Brussels World and International Exhibition 1910

Works of Art, Scientific Works and Products of Industry and Agriculture of all Nations

April 23, 1910 - November 1, 1910


Back - List of Pavilions

Dutch Garden

Dutch Garden at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1910

The Dutch garden is also of great interest. Created by the Dutch Horticultural Federation of Rotterdam, it is of a curious and original design.

We are in a regular garden again, but how different from the first! How to express this particular character, perhaps a little cold, but nevertheless very interesting?

It is no longer elegance, grace and harmonious proportions that characterise the garden; but we like it because of its amusing aspect, although of very sober and simple lines, because of the succession of pictures that successively present themselves to our interested eye, because of the great fantasy that presides over the arrangement of the many details.


The panorama of the garden of the City of Paris, which at one time charmed and moved us by the breadth of its lines, has given way to a series of very deliberate motifs.

Let us recall the layout of the garden - a rectangle of fairly limited extent.

In the corners are four small kiosks containing various collections and somewhat dominating the whole, while the entrance, of great character, is located in the middle of each side. The interior of the rectangle is divided in a very simple way by wide strips of various flowers, slightly downwards, separated by paths. In the centre, the lowest point of the garden, the pond is logically located, surrounded by resting places.

The different levels are - deliberately - clearly defined by a few steps, framed by pedestals with vases adorning the rest rooms.

As soon as you enter the garden, you pass through one of the well-proportioned and richly decorated gates, and a picture alone would be enough to characterise the garden. It is a wooden bench, slightly raised on a terrace and leaning against a hedge of dark green conifers, of a simple and very happy design, painted in plain white and framed by two vases lined with pruned green shrubs. This scene, dominating some brick steps which complete the whole, constitutes
an original room, a pretty corner of a captivating intimacy. Perhaps dazzling flowers in vases would have brightened it up; but I fear that they would have, for all their fantasy, and perhaps because of it, made this really successful entrance banal.

Here again, surrounding the basin, very simple in outline, and the central fountain, is a series of benches, this time in stone, pleasantly framed by pilasters with identically decorated vases.

The ensemble thus constituted is most pleasing and fully satisfies you. Thus, the same dominant thought, the same spirit, presided over the general arrangement, so as to give the whole a unique and very typical character.

All the interest of the garden lies in the originality of the details, in the layout of the successive terraces, which can be perfectly dominated from the corner pavilions, in the choice and variety of the plantations, all of which come from Holland, where the conifers, evergreen shrubs, pruned, placed at the main points, emphasise the character of the ensembles. Here a box tree is curiously erect, in the shape of a bird. Here a yew tree is elegantly trained, revealing the patience of Dutch gardeners, while further on, in wide beds, single-coloured roses, bright white geraniums, resplendent sage and other flowers, framed by the fresh green of the lawns, stand out vigorously against the dark background of the former and infuse the characteristic ensemble with colour and life.


In principle, such a garden, with the necessary modifications resulting from the layout of the site and the preferences of the individual, could certainly be adapted to many situations. In many cases, and especially for small areas, especially in cities, it would be an advantageous replacement for those conventional gardens - a pale imitation of the landscape garden - which are so widespread, although they are often hopelessly banal and devoid of character.

I will conclude here the few remarks I thought it would be interesting to submit to you on the subject of these gardens.

It is rather curious to observe that their dominant feature is regularity. It seemed to everyone, and rightly so, in my opinion, that this was the most perfect expression, the style best suited to communicate to the tired visitor, on leaving the Galleries and Palaces, the most joy, the most well-being and the most comforting calm.

© Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1910

Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

23 avril 1910 - 1 novembre 1910


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Jardin Hollandais

Jardin Hollandais à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1910

D’un tout autre caractère, le jardin hollandais présente aussi un grand intérêt. Créé par la Fédération d’horticulture néerlandaise de Rotterdam, il est d’une facture curieuse et originale.

Nous sommes dans un jardin régulier encore, mais combien différent du premier ! Comment exprimer ce caractère particulier, peut-être un peu froid, mais des plus intéressant cependant ?

Ce n’est plus ici l’élégance, la grâce, lés proportions harmonieuses du tracé qui caractérisent le jardin ; mais il nous plaît par son côté amusant, quoique de lignes très sobres et simples, par la succession des tableaux qui s’offrent successivement à notre œil intéressé, par la grande fantaisie qui préside à l’arrangement des multiples détails.


Le panorama du jardin de la Ville de Paris qui, tantôt, nous charmait et nous émouvait par l’ampleur de ses lignes, a fait place à une suite de motifs très voulus.

Rappelons la disposition du jardin — constitué par un rectangle d’étendue assez restreinte.

Dans les coins sont placés quatre petits kiosques renfermant diverses collections et dominant quelque peu l’ensemble, tandis que l’entrée, de beaucoup de caractère, est située au milieu de chaque côté. L’intérieur du rectangle est divisé de façon très simple par de larges bandes diversement fleuries, légèrement en contre-bas, que séparent des sentiers. Au centre, point inférieur du jardin, est situé, de façon très logique, le bassin entouré d’emplacements pour le repos.

Les différents niveaux sont — ce qui est voulu — nettement déterminés par quelques marches, encadrées de piédestaux avec vases ornant les salles de repos.

Dès l’entrée, à peine a-t-on franchi l’une des grilles des mieux proportionnées et si riches, un tableau, à lui seul, suffirait à caractériser ce jardin. C’est légèrement exhaussé sur un terre-plein formant terrasse et adossé à une haie de conifères d’un vert sombre, un banc en bois, d’un dessin simple et très heureux, peint en blanc uni et encadré de deux vases garnis d’arbustes verts taillés. Cette scène, dominant quelques marches en briques qui complètent l’ensemble, constitue
une salle originale, un joli coin d’une intimité prenante. Peut-être des fleurs éblouissantes dans les vases l’auraient-elles égayé ; mais je crains cependant qu’elles n’eussent, malgré toute leur fantaisie, et peut-être à causé d’elle, rendu banale cette entrée vraiment réussie.

Voici encore, entourant le bassin, très simple de contour, et la fontaine centrale, une suite de bancs, en pierre cette fois, agréablement encadrés de pilastres avec vases garnis identiquement.

L’ensemble ainsi constitué est des plus heureux et vous satisfait entièrement. Ainsi donc, c’est la même pensée dominante, le même esprit, qui a présidé à l’arrangement général, de façon à donner à l’ensemble un caractère unique et bien typique.

Tout l’intérêt du jardin réside dans l’originalité des détails, dans la disposition des terrasses successives et que l’on domine parfaitement des pavillons d’angle, dans le choix et la variété des plantations, provenant toutes de Hollande, où les conifères, arbustes toujours verts, taillés, placés aux points principaux, accusent le caractère des ensembles. Ici un buis est curieusement dressé, en forme d’oiseau. Là un if élégamment conduit nous révèle la patience des jardiniers hollandais, tandis que plus loin, en de larges plates-bandes, les roses unicolores, les géraniums d’une blancheur éclatante, les sauges resplendissantes ou autres fleurs, encadrées par le vert frais des gazons, tranchent vigoureusement sur le fond sombre des premiers et infusent à l’ensemble si caractéristique la couleur et la vie.

En principe, un tel jardin, en y introduisant évidemment les modifications nécessaires résultant de la disposition des lieux et des préférences de chacun, pourrait certainement s’adapter à de multiples situations. Dans bien des cas, et surtout pour des emplacements réduits, dans les villes notamment, il remplacerait avec avantage ces jardinets de convention — pâle imitation du jardin paysager — qui sont pourtant si répandus, quoique le plus souvent d’une désespérante banalité et sans aucun caractère.

Je termine ici les quelques remarques qu’il me semblait intéressant de vous soumettre au sujet de ces jardins.

Il est assez curieux d’observer que leur dominante est la régularité. Il a donc paru, à tous, et avec raison, à mon avis, que c’était là l’expression la plus parfaite, le style le mieux en situation pour communiquer au visiteur fatigué, au sortir des Galeries et Palais, le plus de joie, le plus de bien-être et de calme réconfortant.

© Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1910