Brussels World and International Exhibition 1910

Works of Art, Scientific Works and Products of Industry and Agriculture of all Nations

April 23, 1910 - November 1, 1910


Back - List of Pavilions

The Farmer

The Farmer at the Exhibition Brussels 1910

The inauguration of the farmer's pavilion took place on Saturday 14 May in the afternoon.

The guests were received by the president of the executive committee, Mr. Maenhaut, deputy of Ghent, surrounded by the members of the committee, Mr. De Vuyst, the knight of Spirlet, Charles Clément, Staadt, Giele, etc.

Among the personalities who attended the ceremony were Mr. Beco, Governor of Brabant; Messrs. the Duke of Ursel; Storms, of the Commissariat-General; Cartuyvels, Director-General at the Ministry of Agriculture, Nerinckx, etc.

Those who conceived the idea of building this pretty pavilion intend to point out that by embellishing rural interiors, one will arouse "vocations" in women and the desire to devote themselves to farm work.

Some will undoubtedly find that the furnishings on display are rather out of keeping with their purpose and that, under a ministry that has no intention of introducing compulsory education and developing education in the countryside, desks as sophisticated as those shown here would be more appropriate for a minister than for a farmer or a woman farmer. It is to be hoped that the day will come when rural dwellings will be, like the pavilion just opened, embellished with trinkets and decked out like English cottages. Everything that could bring more comfort and beauty to the farm is gathered here, as well as everything that concerns - says the prospectus - the mission of the woman in agriculture.

In this pavilion, domestic schools exhibit their agricultural teaching methods; everything related to the farmer's diet, clothing, etc., has been assembled. All this is presented in a pleasant and tasteful way.

After the opening speech by Mr. Maenhaut, emphasizing the importance of the work undertaken, the visit of the pavilion began, whose stands show a remarkable concern for good taste and coquetry.

©Exposition Bruxelles 1910

Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

23 avril 1910 - 1 novembre 1910


Retour - Liste Pavillons

La Fermière

La Fermière à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1910

L’inauguration du Pavillon de la Fermière eut lieu le Samedi 14 mai , dans l’après-midi.

Les invités ont été reçus par le président du comité exécutif, M. Maenhaut, député de Gand, entouré des membres du comité, MM. De Vuyst, le chevalier de Spirlet, Charles Clément, Staadt, Giele, etc.

Parmi les personnalités qui assistaient à la cérémonie citons M. Beco, gouverneur du Brabant ; MM. le duc d’Ursel ; Storms, du commissariat-général ; Cartuyvels, directeur-général au ministère de l’agriculture, Nerinckx, etc.

Ceux qui ont conçu l’idée d’édifier ce coquet pavillon, entendent faire remarquer qu’en embellissant les intérieurs ruraux, on suscitera chez la femme des « vocations » et le désir de se consacrer aux travaux de la ferme.

D’aucuns trouveront sans doute que les mobiliers exposés sont assez peu en rapport avec leur destination et que, sous un ministère qui n’entend à aucun prix instaurer l’instruction obligatoire et développer l’enseignement dans les campagnes, des bureaux aussi perfectionnés que ceux que l’on nous fait admirer ici viendront mieux à point à un ministre qu'à un fermier ou à une fermière. Il est à souhaiter qu’un jour viendra où les demeures rurales seront—comme le pavillon que l’on vient d’inaugurer — enjolivées de bibelots et parées comme des cottages anglais. Tout ce qui pourrait apporter à la ferme plus de confort et de beauté est réuni ici, ainsi que tout ce qui concerne — dit le prospectus — la mission de la femme en agriculture.

Des écoles ménagères exposent, dans ce pavillon, leurs méthodes d’enseignement agricole ; on a assemblé ce qui touche à l’alimentation du cultivateur, aux vêtements, etc. Tout cela est mis en valeur de façon agréable et aménagé avec goût.

Après le discours d’ouverture de M. Maenhaut, soulignant l’importance de l'œuvre entreprise, a commencé la visite du pavillon, dont les stands dénotent un remarquable souci de bon goût et de coquetterie.

©Exposition Bruxelles 1910