World's Fair Vienna 1873

Culture and Education

May 1, 1873 - October 31, 1873


Back - List of Pavilions

Imperial Ottoman Treasury

Imperial Ottoman Treasury at the Exhibition Vienna 1873

This pavilion, built in the most graceful Oriental style, is of iron, and contains objects which will scarcely be equalled in value at the Exhibition. It is the first time that the Sultan's treasure is thus presented unhindered to the eyes of Europeans and ordinary mortals.

Everything that fantasy dreamed of in the Sultan's treasures, everything that is found in the tales of the Thousand and One Nights and gives them so much charm, is here revealed to the eyes of the whole world. The treasure was transported to Vienna in two hundred boxes.

As long as the Exhibition was not yet open, the treasure was placed in the custody of the imperial gendarmerie in the Hofburg, and was temporarily guarded by the Burg guard who provided security, and also by the Turks who had accompanied it.

The value given to the Sultan's treasure is at least 200 million florins, or 500 million francs. All this is only a rough estimate and forms only a part of what belongs to the Sultan of Turkey.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Trésor Impérial Ottoman


Trésor Impérial Ottoman à l'exposition de Vienne 1873

Ce pavillon construit dans le style oriental le plus gracieux, est en fer et contient des objets qui ne trouveront guère d'équivalence à l'Exposition relativement à leur valeur. C'est la première fois que le trésor du Sultan se présente ainsi sans entrave aux yeux des Européens et des mortels ordinaires.

Tout ce que la fantaisie rêva des trésors duSultan, tout ce qui se trouve dans les contes des mille et une nuits et leur donne tant de charme, se trouve ici dévoilé aux regards de tout le monde. Le trésor a été transporté à Vienne dans deux cents caisses.

Tant que l'Exposition n'était pas encore ouverte, le trésor a été mis sous la garde de la gendarmerie impériale, dans la Hofburg, et a été provisoirement surveillé par la garde de Burg qui fit le service de sureté, et aussi par les turcs qui l'avaient accompagné.

La valeur qu'on donne au trésor du Sultan est d'au moins 200 millions de florins, soit 500 millions de francs. Tout cela n'est qu'une estimation approximative et ne forme qu'une partie de ce qui appartient au sultan de Turquie.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873