Brussels World and International Exhibition 1910

Works of Art, Scientific Works and Products of Industry and Agriculture of all Nations

April 23, 1910 - November 1, 1910


Back - List of Pavilions

Salon of Belgian Letters

Salon of Belgian Letters at the Exhibition Brussels 1910

A Salon des Lettres was opened in 1910 at the Brussels Exhibition. For the first time in our country, literature was invited to participate in the glorification of national activity. This event was due to the intervention of M. Van Overbergh, Government Commissioner for Class 3 and Director General of Literature.

A commission comprising French, Flemish and Walloon writers had been appointed and placed under the chairmanship of Mr. Emile Verhaeren.

Mr. Van Overbergh presented a project for the Exhibition which received unanimous support. Mr. Chauvin for the Walloons, Mr. Coremans for the Flemish, and Mr. Rouvez for the French took charge of implementing the plan. Mr. Maus lent his good offices for the arrangement and artistic presentation of the exhibits.

The Salon des Lettres was a novelty, a surprise and a success.

It included the iconography of Belgian writers, manuscripts, books that demonstrated the expansion of their influence abroad, and bibliographical documents. It offered literary works to the informed public; it placed before the eyes of the masses interesting objects that should help their memories, arouse their curiosity and demonstrate how much literary effort was alive.

On the day of the inauguration, 5 July, all our literary figures were there: Camille Lemonnier, Picard, Abbé Verriest, Chauvin, Styn Streuvels, Georges Eekhoud, Albert Giraud, Yvan Gilkin, Henry Carton de Wiart, Henry Davignon, Valère Gille, Jules Destrée, des Ombiaux, MM Belpaire, Virginie Loveling, Coopman, MM Courouble, Gaillard, Gilbert, G. Le Roy, Vermeylen, Severin, Delattre, Firmin Vanden Bosch, Coremans, Demade, Fernand Wicheler, Mussche, Du Catillon, Teirlinck, Jules Lekeu, Franz Mahutte, Louis Dumont, De la Montagne, Julius Hoste, Max Rooses, Renoz, Vrindts, Abbé Moeller, Kinon, van de Woestyne, Blanche Rousseau, chevalier Marchai, Paul André, Arthur De Rudder, Dullaert, Maurice Sulzberger, Thomas Braun, Daxhelet, Maurice Bernard, count Maxime de Bousies, Georges Raemaekers, Franz Foulon, Grosjean, etc.

The King and Queen were received by the Minister of Science and Arts, Messrs Braun, Van Overbergh and Auguste Rouvez.

Emile Verhaeren gave a very nice inaugural speech and welcomed the Sovereigns.

The King responded and began by saying:
"Your charming words, Mr Verhaeren, touch me deeply, and the Queen joins me in thanking you wholeheartedly.

"We are particularly happy, gentlemen, that it is the poet of All Flanders who welcomes us among you, because we have the opportunity to show him once again our admiration.

"The works of Emile Verhaeren have magnificently glorified the soil of his birth. A truly Belgian poet through his powerful expression of our atavistic forces and the characteristics of our race, is he not at the same time a world poet celebrating human life in its most ardent manifestations?

"After having greeted one of the glories of Belgian literature, I cannot say enough to all of you, Gentlemen, how pleased I am to be among you and how sensitive I am to the warm welcome of men of letters who have come from different parts of the country to take part in this festival of art.
"The Queen and I have made it a very pleasant duty to attend your gracious invitation.

"I congratulate the friends of Literature for arranging this literary salon in the middle of the Educational Section of the Exhibition. All the levels of intellectual effort imposed on youth are thus gathered around us, from primary school to university. Here, in the centre, is the domain of thought and of the ideal, that domain where, in all the independence of their talent, writers are the interpreters of the highest aspirations which must embellish the life of the Nation and enlighten its soul. "

In conclusion, the King said:
"The whole country is with you, gentlemen; it understands you, it follows your efforts and shares your ideal; it pays tribute to your immense and fruitful work; I am happy about this, because, thanks to you, Belgium proudly gives the example of a people taking its place in the noblest fields of human genius. "

The audience warmly acclaimed this speech, which the King delivered in a strong voice. Then the Sovereign expressed his desire to see Camille Lemonnier presented to him. Short congratulations, and just as the audience was about to sit down to listen to the speakers, a charming incident occurred.

Emile Verhaeren was seated on the left of the Queen, while the Minister was on the right of the King. The poet, addressing Camille Lemonnier, said to him: "This is your place, you are my senior. "

And it is the brilliant writer who takes his place beside our young and charming Sovereign.

Edmond Picard then took the floor and thanked the King and Queen, characterising their presence as a manifestation of patriotic pride in the honour of letters, and then continued with a much-applauded lecture.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Bruxelles 1910

Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

23 avril 1910 - 1 novembre 1910


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Salon des Lettres Belges

Salon des Lettres Belges à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1910

Un salon des Lettres fut ouvert, en 1910, à l’Exposition de Bruxelles. Pour la première fois en notre pays la littérature était conviée à participer à la glorification de l’activité nationale. Cet événement était dû à l’intervention de M. Van Overbergh, commissaire du Gouvernement pour la Classe 3 et directeur général des Lettres.

Une commission comprenant des écrivains français, flamands et wallons avait été nommée et placée sous la présidence de M. Emile Verhaeren.

M. Van Overbergh y présenta un projet d’Exposition qui rallia l’adhésion unanime. M. Chauvin pour les Wallons, M. Coremans pour les Flamands, M. Rouvez pour les Français se chargèrent de réaliser le plan arrêté. M. Maus prêta ses bons offices pour l’arrangement et la présentation artistique des objets exposés.

Le salon des Lettres fut une nouveauté, une surprise et un succès.

Il comprenait l’iconographie des écrivains belges, des manuscrits, des livres qui démontraient l’expansion de leur influence à l’étranger, des documents bibliographiques. Il offrait au public averti des travaux littéraires; il plaçait sous les yeux de la masse des objets intéressants qui devaient aider leurs souvenirs, éveiller leur curiosité et démontrer combien était vivace l’effort littéraire.

Le jour de l’inauguration, le 5 juillet, tous nos littérateurs étaient là : Camille Lemonnier, Picard, l’abbé Verriest, Chauvin, Styn Streuvels, Georges Eekhoud, Albert Giraud, Yvan Gilkin, Henry Carton de Wiart, Henry Davignon, Valère Gille, Jules Destrée, des Ombiaux, MMlles Belpaire, Virginie Loveling, Coopman, MM. Courouble, Gaillard, Gilbert, G. Le Roy, Vermeylen, Severin, Delattre, Firmin Vanden Bosch, Coremans, Demade, Fernand Wicheler, Mussche, Du Catillon, Teirlinck, Jules Lekeu, Franz Mahutte, Louis Dumont, De la Montagne, Julius Hoste, Max Rooses, Renoz, Vrindts, l’abbé Moeller, Kinon, van de Woestyne, Blanche Rousseau, chevalier Marchai, Paul André, Arthur De Rudder, Dullaert, Maurice Sulzberger, Thomas Braun, Daxhelet, Maurice Bernard, comte Maxime de Bousies, Georges Raemaekers, Franz Foulon, Grosjean, etc.

Le Roi et la Reine sont reçus par le Ministre des sciences et des arts, MM. Braun, Van Overbergh et Auguste Rouvez.

Emile Verhaeren prononce un discours inaugural de très belle allure et souhaite la bienvenue aux Souverains.

Le Roi répond et débute en ces termes :
« Vos charmantes paroles, M. Verhaeren, me touchent profondément, et la Reine se joint à moi pour vous en remercier de tout cœur.

» Nous sommes particulièrement heureux, Messieurs, que ce soit le poète de Toute la Flandre qui nous souhaite la bienvenue au milieu de vous, parce que l’occasion nous est ainsi donnée de lui témoigner une fois de plus toute notre admiration.

» Les œuvres d’Emile Verhaeren ont magnifiquement glorifié le sol natal. Poète vraiment belge par la puissante expression de nos forces ataviques et des caractères de notre race, n’est-il pas en même temps un poète mondial célébrant la vie humaine dans ses manifestations les plus ardentes ?

» Après avoir salué une des gloires de la littérature belge, je ne puis assez vous dire, à tous, Messieurs, le plaisir que j’éprouve à me trouver parmi vous et combien je suis sensible à l’accueil chaleureux d’hommes de lettres venue des différentes parties du pays pour participer à cette fête de l’art.
» La Reine et moi, nous nous sommes fait un très agréable devoir de nous rendre à votre gracieuse invitation.

» Je félicite les amis de la Littérature d’avoir aménagé ce salon littéraire au milieu de la Section de l’enseignement de l’Exposition. Tous les degrés de l’effort intellectuel imposé à la jeunesse se trouvent réunis ainsi autour de nous, depuis l’école primaire jusqu’à l’université. Ici, au centre, est le domaine de la pensée et de l’idéal, ce domaine où, dans toute l’indépendance de leur talent, les écrivains sont les interprètes des plus hautes aspirations qui doivent embellir la vie de la Nation et en éclairer l’âme. »

En terminant, le Roi dit :
« Le pays tout entier est avec vous, Messieurs ; il vous comprend, il suit vos efforts et partage votre idéal; il rend hommage à votre labeur immense et fécond; j’en suis heureux, car, grâce à vous, la Belgique donne fièrement l’exemple d’un peuple prenant sa large place dans les plus nobles domaines du génie humain. »

L’assistance acclame chaleureusement ce discours, que le Roi a prononcé d’une voix forte. Puis le Souverain exprime le désir de se voir présenter Camille Lemonnier. Courtes congratulations, et, au moment où l’on va s’asseoir pour écouter les conférenciers, un incident charmant se produit.

La place d’Emile Verhaeren est à la gauche de la Reine, tandis que le Ministre est à la droite du Roi. Le poète, s’adressant à Camille Lemonnier, lui dit : « C’est ta place, tu es mon aîné. »

Et c’est le brillant écrivain qui se place à côté de notre jeune et charmante Souveraine.

Edmond Picard, prenant ensuite la parole, remercie tout d’abord le Roi et la Reine, caractérise leur présence comme une manifestation de fierté patriotique en l’honneur des lettres, puis continue par une conférence très applaudie.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Bruxelles 1910