Brussels World and International Exhibition 1910

Works of Art, Scientific Works and Products of Industry and Agriculture of all Nations

April 23, 1910 - November 1, 1910


Back - List of Pavilions

Canada

Canada at the Exhibition Brussels 1910

The Canadian participation is one of the most beautiful and interesting, especially for an overpopulated country like ours.

The directors of the exhibition, Colonel William Hutchison, Commissioner-General, and Thomas Côté, Assistant Commissioner-General, and the officials assisting them, set out to show the inhabitants of Belgium the immense natural resources of Canada, and they have succeeded fully in doing so. By means of the products exhibited, the indications accompanying them and the suggestive tables which complete the whole, one can form an exact idea of Canada, one of the granaries of the world and one of the richest deposits of minerals in the universe.



A vast empire could be built on the part of the globe which Canada covers. It comprises the northern half of the entire continent of North America. Its area is 3,745,574 square miles, almost the size of the whole continent of Europe. In this immense territory could fit fourteen Austria-Hungary. It is eighteen times the size of Germany; eighteen times the size of France; forty-four times the size of Italy, and two hundred and thirty-four times the size of Switzerland. Canada is as large as the United States with the American dependencies of Hawaii and the Philippine Islands.

The number of people that Canada can support is so great that it is impossible to form an exact idea at present, and one must still remain in the realm of conjecture. It could house and support as many millions of people as there are in India or China. It is a country of vast plains, splendid forest areas, lofty mountains, majestic rivers, immense lakes, deep and safe havens and a healthy and invigorating climate.

From east to west, Canada is three thousand miles long; from south to north, fifteen hundred miles. It extends from the latitude of the Mediterranean in the south to the Arctic Ocean.

South of Canada is the United States. For a distance of almost three thousand miles, these two countries border each other. Canada is bounded on the west by the Pacific and Alaska, on the north by the Arctic Ocean and on the east by the Atlantic Ocean.


There are 7,600,000 Canadians. A census is taken every ten years in the country under the direction of the government. The last one was taken in March, 1901. It showed the population at that time to be 5,37 1,3 1 5. In the nine years since that count there has been a considerable increase. Immigration from Europe and the United States has been constant. There has been virtually no emigration from Canada to the United States, although in the past this movement of population was constant. Thus the Dominion has benefited from all the natural increase of the nine years.


Canada is a very new and at the same time very civilized country. The large, colourful, transparent photographs and interesting paintings which contribute so nicely to the decoration of the section present it in both these aspects.

On the one hand we see immense hotels of beautiful appearance, bridges, quays, prodigious works of art, immense ships serving the great lakes, lifts, brickworks, paper mills, enormous mine buildings; on the other hand, the vast fields, the large crops, those opulent orchards which are gaining every day on the ancient savagery, the exuberant forests, the grandiose landscapes of a strangely impressive character.

In the centre of the section are gathered the agricultural machines and the characteristic products of the region are set up as trophies. One of these trophies consists of anthracite, mica, asbestos and nickel. These four minerals are the pride of Canada. The production of nickel, in particular, is its prerogative; it supplies nine-tenths of what the whole world consumes.

But one must go around the section and stop in front of the big lodges which give such a complete idea of Canadian production. Panoramic views at the back of each one help to demonstrate its different types of activity.

In the first, the cultivation of grain is represented: the farm, the harvesting, the collection, all the work that is incumbent on the farmer until he brings his wheat to the elevator, where he is given a receipt for it, which he can negotiate as he pleases: for, from the elevator, where the grain of the region is stored, the transport and sale are no longer his concern. It is a matter for a special commercial organisation. The principle of the division of labour is still observed in America.

In the compartment are samples of all the varieties of grain grown, examples of how they are packaged and distributed in trade, types of all the products made from them: flours, beers, whisky, etc., etc., etc.

The second compartment shows one of the regions situated on the border of wild and cleared Canada, one of those where the energetic efforts of the pioneers are asserted. In the foreground, the crops are in full development. In the distance, the first plantings. In the background, the virgin land. And, fleeing from the human work, the crowd of animals that used to live there in the wild and that the plough is constantly pushing towards more distant reserves.

The next compartment shows the products and equipment of fishing, the excellent fish that abound in waters as fertile as the land.
Then come the woods for cabinet making and carpentry of all shades, from white to reddish brown, from yellow to brown and green: there are some, like maple, that we are surprised to see so little used, so little known in our country. The panorama represents a river flowing through a Canadian forest, inhabited by beavers: and a pond is built in which you will see living beavers, building their homes. If you read Mayne-Reid's novels as a child - oh, the Dwelling in the Desert - you will have retained a sympathetic curiosity about beavers that will find satisfaction (we do have beavers in our country, but they are not of the industrious species).

Beyond that, another forest panorama: conifers that are exploited for the production of paper pulp. Here you can also see how the pulpwood is felled, transported and processed. This section will be animated by live teddy bears, characters that are often found in the woods in question.

Here are the products of mining: coals, large blocks of mica, asbestos and the machine that crushes it into fibres, feldspar, shiny ores, arranged under a cavernous vault that will be illuminated by electric light. At the bottom, concentric circles symbolise... the North Pole! Because the North Pole, the Canadians claim, is neither Peary's nor Cook's: it is in Canada.

Here, countless building materials and mining products are lined up. The stones and marbles, rough, polished, cut, offer an extraordinary variety of grains and tints. There is a superb red porphyry. There is a heap of this silver ore which yields 2,500 francs a ton. There are gold nuggets from the Klon-dyke. There is, of course, nickel, asbestos, national mica... But I could not tell you all that there is: besides, a professor of the University of Montreal will come, during the greater part of the Exhibition, to settle here to supply all those who are interested in the matter, with all the desirable information on Canadian mineralogy.

Finally, concludes Mr. Ed. Cattier, from whom we borrow part of this description, in front of a panorama of Edenic orchards where apples are being picked, are preserved in jars the splendid assortment of Canadian fruits, apples, plums, cherries, grapes, peaches, apricots, enormous, bouncing, plethoric, bursting with juice, and as tasty, we are assured, as beautiful; and also the marmalades, jams, wines, fruit liqueurs; and the honey; and that sweet juice of the maple which the good Mayne-Reid, still, used to talk about in our youth.

The success of the Canadian participation has been growing, as evidenced by the elegant crowd that crowded the pavilion on July 1, the organizers having wanted to coincide the date of the official opening ceremony with that of the Canadian Confederation Day.
Messrs Hutchison and Coté, Commissioners-General, received the numerous guests.

There were all the notabilities of the Exhibition, many members of the diplomatic corps, as well as many ladies and young girls.
On behalf of Commissioner-General Hutchison as well as in his own name, Mr. Coté spoke in these terms:
"On behalf of Colonel Hutchison, on behalf of all the members of the Canadian Exhibition Commission, on behalf of Canada, I have the honour and pleasure of welcoming you into our midst this evening.

"As you entered this pavilion, you could read this inscription: "Welcome! "This word has been spoken since the beginning of the Exhibition and will continue to be spoken until the end of this great international congress, to all those who have honoured us and will honour us with a visit. But the welcome we extend to you this evening is, on our part, all the more cordial because you have come to celebrate with us the 43rd anniversary of the Canadian Confederation and the bank holidays of our great and beautiful country.

"On this occasion, the Canadian people naturally look back and look forward. In looking back, we are pleased to be able to draw comparisons between our country and Belgium - and to note that during the last four decades both peoples have developed in a marvellous way, under the aegis of their free institutions. We rejoice in the progress made by your country in the fields of industry, commerce, agriculture, the arts, finance and also in the colonial field.
"We applaud the prodigious development which the great and patriotic monarch whom you have just lost was able to promote in all branches of your national activity, and we bow with respect to the memory of his name.

"We also greet with emotion your new sovereigns, your King so justly popular, your Queen so attractive by her simplicity, her grace and her goodness. Only a few days of reign were enough for them to win the affection of the Belgian people in a masterly way. Your sovereigns have done more: they have succeeded, in a short time, in surrounding their royal foreheads with a bright and luminous halo, that is to say, with the spontaneous and respectful admiration of all the peoples of the earth. Like the Belgian nation, we are certain that the reign of His Majesty Albert I and Queen Elisabeth, inaugurated under such glorious auspices, will be happy and full of prosperity for Belgium.

"As for our country, noting the progress made since Confederation and especially during the last two decades, we look to the future with confidence. Thanks to the increase in our population and to the foreign capital which we know will be eager to take advantage of our advantages and resources, we shall be able, during this century, to bring out of our soil, our forests and our mountains, our oceans and our rivers, our lakes and our rivers, the immense riches which lie dormant there, and whose rational exploitation will contribute, not only to the prosperity of our country, but also to the well-being of all mankind, thanks to international exchanges. "

Mr. Coté addressed his thanks to the various personalities of the Government's General Commission and the Executive Committee, and especially to Minister Hubert.

Mr Coté concludes with these words:
"There is a word in the French language which wonderfully expresses the feelings that every man with a heart in its place has for those who do him good. It has only two syllables; we learn to stammer it in childhood and, as we grow up and come into contact with humanity, it escapes from our lips to those who are kind to us. Well, I address this word tonight to all of you, with the sincerity of our Canadian hearts: Thank you! Thank you again! Always thank you! "

To this speech, Mr. Hubert, Minister of Industry and Labour, replied on behalf of the government. He noted that the Canadian pavilion had the gift of attracting crowds to the Exhibition; he compared our country, whose population was the most dense of all the countries in the world, and Canada, so rich, and where a brilliant future could await those who would go to populate it. The Minister recalled the words of Sir Wilfrid Laurier, who said: "I love France which gave us life; I love England which gave us liberty, but I love Canada above all, which is my country and my soil. A people that feels this way," the Minister says, "is a people of the future and can be proud of itself; and Sir Wilfrid Laurier was right when he said, and I say it with him: "If the nineteenth century was the century of the United States, the twentieth century will be the century of Canada. "
Thanks to her activity," said Mr. Hubert in closing, "to her labour, to an enlightened government, Canada sees her highest destinies opening before her; tomorrow she will be a great nation. "

Then Mr. Maurice Lemonnier, replacing Mr. Janssen, who was indisposed, congratulated the Canadian Commissioners on their brilliant participation. He praised this beautiful country, which can still give well-being and wealth to those who will go to it. The honourable alderman of Brussels spoke very eloquently in praise of the Canadian Exhibition, which speaks not only to the eyes but also to the mind.

A very interesting concert-promenade ended this brilliant festival, definitively establishing the very great and legitimate success of the Canadian participation.

©Exposition Bruxelles 1910

Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

23 avril 1910 - 1 novembre 1910


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Canada

Canada à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1910

La participation canadienne est l’une des plus belles et des plus intéressantes, surtout pour un pays surpeuplé comme le nôtre.

Les directeurs de l’exposition, M. le colonel William Hutchison, commissaire - général, et M. Thomas Côté, commissaire-général adjoint, et les fonctionnaires qui les assistent, se sont proposés de montrer aux habitants de la Belgique les immenses ressources naturelles du Canada et ils y ont pleinement réussi. Grâce aux produits exposés, aux indications qui les accompagnent et aux tableaux suggestifs qui complètent le tout, on peut se faire une idée exacte du Canada, un des greniers du monde et un des dépôts de minerais les plus riches de l’univers.



Un vaste empire pourrait être édifié sur la partie du globe que couvre le Canada. Ce pays comprend en effet la moitié septentrionale de tout le continent de l’Amérique du Nord. Son étendue est de 3,745,574 milles carrés : c’est presque la superficie de tout le continent européen. Dans cet immense territoire pourraient loger quatorze Autriche-Hongrie. Il a dix-huit fois la superficie de l’Allemagne ; dix-huit fois celle de la France ; quarante-quatre fois celle de l'Italie, et deux cent trente-quatre fois celle de la Suisse. Le Canada est aussi grand que les Etats-Unis avec les dépendances américaines de Hawaï et les îles Philippines.

Le chiffre de la population que le Canada peut sustenter est si considérable que l’on ne saurait s’en faire actuellement une idée exacte, et il faut encore rester dans les conjectures. Il pourrait loger et sustenter autant de millions de population qu’il y en a aux Indes ou en Chine. C’est un pays de vastes plaines, de zones forestières splendides, de montagnes altières, de. rivières majestueuses, de lacs immenses, de havres profonds et sûrs et d’un climat sain et vivifiant.

De l’est à l’ouest, le Canada mesure trois mille milles ; du sud au nord, quinze cents milles. Il s’étend à partir de la latitude de la Méditerranée, au sud, jusqu’à l’océan arctique.

Au sud du Canada se trouvent les Etats-Unis. Sur un parcours de presque trois mille milles, ces deux pays sont limitrophes. Le Canada est borné à l’ouest par le Pacifique et l’Alaska, au nord par l’océan Arctique et à l’est par l’océan Atlantique.


Les Canadiens sont au nombre de 7,600,000. Un recensement se fait tous les dix ans dans le pays sous la direction du gouvernement. Le dernier a été fait au mois de mars 1901. Il indiquait que la population était, à cette époque, de 5,37 1,3 1 5. Durant les neuf années qui se sont écoulées depuis ce dénombrement, il y a eu une augmentation considérable. L’immigration d’Europe et des Etats-Unis a été constante. Il n’y a pas eu pratiquement d’émigration du Canada aux Etats-Unis, bien qu’autrefois ce mouvement de population fut constant. Ainsi donc, le Dominion a profité de toute l’augmentation naturelle des neuf années.


Le Canada est un pays à la fois très neuf et très civilisé. Les grandes photographies coloriées et transparentes et les peintures intéressantes qui contribuent, si agréablement, à la décoration de, la section, le présentent sous ces deux aspects.

On voit d’une part d’immenses hôtels de belle apparence, des ponts, des quais, des ouvrages d’art prodigieux, d’immenses navires qui font le service des grands lacs, des élévateurs, des briqueteries, de papeteries, des bâtiments de mine énormes ; d’autre part, les vastes champs, les grosses cultures, ces vergers opulents qui gagnent tous les jours sur l’ancienne sauvagerie, les forêts exubérantes, les paysages grandioses d’un caractère étrangement impressionnant.

Au centre de la section sont rassemblées les machines agricoles et s’érigent en trophées les produits caractéristiques de la contrée. L’un de ces trophées est formé d’anthracite, de mica, d’amiante et de nickel. Ces quatre minéraux font particulièrement l’orgueil du Canada. La production du nickel, surtout, est son apanage ; il fournit les neuf dixièmes de ce qu’en consomme le monde entier.

Mais il faut faire le tour de la section et s’arrêter devant les grandes loges qui donnent une idée si complète de la production canadienne. Des panoramas, au fond de chacune, contribuent à la démonstration de ses différents genres d’activité.

Dans la première est représentée la culture des grains : la ferme, les moissons, la récolte, tous les travaux qui incombent au fermier jusqu’à ce qu’il apporte son blé à l’elevator, où on lui en donne le reçu qu’il peut négocier à sa guise : car, à partir de l’elevator, où le grain de la région est emmagasiné, le transport et la vente ne le regardent plus. C’est affaire d’une organisation commerciale spéciale. Le principe de la division du travail est toujours observé en Amérique.

Dans le compartiment figurent des échantillons de toutes les variétés de grains cultivés, des exemples de la façon dont ils sont empaquetés et distribués dans le commerce, des types de tous les produits qu’on en tire : farines, bières, whisky, etc., etc.

Le second compartiment montre une des régions situées à la limite du Canada sauvage et du Canada défriché, une de celles où s’affirme l’effort énergique des pionniers. A l’avant-plan, les cultures en pleine valeur. Plus loin, les premiers ensemencements. Au fond, la terre vierge. Et, fuyant devant le travail humain, la cohue des animaux qui naguère vivaient là à l’état sauvage et que la charrue va sans cesse refoulant vers des réserves plus éloignées.

Le compartiment suivant montre les produits et le matériel de la pêche, les poissons excellents qui abondent dans des eaux aussi fertiles que les terres.
Puis viennent les bois d’ébénisterie et de menuiserie de tous les tons, du blanc au rouge brun, du jaune au brun et au vert : il y en a, comme l’érable, qu’on s’étonne de voir si peu employés, si peu Connus chez nous. Le panorama représente une rivière coulant dans une forêt canadienne, habitée par des castors : et on aménage un bassin dans lequel vous verrez des castors vivants, construisant leurs habitations. Si vous avez lu dans votre enfance les romans de Mayne-Reid — oh ! l’Habitation du Désert - vous aurez gardé pour les castors une curiosité sympathique qui trouvera à se satisfaire (on dit bien que nous avons des castors chez nous, mais ils ne sont pas de l’espèce laborieuse).

Au delà, autre panorama de forêt : des conifères que l’on exploite pour la fabrication dp la pâte à papier. Vous voyez aussi là comment s’opèrent l’abattage, le transport, toute la mise en œuvre du « bois de pulpe ». Ce compartiment sera animé par des oursons vivants, personnages qui se rencontrent fréquemment dans les bois dont il s’agit.

Voici maintenant les produits de l'exploitation des mines : les charbons, les gros blocs de mica, l’amiante et la machine qui le broient le réduit en fibres, les feldspath, les minerais brillants, disposés sous une voûte caverneuse qui sera éclairée par des jeux de lumière électrique. Au fond, des cercles concentriques symbolisent... le Pôle Nord ! Car le Pôle Nord, prétendent les Canadiens, n’est ni à Peary, ni à Cook : il est au Canada.

Ici s’alignent les innombrables matériaux de construction et encore des produits des mines. Les pierres et les marbres, bruts, polis, taillés, offrent une variété de grains et de teintes extraordinaire. Il y a un porphyre rouge superbe. Il y a un tas de ce minerai d’argent qui rend 2,500 francs à la tonne. Il y a des pépites d’or du Klon-dyke. Il y a, bien entendu, le nickel, l’asbeste, le mica nationaux... Mais je ne pourrais vous dire tout ce qu’il y a : du reste, un professeur de l’Université de Montréal viendra, pendant la plus grande partie de l’Exposition, s'installer ici pour fournir à tous ceux que la chose intéresse, tous les renseignements désirables sur la minéralogie canadienne.

Enfin, conclut M. Ed. Cattier, à qui nous empruntons une partie de cette description, devant un panorama de vergers édéniques où l’on procède à la cueillette des pommes, sont conservés dans des bocaux l’assortiment splendide des fruits canadiens, pommes, prunes, cerises, raisins, pêches, abricots énormes, rebondis, pléthoriques, crevant de jus, et aussi savoureux, assure-t-on, que beaux ; et aussi les marmelades, confitures, vins, liqueurs de fruits ; et le miel ; et ce jus sucré de l’érable dont le bon Mayne-Reid, encore, nous entretenait en notre jeune temps.


Le succès de la participation canadienne a a été en grandissant, et nous n’en voulons pour preuve que la foule élégante qui se pressait au pavillon le Ier juillet, les organisateurs ayant voulu faire coïncider la date de la cérémonie officielle d’ouverture avec celle de la fête de la confédération canadienne.
C’est MM. Hutchison et Coté, commissaires-généraux, qui recevaient les nombreux invités.

Il y avait là toutes les notabilités de l’Exposition, de nombreux membres du corps diplomatique, ainsi que de nombreuses dames et jeunes filles.
Au nom de M. le commissaire-général Hutchison tant qu’en son nom personnel, M. Coté s’est exprimé en ces termes :
« Au nom de M. le colonel Hutchison, pu nom de tous les membres de la commission canadienne à l’Exposition, au nom du Canada, j’ai l’honneur et le plaisir de vous souhaiter la bienvenue au milieu de nous ce soir.

» En entrant dans ce pavillon, vous avez pu lire cette inscription : « Soyez les bienvenus ! » Cette parole s’adresse depuis le commencement de l’Exposition et s’adressera jusqu’à la fin de ce grand congrès international, à tous ceux qui nous ont fait et nous feront l’honneur d’une visite. Mais, la bienvenue que nous vous souhaitons ce soir est, de notre part, d’autant plus cordiale que vous venez célébrer avec nous le 43e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne et la fête nationale de notre grand et beau pays.

» A l’occasion de cette fête, le peuple canadien jette naturellement un coup d’œil dans le passé et regarde aussi vers l’avenir. En regardant dans le passé, nous sommes heureux de pouvoir établir des points de comparaison entre notre pays et la Belgique — et de constater que durant les quatre dernières décades, les deux peuples se sont développés d’une façon merveilleuse, sous l’égide de leurs institutions libres. Nous nous réjouissons des progrès accomplis par votre pays dans les domaines de l’industrie, du commerce, de l’agriculture, des arts, de la finance et aussi dans le domaine colonial.
» Nous applaudissons au développement prodigieux qu’a su promouvoir dans toutes les branches de votre activité nationale le grand et patriotique monarque que vous venez de perdre et nous nous inclinons avec respect au souvenir de son nom.

» Nous saluons aussi avec émotion vos nouveaux souverains, votre Roi si justement populaire, votre Reine si attirante par sa simplicité, sa grâce et sa bonté. Quelques jours de règne seulement leur ont suffi pour conquérir d’une façon maîtresse l’affection du peuple belge. Vos souverains ont fait plus : ils ont réussi, en peu de temps, à entourer leurs fronts royaux d’une auréole brillante et lumineuse, c’est-à-dire de l’admiration spontanée et respectueuse de tous les peuples de la terre. A l'instar de la nation belge, nous avons l’a certitude que le règne de S. M. Albert Ier et de la reine Elisabeth, inauguré sous de si glorieux auspices, sera heureux et tout rempli de prospérité pour la Belgique.

» Quant à ce qui regarde notre pays, en constatant les progrès réalisés depuis la Confédération et surtout durant- les deux dernières décades, nous envisageons l’avenir avec confiance. Grâce à l’augmentation de notre population et aux capitaux étrangers qui, nous le savons, seront désireux de profiter de nos avantages et de nos ressources, nous pourrons, durant ce siècle, sortir de notre sol, de nos forêts et de nos montagnes, de nos océans et de nos fleuves, de nos lacs et de nos rivières, les immenses richesses qui y dorment et dont l’exploitation rationnelle contribuera, à la prospérité non seulement de notre pays, mais au bien-être de toute l’humanité, grâce aux échanges internationaux. »

M. Coté a adressé de vLs remerciements aux différentes personnalités du commissariat-général du gouvernement et du comité exécutif, et spécialement à M. le ministre Hubert.

M. Coté termine par ces mots :
« Il est dans la langue française un mot qui exprime merveilleusement les sentiments que tout homme ayant le cœur à sa place entretient pour ceux qui lui font du bien. Il n’a que deux syllabes ; on apprend à le balbutier dès l’enfance et, au fur et à mesure que l’on vient en contact avec l’humanité en grandissant, il s’échappe de nos lèvres à l’adresse de ceux qui ont de la bonté pour nous. Eh ! bien, ce mot, je l’adresse ce soir à tous, avec la sincérité de nos cœurs de Canadiens : Merci ! Encore merci ! Toujours merci ! »

A ce discours, M. Hubert, ministre de l’industrie et du travail, répond au nom du gouvernement. Il constate que le pavillon du Canada a le don d’attirer la foule à l’Exposition ; il compare notre pays, dont la population est la plus dense de tous les pays du monde, et le Canada, si riche, et où un avenir brillant peut attendre ceux qui iront le peupler. Le ministre rappelle les paroles de sir Wilfrid Laurier, qui disait : « J’aime la France qui nous a donné la vie; j’aime l’Angleterre qui nous donna la liberté, mais j’aime surtout le Canada, qui est ma patrie et mon sol. » Un peuple qui a ce sentiment, déclare le ministre, est un peuple d’avenir et peut être fier de lui ; et sir Wilfrid Laurier avait raison de dire, et je le dis avec lui : « Si le XIXe siècle fut le siècle des Etats-Unis, le XXe siècle sera celui du Canada. »
« Grâce à son activité, dit en terminant M. Hubert, à son labeur, à un gouvernement éclairé, le Canada voit s’ouvrir devant lui les plus hautes destinées ; demain, il sera une grande nation. »

Puis, M. Maurice Lemonnier, remplaçant M. Janssen, indisposé, a félicité ensuite les commissaires canadiens de la brillante participation. Il a lait l’éloge de ce beau pays, qui peut donner encore, à ceux qui iront vers lui, le bien-être et la richesse. L’honorable échevin de Bruxelles a fait très éloquemment l’éloge de l’Exposition canadienne, qui parle, non seulement aux yeux, mais aussi à la pensée.

Un très intéressant concert-promenade termina cette brillante fête consacrant définitivement le très grand et légitime succès de la participation canadienne.

©Exposition Bruxelles 1910