Back - List of Pavilions

Austrian Ministry of Agriculture -

Austrian Ministry of Agriculture at the Exhibition Expo Vienna 1873

This pavilion is situated between the Palais de l'Industrie and the Halle aux Machines; it is distinguished by a beautiful style, which corresponds to the rural character that the building should have, and by a grandiose and picturesque interior that awakens the most pleasant ideas.

The Ministry of Agriculture had the task of showing itself at the Exhibition, first as a producer, then as a model of education for the entire monarchy. It is well known that the State has reserved for itself the production of salt and tac, and that the mines are its property. The great influence of the Ministry of Agriculture in a country like Austria, where the rural population predominates and whose products are of incalculable value to the whole world, is clearly shown in this Exhibition.

Something extraordinary was to be expected under the administration of the present Minister of Agriculture, Count Chlumetzky, a man of high learning and whose economic knowledge is of the greatest value. We must make sure that this expectation has not been deceived.

If only the collection of 200 ploughs were on display, it would already be enough to arouse our interest. This plough museum not only represents a large number of ploughs, but also a great variety of forms. It is both historical and ethnographic. The craftsman finds in it an inexhaustible source of study and cannot help admiring this series of perfected work.

All the nations and peoples of this country and abroad have contributed to this collection, of which one of the most beautiful ornaments is undoubtedly the Emperor Joseph's plough, a very ordinary instrument in fact, with which H. M. once set to work. M. once set to work in a Moravian field to help a peasant with his work.

We then see the products of salt works and mines, in great quantities and in great variety: dark-coloured blocks from a salt pit, almost resembling rocks, as well as crystals which could easily be mistaken for rock crystal; all these beautiful things, and even chandeliers, are made from crystallised salt. It is also very curious to see the different colours of salt: pink, blue, lilac, as well as their various shapes.

We also find tobacco, in great variety, and this is a product in which Austria can compete with the most formidable competitors.

There is also a large block of raw silver, weighing several quintals, from the mines of Przilbram, worth 125,000 francs, which is the object of special attention from the public. But the cauldron filled with quicksilver (mercury), which is one metre in diameter and in which a massive cannonball weighing 50 kilos is floating, is in serious competition with it. Our readers will remember that this mercury comes from the imperial mines of Idria (Illyria).

The forestry section is also very well represented, with samples of wood of different species and collections of harmful animals, which exert their ravages especially in the forests. This is a very useful and instructive work.

In this pavilion, the culture of vigilance occupies a favourable place. There is a very detailed and well-done wine map.

The whole exhibition is so clearly arranged, so explicit and at the same time so picturesque that the pavilion of the Austrian Ministry of Agriculture is one of the most popular in the Prater and leaves an indelible impression on visitors.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ministère de l'Agriculture d'Autriche


Ministère de l'Agriculture d'Autriche à l'exposition de Vienne 1873

Ce pavillon est situé entre le Palais de l'Industrie et la Halle aux machines; il se distingue par un beau style, qui répond au caractère champêtre que doit remporter l'édifice, et par un intérieur grandiose et pittoresque qui éveille les idées les plus agréables.

Le Ministère de l'Agriculture avait pour tâche de se montrer, à l'Exposition, d'abord comme producteur, ensuite comme modèle de l'instruction pour la monarchie entière. On sait que l'Etat s'est réservé la production du sel et du tac, et que les mines sont sa propriété. La grande influence que possède le Ministère de l'Agriculture, dans un pays comme l'Autriche, où la population rurale prédomine et dont les produits sont d'une valeur incalculable pour le monde entier, s'accuse d'ailleurs clairement dans cette Exposition.

On devait s'attendre à quelque chose d'extraordinaire sous l'administration du Ministère actuel de l'Agriculture, M. le comte de Chlumetzky, homme d'une haute instruction et dont les connaissances économiques sont de la plus grande valeur. Nous devons faire que cette attente n'a pas été trompée.

Quand il n'y aurait que la collection des 200 charrues qui y sont exposées, ce serait déjà suffisant pour exciter notre intérêt. Ce musée des charrues ne représente pas seulement un chiffre important, mais encore une grande variété de formes. Il est en même temps historique et ethnographique. L'homme du métier y trouve une source inépuisable d'études et ne peut s'empêcher d'admirer cette série d'un travail perfectionné.

Toutes les nations, tous les peuples de ce pays et de l'étranger ont contribué à cette collection, dont un des plus beaux ornements est sans contredit la Charrue de l'Empereur Joseph, instrument très ordinaire du reste, avec lequel S. M. se mit un jour à travailler, dans un champ de la Moravie, pour aider un paysan dans son ouvrage.

Nous y voyons, ensuite, les produits des salines et des mines de sel, en grandes quantités et très variés : des blocs des couleur foncée, provenant d'une fosse à sel et ressemblant presque à des rochers, ainsi que des cristaux qu'on prendrait facilement pour du cristal de roche; toutes ces belles choses, et même des lustres, sont faites avec du sel cristallisé. Il est aussi très curieux de voir les différentes couleurs du sel : rose, bleu, lilas, ainsi que leurs formes variées.

Nous y trouvons encore le tabac, en grande variété, et c'est un produit pour lequel l'Autriche peut se mesurer avec les concurrents les plus redoutables.

Il y a aussi un gros bloc en argent brut, de plusieurs quintaux, provenant des mines de Przilbram, d'une valeur de 125000 francs, qui est l'objet d'une attention toute spéciale de la part du public. Mais le chaudron rempli d'argent vif (mercure), qui a un mètre de diamètre et dans lesquels surnage un boulet de canon massif, d'un poids de 50 kilos, lui fait une sérieuse concurrence. Nos lecteurs se rappellent que ce mercure provient des mines impériales d'Idria (Illyrie).

La partie forestière y est également très bien représentée, par des échantillons de bois de différents essences et des collections d'animaux nuisibles, qui exercent spécialement leurs ravages dans les forêts. C'est là une oeuvre très utile et très instructive.

La culture de la vigie occupe, dans ce pavillon, une place favorable. On y remarque notamment une carte vinicole très détaillée et fort bien faite.

L'ensemble de cette exposition dénote enfin un arrangement et une méthode si claires, si explicites et en même temps si pittoresque, que le pavillon du Ministère de l'Agriculture autrichienne compte parmi les plus fréquentés du Prater et laisse aux visiteurs un souvenir ineffaçable.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873