Brussels World and International Exhibition 1910

Works of Art, Scientific Works and Products of Industry and Agriculture of all Nations

April 23, 1910 - November 1, 1910


Back - List of Pavilions

Collectivity of Belgian Electricians

Collectivity of Belgian Electricians at the Exhibition Brussels 1910

The Electricians' Collective, adjoining the Belgian and English Sections, was destroyed by fire, but the electricians, doing wonders, were the first to reinstall their Section. It was inaugurated on Monday 12 September, at 9 o'clock in the evening, less than a month after the disappearance of the first one.

It was a considerable effort to bring together, in four weeks, important machines and a whole ensemble constituting a new Exhibition, which, however improvised it was, was nonetheless a sort of synthesis (in a space reduced to one ninth) of the products of the Belgian electrical industry.

Also, however simple the inauguration evening was, it did not go without giving rise to some brief congratulations, most legitimate, on the one hand to the Administration of telegraphs, the Société Générale, and the Belgian industrialists who had agreed to make the factories in the process of completion available to the exhibitors; on the other hand, to the Executive Committee of the Exhibition, to M. Baron Empain and the Belgian Electricians' Society, who had assembled the financial resources necessary for the Organising Committee to accomplish its task.

The president of the Organizing Committee, Mr. Léon Gérard, having thanked everyone, including the workers, anonymous contributors to the success, also named someone else, who was certainly no stranger to the festival and who is part of all festivals and all progress, Electricity, invited everywhere, which is always present and which no human eye has ever seen, and he named her the Good Fairy.

To which Baron Janssen replied, with infinite accuracy, that the President was a "rough sorcerer" for having made the splendid little pavilion that was being inaugurated rise from the ground in less than a month, just on the spot where the ashes of his old office still lay under the floor.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Bruxelles 1910

Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

Oeuvres d'Art, Travaux Scientifiques et Produits de l'Industrie et de l'Agriculture de toutes les nations

23 avril 1910 - 1 novembre 1910


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Collectivité des Electriciens Belges

Collectivité des Electriciens Belges à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1910

La Collectivité des Electriciens, attenante aux Sections belge et anglaise, fut détruite par le feu, mais les électriciens, faisant des prodiges, arrivèrent bons premiers dans la réinstallation de leur Section. Elle fut inaugurée le lundi 12 septembre, à 9 heures du soir, moins d’un mois après la disparition de la première.

L’effort fut considérable pour réunir en quatre semaines des machines importantes et tout un ensemble constituant une Exposition nouvelle, qui, tout improvisée qu’elle fut, n’en était pas moins une sorte de synthèse (sur un espace réduit au neuvième) des produits de l'industrie électrique belge.

Aussi, toute simple que fut la soirée d’inauguration, elle n’alla point sans donner matière à quelques brèves congratulations, des plus légitimes, d’une part à l’adresse de l’Administration des télégraphes, de la Société Générale, des industriels belges qui avaient consenti à mettre des fabricats en voie d’achèvement à la disposition des exposants; d’autre part, au Comité exécutif de l’Exposition, à M. le baron Empain et à la Société belge des électriciens, qui avaient réuni les ressources pécuniaires nécessaires à l’accomplissement de la tâche du Comité organisateur.

Le président du Comité organisateur, M. Léon Gérard, ayant remercié chacun, y compris les ouvriers, collaborateurs anonymes du succès, nomma aussi quelqu’un d’autre, qui, certes, n’était pas étranger à la fête et qui est de toutes les fêtes et de tous les progrès, l’Electricité, conviée partout, qui est toujours présente et que nul œil humain n’a jamais vue, et il la nomma la bonne Fée.

A quoi M. le baron Janssen répliqua, avec infiniment de justesse, que M. le Président était, lui, un « rude sorcier », d’avoir fait jaillir de terre, en moins d’un mois, le splendide petit pavillon que l’on inaugurait, juste à l’emplacement où gisaient encore sous le plancher les cendres de son ancien bureau.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Bruxelles 1910