Back - List of Pavilions

Turkish Coffee -

Turkish Coffee at the Exhibition Expo Vienna 1873

It is the most frequented Turkish café of all those oriental buildings which enjoy such great public affection.

It is situated opposite the Viceroy's Palace, between the Turkish Bazaar and the Persian Villa.

It is a square building, surrounded by an open gallery, accessible by steps.

The interior contains sideboards, the fireplace, and along the walls are wide red couches, and tables and chairs fill the gallery and terrace. The decoration of the room is entirely oriental; the ceiling is painted in colour, the sun's rays are filtered by coloured stained glass windows, and one assumes that the inevitable Koranic sentences are not missing.

If one has ever heard from travellers in the East what a strange tumult and crowd is stirred up in cafés, especially in Constantinople, and if one has heard the interesting and picturesque description of a Turkish café, one will easily get an idea of the original picture which this Oriental establishment, frequented almost exclusively by Westerners, produces on visitors. The contrast is striking, for the coffee is served to Western guests by Oriental waiters. There are native Turks, in national costume, near the fireplace formed by a shelf, on which water is boiling in a pot. This water is poured into small coffee-pots which contain the powdered coffee, and the Turks walk between the tables shouting, from time to time: Café Turc! Turkish coffee!

Another invites visitors to help themselves to long-pipe chibouks made of jasmine wood.

The coffee, prepared in the Turkish style, is not separated from the grounds and is contained in small silver cups, ovoid in shape.

Through the windows and doors, one can only see Egyptian, Turkish and Persian constructions, so that one easily gives in to the illusion of being in the middle of Turkey.

This Turkish cafe owner had first tried to embellish his black flotsam with Greek boys, but the jackets with fobs, the fez and the coloured belt over the wide trousers, did not seem to attract enough people. So the idea came to him to introduce a service of young women to provide a real Turkish picture. The only thing missing was Turkish women. But the Golden Horn is still quite far from Vienna, and the real Turkish women had difficulty leaving their harems. But our man was very determined and had Circassian, Greek and Albanian women made at the tailor's and then looked for Viennese women, which he took wherever he could find them.

His café was soon transformed, and everyone was astonished to see twelve Zulmas, Zoës, Scheherazades, twelve Turks in wool and silk, well coloured; this café worked with or rather by the Viennese-Turks, or the Turkish-Viennese, which could not be better. A little gaiety in the quarter of the silent Orientals was not to be despised.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Café Turc


Café Turc à l'exposition de Vienne 1873

C'est le café turc que l'on fréquente le plus, de tous ces édifices orientaux qui jouissent d'une si grande affection du public.

Il se trouve placé vis-à-vis le palais du Vice-Roi, entre le bazar turc et la villa persane.

C'est un bâtiment carré, entouré d'une galerie ouverte, accessible par des marches d'escalier.

L'intérieur contient des buffets, le foyer, et le long des murs s'étendent de larges divans rouges, enfin des tables et des chaises remplissent la galerie et la terrasse. La décoration de la salle est entièrement orientale; le plafond est peint en couleur, les rayons du soleil sont tamisés par des vitraux de couleur, et l'on suppose bien qu'il n'y manque pas les inévitables sentences du Koran.

Si l'on a déjà entendu dire, par les voyageurs en Orient, quel tumulte étrange et quelle foule s'agite dans les cafés, surtout à Constantinople, et si l'on a entendu la description intéressante et pittoresque d'un café turc, on se fera facilement une idée du tableau original que cet établissement oriental, fréquenté presque exclusivement par les Occidentaux, produit sur les visiteurs. Le contraste saute aux yeux, car le café est servi aux hôtes occidentaux par des garçons orientaux. Il y a des Turcs indigènes, en costume national, près du foyer formé par une étagère, sur laquelle l'eau bout placée dans une chaudière. Cette eau est versée dans de petites cafetières qui contiennent le café en poudre, et les Turcs se promènent entre les tables en criant, de temps en temps : Café Turc! Café Turc!

Un autre invite les visiteurs à se servir de tchibouks à longs tuyaux en bois de jasmin.

Le café, préparé à la turque, n'est pas séparé du marc, et il est contenu dans de petites tasses en argent, de forme ovoïdale.

Par les fenêtres et par les portes, on ne voit que des construction égyptiennes, turques et persanes, de sorte que l'on s'abandonne facilement à l'illusion de se trouver en pleine Turquie.

Ce cafetier à la Turque avait d'abord essayé d'embellir ses flots noirs par des garçons grecs, mais les vestons avec brandebourgs, le fez et la ceinture de couleur au-dessus du pantalon large, ne lui semblèrent pas attirer assez de monde. Alors l'idée lui vint d'introduire un service de jeunes femmes pour fournir un vrai tableau turc. Il n'y manquait que des turques. Mais la corne d'or est encore assez loin de Vienne, et les vraies turques faisaient des difficultés pour quitter leurs harems. Mais notre homme étant très résolu, fit fabriquer des Circassiennes, des Grecques, des Albanaises chez le tailleur et chercha ensuite des Viennoises, qu'il prit là où il les trouva.

Son café fut vite transformé, et tout le monde était étonné de voir douze Zulmas, Zoës, Scheherazades, douze Turcques en laine et soie, bien colorées; ce café marcha avec ou plutôt par les Viennoises-Turques, ou les Turques-Viennoises, on ne peut mieux. Un peu de gaieté dans le quartier des Orientaux silencieux, n'était pas du reste à dédaigner.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873