Brussels World and International Exhibition 1910

Works of Art, Scientific Works and Products of Industry and Agriculture of all Nations

April 23, 1910 - November 1, 1910


Back - List of Pavilions

Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic at the Exhibition Brussels 1910

The Dominican Exhibition consisted of both products of the soil and manufactured goods, sent by various Chambers of Commerce acting on behalf of the community of planters, traders, industrialists and manufacturers in their jurisdiction and by a number of individuals who acted in their personal name.

Among the products of the plantations were coffee, as good as the best of the West Indies and Central America, cocoa - prepared with the greatest care and sent even in their pods, dried beforehand by an ingenious process, allowing them to arrive without the slightest damage - tobacco leaves, raw sugar, etc.

The exploitation of the forests was represented in the Dominican Section by an infinite variety of specimens of various hard and precious woods, used and much appreciated in the national furniture industry, such as mahogany, espénille or lemon, guaiac, grenadilla; by the campêches and yellow woods, whose value is great for the extraction of colouring matters; finally by a large quantity of samples of various construction woods whose importation would perhaps not be advisable, because of the richness of our forest species, but whose qualities for local use cannot be disputed for a moment.

The primary processing plants were represented by exquisite rums, honeys, waxes, cigars, cigarettes, etc.
The mining industry held a very high rank in this Exhibition with blocks of rock salt, gold-bearing sands, pyrites and iron ores and others.

Finally, one was astonished to see many products of industries which one is accustomed to consider as the exclusive prerogative of the old continent, such as shoemaking and soap-making. The latter industry exhibited products that were extremely remarkable, both for their quality and for the care and taste with which they were presented.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Bruxelles 1910

Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

23 avril 1910 - 1 novembre 1910


Retour - Liste Pavillons

République Dominicaine

République Dominicaine à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1910

L’Exposition dominicaine se composait tant de produits du sol que d’objets fabriqués, envoyés par diverses Chambres de commerce agissant au nom de la collectivité des planteurs, négociants, industriels et fabricants de leur ressort et par un certain nombre de particuliers ayant agi en leur nom personnel.

Parmi les produits des plantations venaient en première ligne les cafés, aussi bons que les meilleures sortes des Antilles et du Centre-Amérique, les cacaos — préparés avec le plus grand soin et expédiés même dans leurs gousses ou cabasses, préalablement séchées par un procédé ingénieux, leur permettant de nous arriver ainsi sans le moindre dégât, — les tabacs en feuilles, les sucres bruts, etc.

L’exploitation des forêts était représentée à la Section dominicaine par une variété infinie de spécimens de divers bois durs et précieux, employés et très appréciés dans l’industrie nationale du meuble, tels que l’acajou, l’espénille ou citron, le gaïac, le grenadille; par les campêches et bois jaunes, dont la valeur est grande pour l’extraction des matières colorantes ; enfin par une grande quantité d’échantillons de divers bois de construction dont l’importation ne serait peut-être pas à conseiller, en raison de la richesse de nos essences forestières, mais dont les qualités pour l’emploi sur place ne sauraient être contestées un seul instant.

Les usines de premier traitement y étaient représentées par des rhums exquis, les miels, les cires, les cigares, les cigarettes, etc.
L’industrie minière tenait dans cette Exposition un rang très élevé avec les blocs de sel gemme, les sables aurifères, les pyrites et minerais de fer et autres.

Enfin, on voyait avec étonnement y figurer de nombreux produits d’industries qu’on est habitué à considérer comme l’apanage exclusif de l’ancien continent, telles que la cordonnerie et la savonnerie. Cette dernière industrie exposait des produits extrêmement remarquables, tant par leur qualité que par le soin et le goût avec lesquels ils étaient présentés.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Bruxelles 1910