Back - List of Pavilions

Viceroy of Egypt - Expo Vienna 1873

Viceroy of Egypt at the Exhibition Expo Vienna 1873

The Viceroy of Egypt has built, as if by magic, in the centre of the Vienna Exhibition, a pearl of oriental architecture. There has risen an edifice which would have amazed the spectator, even in his own capital, by its purity of form, the gracefulness of its execution and the splendour of its decoration. The effect of such a masterpiece on foreign soil, surrounded by the modern and monotonous buildings of the Exhibition halls and the numerous pavilions, is impossible to describe.
Just as a slender palm tree from the distant South, transplanted to us, outshines all our trees and shrubs with its fan-shaped crown, so this dream of a Caliph transformed into stone dominates all the buildings around it.

From whatever side one looks at the palace of Ismaïl-Pacha, everywhere it offers an imposing and charming aspect at the same time. Our drawing shows the eastern side, while the main façade, with its richly decorated middle building, and the two side pavilions face north.

The minaret on the east side of the group is nineteen toises high, four toises less than the minaret on the other side. The small, massive basement, from which the slender column of the tower rises, forms the back wall of the tomb chapel.

The minaret, built entirely of tiles, leads to a balcony, behind which is a place for the Muezzin to announce the hour of prayer.

From here, the tower becomes narrower, rounder, covered with arabesques in relief and ends in a bulbous cone. The colour is the same as that of the other walls of the building, ochre yellow, with broad reddish stripes.

On the eastern side, the main building shows one of the most graceful details of its execution, a semicircular balcony whose finely worked roof is supported by small graceful colonnettes, brilliantly coloured.

A small door, in Arabic style, serves as the entrance to the main façade, with the Koranic sentence: "You who open doors, open the best one for us!

Above the door of the minaret, the following words are written: "This blessed mosque was built by Ismail-Pasha, the son of Ibrahim-Pasha, the son of the pilgrim Mehemed-Ali-Pasha, the ruler of Egypt in 1290 (Hegira).

Arabic inscriptions, taken from the Koran, surround the exterior of the building; the writing is white, on a blue or green background. Above the mosque there is a beautiful yellow domed roof with remarkable arabesques in relief. This roof is made of zinc and weighs nearly fifty quintals.

The Khedive will stay in this palace when he comes to the Exhibition. It is hoped that this building will be preserved, after the Exhibition, as one of the greatest curiosities of Vienna.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Vice-Roi d'Egypte


Vice-Roi d'Egypte à l'exposition de Vienne 1873

Le Vice-Roi d'Egypte a fait construire, comme par enchantement, dans le centre de l'Exposition de Vienne, un perle d'architecture orientale. Il s'est élevé là un édifice qui aurait, même dans sa capitale, émerveillé le spectateur par se pureté de formes, le gracieux de l'exécution et la splendeur de la décoration. L'effet que produit un tel chef-oeuvre sur un sol étranger, entouré des bâtiments modernes et monotones des halles de l'Exposition et des nombreux pavillons, est impossible à décrire.
De même qu'un svelte palmier du Sud lointain, transplanté chez nous, surpasse, par sa couronne en éventail, tous nos arbres et arbustes, ainsi ce rêve de Calife transformé en pierre, domine tous les bâtiments qui l'entourent.

De quelque côté que l'on regarde le palais d'Ismaïl-Pacha, partout il offre un aspect imposant et charmant à la fois. Notre dessin nous montre le côté de l'est, tandis que la façade principale, avec son édifice du milieu, richement décoré, et les deux pavillons latéraux se tournent au nord.

Le minaret, à l'est du groupe, a une hauteur de dix-neuf toises, quatre toises de moins que le minaret placé de l'autre côté. Le petit sous-sol massif, d'où s'élève la colonne svelte de la tour, forme le mur de fond de la chapelle du tombeau.

Le minaret, construit entièrement en tuiles, aboutit à un balcon, derrière lequel se trouve une place pour le Muezzin qui annonce l'heure de la prière.

A partir de là, la tour devient plus étroite, s'arrondit, se couvre d'arabesques en relief et finit en cône bulbeux. La couleur est la même que celle des autres murs de l'édifice, jaune ocre, avec de larges raies rougeâtres.

L'édifice principal montre justement, du côté de l'est, un des détails les plus gracieux de son exécution, un balcon demi-circulaire dont le toit, finement travaillé, est porté par de petites colonnettes gracieuses, brillantes de couleurs.

Une petite porte, de style arabe, sert d'entrée à la façade principale, avec la sentence du Koran : "Toi, qui ouvres des portes, ouvre-nous la meilleure !".

Au-dessus de la porte du minaret, on lit les paroles suivantes : "cette mosquée bénie a été construite par Ismaïl-Pacha, le fils d'Ibrahim-Pacha, fils du pèlerin Mehemed-Ali-Pacha, le souverain de l'Egypte en 1290 (de l'hégire).

Des inscription arabes, tirées du Koran, entourent l'extérieur de l'édifice; l'écriture est blanche, sur fond bleu ou vert. Au-dessus de la mosquée s'élève un beau toit en coupole, jaune, avec de remarquables arabesques en relief. Ce toit est en zinc et pèse près de cinquante quintaux.

Le Khédive demeurera dans ce palais, quand il viendra à l'Exposition. On a espoir de conserver cet édifice, après l'exposition, comme une des plus grands curiosités de Vienne.

©L’Exposition Universelle de Vienne 1873