Brussels World and International Exhibition 1910

Works of Art, Scientific Works and Products of Industry and Agriculture of all Nations

April 23, 1910 - November 1, 1910


Back - List of Pavilions

Cremation

manque image

On Thursday 16 June, the pavilion of the Belgian Society for the Promotion of Cremation was inaugurated. This elegant pavilion represents a Greek temple. It consists of three parts: one is dedicated to ancient cremation, the second to the verification of real death, and the third to everything that concerns modern cremation.

The Belgian Society for the Propagation of Cremation was keen to point out the disadvantages, from a hygienic point of view, of the burial system.

Inscriptions draw the visitor's attention: "Burial is a slow combustion; cremation is a rapid combustion. "The cemetery is the enemy of our health. "Fire purifies everything. " Cremation does not hinder criminal repression; it is not in opposition to any religious dogma. "

A reduction of a crematorium is displayed. Visitors are told that the body is
in an oven at 800 degrees, where it remains for 40 to 60 minutes. The ashes of a human body form a small mass weighing between 900 and 1,500 grams, which is placed in urns.

The walls of this small temple are adorned with paintings showing the progress made abroad by societies for the propagation of cremation, notably in Switzerland, Germany, Italy and France.

Numerous personalities attended the inauguration, including Count Goblet d'Alviella, Senator, and Mr. Delleur, Mayor of Boitsfort.

Mr. G. Tosquinet, provincial councillor, president of the Belgian Society for the Propagation of Cremation, made an interesting speech in which he expressed the wish to see the Chamber vote as soon as possible on the bill to allow the establishment of an inter-municipal crematorium. He pointed out the dangers, from the point of view of public hygiene, of the present system of burial.

Mr. Chômé, professor at the Ecole Militaire, and Mr. Rantz, secretary of the Antwerp Society for the Propagation of Cremation, insisted in their turn on the necessity of ensuring the possibility of crematoria in our country.

©Exposition Bruxelles 1910

Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

23 avril 1910 - 1 novembre 1910


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Crémation

manque image

C’est le jeudi 16 juin qu’a été inauguré le pavillon de la Société belge pour la propagation de la crémation. Ce pavillon, d’un aspect élégant, représente un temple grec. Il comprend trois parties : l’une est consacrée à l’incinération antique, la seconde est relative aux vérifications de la mort réelle, la troisième groupe tout ce qui intéresse la crémation moderne.

La Société belge pour la propagation de la crémation a tenu à faire ressortir les inconvénients, au point de vue hygiénique, du système de l’inhumation.

Des inscriptions attirent l’attention du visiteur : « L’inhumation est une combustion lente ; l’incinération est une combustion rapide. » « Le cimetière est l’ennemi de notre santé. » « Le feu purifie tout. » « La crémation ne fait pas obstacle à la répression criminelle ; elle n’est en opposition avec aucun dogme religieux. »

Une réduction d’un four crématoire est exposée. On explique aux visiteurs que le corps est
déposé dans un four à 800 degrés, où il demeure 40 à 60 minutes. Les cendres d'un corps humain ne forment qu’une petite masse pesant entre 900 et 1,500 grammes, que l’on dépose dans des urnes.

Aux parois de ce petit temple sont appendus des tableaux qui montrent les progrès réalisés, à l’étranger, par les Sociétés pour la propagation de la crémation, notamment en Suisse, en Allemagne, en Italie et en France.

De nombreuses personnalités assistaient à cette inauguration et, parmi elles, se trouvaient le comte Goblet d’Alviella, sénateur, et M. Delleur, bourgmestre de Boitsfort.

M. G. Tosquinet, conseiller provincial, président de la Société belge pour la propagation de la crémation, a, dans un discours intéressant, émis le vœu de voir la Chambre voter à bref délai la proposition de loi tendant à permettre l’établissement d’un four crématoire intercommunal. Il a fait ressortir les dangers, au point de vue de l’hygiène publique, du système actuel de l’inhumation.

M. Chômé, professeur à l’Ecole militaire, et M. Rantz, secrétaire de la Société anversoise pour la propagation de la crémation, ont insisté à leur tour sur la nécessité qu’il y aurait d’assurer la possibilité de fours crématoires dans notre pays.

©Exposition Bruxelles 1910