume du Nord est bien représenté à l'Exposition, ce qui prouve bien en son honneur. La maison d'école Suédoise, le pavillon de chasse et celui de la guerre, la maison des pêcheurs, une partie de la Rotonde, la galerie suédoise, et le restaurant suédois représentent la Suède et la Norvège on ne peut plus richement.
Mais c'est surtout l'instruction publique suédoise, qui aura dans ce pays un grand avenir.

Mais, malgré tout cela, nous ne trouvons pas un seul objet qui rappelle la chasse, dont ce pavillon porte le nom, et par contre beaucoup de produits manuels des femmes. Honneur aux femmes, oui, mais pas dans les pavillons de chasse!

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873