Back - List of Pavilions

Alsatian Farm -

Alsatian Farm at the Exhibition Expo Vienna 1873

We shall refrain from accompanying the description of the Alsatian farm with any political allusion.
It is a model of rustic industry, placed in the Prater, like so many others, and we shall imitate the placidity of the peasant, a natural supporter of the logic of accomplished facts. The field fattened with blood provides him with more abundant wheat. Now he quietly ploughs the furrows where yesterday death reaped, and if, by chance, his plough, while digging the ground, has uncovered a skull, he signs himself piously, reassures the frightened horses by speaking softly to them, and continues his work of blessing. The work of the nurturer of mankind is so sacred that nothing should distract him from his work. Everything greens and blooms in Alsace, after as before, and the sun shines on the green carpet of the meadow undulated by the burial mounds of the buried soldiers. The hop sticks broken by the cuirassiers of Reischoffen in their desperate charge are already replaced by others ready to serve as a support for the perennial plant, and horses with shiny bellies graze in the meadows which still show, here and there, the feet of badly buried horses.

The houses of the Alsatian peasants are similar to the farmhouses of Swabia; they are composed of one floor and a garret, which serves as a bedroom for the peasant's young daughter, a precaution which prevents appointments at the window.

At present all these facsimiles of dwellings are bodies without souls. Once the Exhibition is opened, when the dried yellow corn is hung in long festoons below the cornices, when the box branch blessed at Easter is tied above the front door, when the young Alsatian girl, with her developed breast, with her black hairdo resembling a gigantic butterfly, where the tricolour cockade shines out of patriotic coquetry, will invite you, in passing, to taste her Strasburger Knofle (Flour dumpling), you will be charmed and you will then visit with sympathy this living memory of the farms of Alsace.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ferme Alsacienne


Ferme Alsacienne à l'exposition de Vienne 1873

Nous nous garderons bien d’accompagner la description de la ferme d’Alsace, d’aucune allusion politique.
C’est un modèle de l’industrie rustique, placé au Prater, comme tant d’autres, et nous imiterons la placidité du paysan, partisan naturel de la logique des faits accomplis. Le champ engraissé de sang lui fournit un blé plus abondant. Maintenat il laboure tranquillement les sillons où hier la mort a récolté et si, par hasard, sa charrue en fouillant le sol, a mis à nu un crane, il se signe pieusement, rassure les chevaux effrayés en leur parlant en douceur, et il continue son œuvre de bénédiction. Le travaiul du nourrisseur de l’humanité est si sacré que rien ne doit le détourner de son œuvre. Tou verdoie et fleurit en Alsace, après comme avant, et le soleil rayonne sur le tapis verdoyant de la prairie ondulée par les tumuli des soldats enterrés. Les bâtons à houblon brisés par les cuirassiers de Reischoffen, dans leur charge désespérée, sont déjà remplacés par d’autres prêts à servir d’appui à la plante vivace, et des chevaux au ventre luisant paissent dans les prairies qui laissent encore voir, ça et là, les pieds de chevaux mal enterrés.

Les maison de paysan alsacien se rapprochent extérieurement des fermes de la Souabe ; elles sont composées d’un étage et d’une mansarde, qui sert de chambre à la jeune fille du paysan, précaution qui empêche les rendez-vous à la fenêtre.

Actuellement tous ces fac-simùile de logement, sont des corps sans âme. Une fois l’Exposition ouverte, quand la grappe de maïs jaune et séchée sera suspendue en longs festons au-dessous des corniches, quand on attachera au-dessus de la porte d’entrée la branche de buis bénite à Pâques, quand la jeune Alsacienne, au sein développé, avec sa coiffure noire ressemblant à un papillon gigantesque, où brille par coquetterie patriotique la cocarde tricolore, vous invitera, en passant, de goûter à ses Strasburger Knofle (Boulette de farine), vous serez charmé et vous visiterez alors avec sympathie ce souvenir vivant des fermes d’Alsace.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873