Back - List of Pavilions

Greece - Expo Brussels 1910

Greece at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1910

In this part of the halls, which is lively, diverse and picturesque more than any other, and which has been called the International Gallery, the Greek section occupies a fairly large area. It would be an exaggeration to say that the numerous objects and products offered there for the curiosity and choice of visitors are exceptionally characteristic and reflect all aspects of the art, industry, and economy of a country that is nevertheless extensive, sufficiently rich, and not very far from our own.

This part of the Exhibition was reserved for those nations whose governments had not officially responded to the invitation of our own, but who, nevertheless, thanks to special initiatives, had not completely lost interest in the grandiose Brussels enterprise that is universally famous today. Or they were brilliantly organised sections - such as those of Turkey, Japan, the Dominican Republic and Persia - by commissioners-general who did not feel the need to isolate themselves in separate pavilions.

Like Austria, then, like Denmark, Switzerland, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and Russia, here is Greece with its abundantly stocked stalls and shop windows.
But if Austria offers us its crystals, its leather goods and its delicate furniture; Denmark the opulent originality of its admired porcelain; Russia its furs and the frustrating knick-knacks made by old natives with grey beards, astrakhan toquet and long traditional cloaks; Switzerland the ingenious testimonies of its hotel industry and of the improvements of tourism; Greece has nothing or almost nothing to remind us of the sites so often immortalized in Epirus, Evia, Attica or Argos, nothing to indicate what modernism has done with the ancient civilization of the Hellenes, nothing of the glorious art of the past and the attempts, perhaps curious, of the present? ...

Greece obviously carries the heavy weight of its glorious past, and it is difficult to perpetuate with dignity such a memorable splendour as that of the famous centuries, whose slightest vestige is imposing, whose smallest memory is moving.

Greece, moreover, has for many years known the bitterness and anxiety of political difficulties. Its neighbours, its situation, the covetousness it arouses, the errors of an organisation and a regime that are often threatened throw a permanent disturbance into the whole of the ancient kingdom that does little to help its prestige and prosperity. At the time when Belgium invited the countries of the civilised world to the peaceful and glorious tournament which ended in an apotheosis, Greece was experiencing hours of anxiety whose uneasiness must have kept the leaders very distracted from what was not the legitimate concern of internal concord and peace outside.

Merchants came alone to occupy the stalls and represent the country whose azure banner crossed by the white cross could not be totally absent from the pretty and colourful group of national
national standards fluttering in the air atop the domes, belfries and flagpoles of the Solbosch.

What is important to note, however, is that if the Greek compartment is, of all those of the Exhibition, the one which, by the products seen there, characterises the least originally fart and industry of the country, by its architecture it is perhaps, on the contrary, one of the most typical in its simplicity.

It is a quadrilateral regularly cut by alleys along which the shops and outlets open. To this set of light constructions, the architect has given the elegantly classical aspect of the colonnades whose remains embellish the marvellous decorations of Athens, Mycenae and Thebes.

Graceful Ionic columns support a cornice enclosing each space. All this is white, pretty, exact and harmonious. All along the cornice, between the picture rail and the eaves, runs a frieze painted in white on a blue background and which, inspired by the graceful millenary masterpieces, unfolds the adorable procession of dancers as seen in Epidaurus and Corinth...

If we except some samples of wines collected on the banks of the Attic hillsides; lace patiently worked in the island of Cyprus; furs from the mountains of Pindus; sponges from Syria, among which opulently spreads an enormous piece of 1,200 grams fished at a depth of 77 meters on the coast of Kalymnos; lemons and oranges; some embroideries
and oranges; some embroideries, nothing of all that is offered for sale by cosmopolitan merchants has any reason to be there rather than in China, America or elsewhere.

It would be a mistake, however, to believe that the country of the hard-working and good-trading Hellenes would not have been able to send samples and evidence of the development of its agriculture to our Exhibition, liquors from Patras, malvasia from Nafplio, muscatel from Miesistra, grapes from Corinth, spices and perfumes from the Archipelago, olives and oils from Messinia, Hymetta and Salona, rich minerals especially from Peloponese and Evia.

And if sometimes the salesman with the fertile sales pitch who offers us handkerchiefs instantly engraved with our initials, sophisticated nose-clips, ingenious corkscrews, junk jewellery, lemonade, glassware made in Germany and penholders with a reservoir displays, for the sake of the cause, a name such as Leonidas or Spartakos; If a saleswoman has a matte complexion, black eyes and hair, and ties a red kerchief nicely in her thick bun, it is not enough to give us the illusion, easily acquired elsewhere, that we are living for a moment in the immortal land of Aeschylus, Epaminondas, Aristotle and Alexander. ..

©Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1910

Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

Oeuvres d'Art, Travaux Scientifiques et Produits de l'Industrie et de l'Agriculture de toutes les nations

23 avril 1910 - 1 novembre 1910


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Grèce

Grèce à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1910

Dans cette partie des halles, animée, diverse et pittoresque plus qu’aucune autre, que l’on a appelée la Galerie internationale, le compartiment grec occupe un assez vaste emplacement. Il serait exagéré de dire que les nombreux objets et produits offerts là à la curiosité et au choix des visiteurs sont exceptionnellement caractéristiques et reflètent tous les aspects de l’art, de l’industrie, de l’économie d’un pays cependant étendu, suffisamment riche et pas très lointain du nôtre.

Cette partie de l’Exposition a été réservée aux nations dont les gouvernements n’avaient pas répondu officiellement à l’invitation du nôtre, mais qui, néanmoins, grâce à des initiatives particulières, ne s’étaient pas désintéressées totalement de la grandiose entreprise bruxelloise universellement célèbre aujourd’hui. Ou bien ce furent des sections brillamment organisées — comme celles de Turquie, du Japon, de la République Dominicaine, de la Perse — par des commissaires-généraux n’ayant pas cru devoir s’isoler dans des pavillons séparés.

Comme l’Autriche donc, comme le Danemark, la Suisse, le grand-duché de Luxembourg, la Russie, voici la Grèce et ses étals et ses vitrines abondamment achalandés.
Mais si l’Autriche nous offre ses cristaux, ses maroquineries et ses meubles délicats ; le Danemark l’opulente originalité de ses porcelaines admirées ; la Russie ses fourrures et les frustes bibelots ouvragés par de vieux indigènes à barbe grise, toquet d’astrakan et long manteau traditionnel ; la Suisse les témoignages ingénieux de son industrie hôtelière et des perfectionnements du tourisme, la Grèce n’a rien ou presque rien envoyé qui évoque les sites tant de fois immortalisés d’Epire, d’Eubée, d’Attique ou d’Argos, rien qui signale ce que le modernisme a fait de l’antique civilisation des Hellènes, rien de l’art glorieux d’autrefois et des tentatives, peut-être curieuses, d’aujourd’hui?...

La Grèce porte évidemment le poids bien lourd de son passé de gloire, et il est difficile de perpétuer dignement une splendeur aussi mémorable que celle des siècles fameux dont le moindre vestige est imposant, dont le plus minime souvenir est émouvant.

La Grèce, en outre, connaît depuis des ans l’amertume et l’inquiétude des difficultés politiques. Ses voisinages, sa situation, les convoitises qu’elle suscite, les erreurs d’une organisation et d’un régime souvent menacés jettent dans tout l’antique royaume un trouble permanent peu fait pour aider à son prestige et à sa prospérité. Au moment où la Belgique convia les pays du monde civilisé au pacifique et glorieux tournoi qui s’achève dans une apothéose, la Grèce connaissait des heures d’inquiétude dont le malaise devait tenir les dirigeants fort distraits de ce qui n’était pas le souci légitime de la concorde intérieure et de la paix au dehors.

Des marchands vinrent seuls occuper les échoppes et représenter le pays dont la bannière d'azur barrée de la croix blanche ne pouvait être, totalement absente du joli groupe bariolé des
étendards nationaux battant l’air au sommet des dômes, des campaniles et des mâts du Solbosch.


Ce qu’il importe cependant de faire remarquer, c’est que si le compartiment grec est, de tous ceux de l’Exposition, celui qui, par les produits qu’on y voit, caractérise le moins originalement fart et l’industrie du pays, par son architecture il est peut-être, au contraire, un des plus typiques dans sa simplicité.

C’est un quadrilatère coupé régulièrement d'allées le long desquelles s’ouvrent les magasins et les débits. A cet ensemble de légères constructions, l’architecte a donné l’aspect, élégamment classique, des colonnades dont les vestiges embellissent les décors merveilleux d’Athènes, de Mycènes et de Thèbes.

De gracieuses colonnes ioniques supportent une corniche enclosant chaque espace. Tout cela est blanc, joli, exact et harmonieux. Tout le long de la corniche, entre la cimaise et le larmier, court une frise peinte en blanc sur un fond bleu et qui, s’inspirant des gracieux chefs-d’œuvre millénaires, déroule le cortège adorable des danseuses comme en virent Epidaure et Corinthe...

Si nous exceptons quelques échantillons de vins récoltés sur les Bancs des coteaux de l’At-tique ; des dentelles patiemment ouvragées dans l'île de Chypre ; des fourrures venues des montagnes du Pinde ; des éponges de Syrie, parmi lesquelles opulemment s’étale une énorme pièce de 1,200 grammes pêchée à 77 mètres de profondeur sur la côte de Kalymnos ; des citrons
et des oranges ; quelques broderies, rien de tout ce qui est mis en vente par des marchands cosmopolites n’a de raison d’être là p'utôt qu’en Chine, en Amérique ou bien ailleurs.

Ce serait cependant se faire une fausse idée de la richesse et des ressources du pays des Hellènes, travailleurs et bons commerçants, que de croire qu’il n’eût pas été capable d’envoyer à notre Exposition des échantillons et des témoignages du développement de son agriculture, des liqueurs de Patras, du malvoisie de Nauplie, du muscat de Miesistra, du raisin de Corinthe, des épices et des parfums de l’Archipel, des olives et des huiles de Messénie, dé l’Hymette et de Salone, des riches minerais surtout du Péloponèse et de l’Eubée.

Et si parfois le vendeur au boniment fécond qui nous offre des mouchoirs chiffrés instantanément à nos initiales, des pince-nez perfectionnés, des tire-bouchons ingénieux, des bijoux de pacotille de la limonade, de la verroterie made in Germany et des porte-plume à réservoir affiche, pour les besoins de la cause, un nom tel que Leonidas ou Spartakos ; si telle vendeuse avenante a le teint mat, les yeux et les cheveux noirs et noue joliment un fichu rouge dans son chignon épais, — c’est insuffisant pour nous donner l’illusion, facilement acquise ailleurs, que nous vivons un instant au milieu du pays immortel d’Eschyle, d’Epaminondas, d’Aristote et d’Alexandre...

© Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1910