Brussels World and International Exhibition 1910

Works of Art, Scientific Works and Products of Industry and Agriculture of all Nations

April 23, 1910 - November 1, 1910


Back - List of Pavilions

Persia

Persia at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1910

The majestic entrance to the Persian Section, a skilful reconstruction by the architect Delpy, reproduced, reduced to a third of its size, the portico of the Prophylae of Xerxes in Persepolis. Mr. Goldzieher gave a detailed description in his speech on the day of the inauguration: "The two side doors, supported by androcephalous bulls, are remarkably original. Under the warm colouring of the caissons and the frieze, the bulls, which the Persians had made the emblem of the power of the director, support the entablature of the portico, separated from the shaft of the columns by harmonious campaniles which surmount capitals simulating palm tree heads, symbol of renewal and of the force that creates. "

No sooner had the visitor passed through this imposing triumphal arch of massive pink stone than he saw the interior, raised by a few steps, of the talar or reception room. A circular colonnade was in the centre of the hall; the columns with cubic capitals had at their base the one-headed, two-bodied lion of the type decorating the Palace of the Mirrors at Isfahan; they supported a dome subdivided at its lower part by pendentive ribs with a covering of small pieces of ingeniously arranged silvered glassware. This talar, decorated with tapestries, objets d'art and precious furniture, well worthy of the splendours of the country of Scheherazade and Haroun-al-Raschid, was a specimen of the so-called "crystallised" architecture, which decorates the opulent palaces of modern Persia.

There was therefore, for the attentive visitor who wished to question some of the complaisant and often learned natives encountered in the Section, material for abundant erudition.

Weapons, jewellery, earthenware and embroidery were all there, in remarkable examples, awakening memories of an antiquity which, as we know, had its beginnings in the Elamite civilisation of which Susa was the famous capital. Long before the Medes and Persians, this was an Arian civilisation, not a Semitic one, like that of the Achaemenids, Cyrus, Darius and Xerxes. Some bas-reliefs found in the recent excavations of Susa, to which Mme Dieulafoy and M. de Morgan have gloriously attached their names, do they not go back, according to archaeologists, to about 3750 BC?

It is impossible to enumerate here the pottery and fabrics that were admired by visitors. And what can be said of the carpets, the thousand carpets, the very old and the very recent, those that time and use have faded and worn away, while their value has not diminished, and those that delight the eye with the bright freshness of their skilfully matched colours.

Finally, a unique piece of silk, measuring seven square metres, was shown, which had taken three young women from Shiraz six years to make.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Bruxelles 1910

Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

Oeuvres d'Art, Travaux Scientifiques et Produits de l'Industrie et de l'Agriculture de toutes les nations

23 avril 1910 - 1 novembre 1910


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Perse

Perse à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1910

La majestueuse entrée de la Section persane, adroite reconstitution de l’architecte Delpy, reproduisait, réduit au tiers de sa grandeur, le portique des Prophylées de Xerxès à Persépolis. M. Goldzieher en donna, dans le discours qu’il prononça le jour de l’inauguration, la description détaillée : « Les deux portes latérales, soutenues par des taureaux androcéphales, sont d’une remarquable originalité. Sous la coloration chaude des caissons et de la frise, les taureaux, dont les Persans avaient fait l’emblème du pouvoir réalisateur, supportent l’entablement du portique, séparé du fût des colonnes par d’harmonieux campaniles qui surmontent des chapiteaux simulant des têtes de palmier, symbole du renouveau et de la force qui crée. »

A peine franchi cet imposant arc triomphal de massives pierres rosées, le visiteur apercevait l’intérieur, surélevé de quelques marches, du talar ou salon de réception. Une colonnade circulaire était au centre du salon; les colonnes à chapiteaux cubiques avaient à leur base le lion à une tête et à deux corps du type décorant le palais des Miroirs, à Ispahan; elles supportaient un dôme subdivisé à sa partie inférieure par des nervures à pendentifs avec revêtement de petits morceaux de glaces argentées ingénieusement agencés. Ce talar, garni de tapisseries, d’objets d’art et de meubles précieux, bien dignes des splendeurs du pays de Schéhérazade et d’Haroun-al-Raschid, était un spécimen de l’architecture dite « cristallisée », qui décore, dans la Perse moderne, les palais opulents.

Il y avait donc, pour le visiteur attentif et qui voulait interroger quelques-uns des indigènes complaisants et souvent instruits rencontrés dans la Section, matière à abondante érudition.

Armes, bijoux, faïences, broderies étaient là, en effet, en exemplaires remarquables, réveillant les souvenirs d’une antiquité qui eut, on le sait, pour prémices la civilisation élamite dont Suse fut la célèbre capitale. Ce fut, bien avant les Mèdes et les Perses, une civilisation arienne et non sémite, comme celle des Achéménides, des Cyrus, des Darius, des Xerxës. Certains bas-reliefs retrouvés dans ces fouilles récentes de Suse, auxquelles Mme Dieulafoy et M. de Morgan ont attaché glorieusement leurs noms, ne remontent-ils pas, au dire des archéologues, jusqu’à vers 3750 avant Jésus-Christ?

On ne peut énumérer ici les poteries, les étoffes qui faisaient l’admiration des visiteurs. Et que dire des tapis, des mille tapis, les très vieux et les tout récents, ceux que le temps et l’usage ont fanés et usés, tandis que leur valeur n’en croissait pas moins, et ceux qui réjouissaient l’œil par la fraîcheur éclatante de leurs couleurs savamment appariées.

On se montrait enfin telle pièce unique tout en soie, de sept mètres carrés de surface, dont la confection avait demandé six années de la vie de trois jeunes femmes de Chirâz.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Bruxelles 1910