Brussels World and International Exhibition 1910

Works of Art, Scientific Works and Products of Industry and Agriculture of all Nations

April 23, 1910 - November 1, 1910


Back - List of Pavilions

Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering at the Exhibition Brussels 1910

A special palace housed the Civil Engineering Section. It was one of the largest of all those built for the Exhibition. For a moment, it was hoped that it would be spared the fate of other buildings made of ephemeral materials and adorned with postitious decorations. The project was commendable; it was especially logical in the circumstances. But chance and setbacks thwarted it. Rather than see their palace completed only in the autumn, the contractors, already very late, long after the inauguration of all the other sections, decided to finish in wood, plaster and staff what had been started in stone and brick.

The architecture alone therefore appeared to us to be in keeping with the intentions. It undoubtedly gave a great air to this palace in three perpendicular wings two by two.

The Civil Engineering Pavilion was inaugurated on Saturday 18 June. Among the many personalities present were Ministers Hubert, Delbeke and Renkin, Léon Hubert, Georges Dupret, etc.

Mr Hubert gave the opening speech, to which Mr Delbeke replied. Mr. Delbeke warmly congratulated the members of the Organising Committee of the pavilion, which will allow everyone to get an accurate picture of the considerable programme of work carried out in Belgium since 1830.

The Minister paid tribute to the merit of our engineers, and insisted on the importance of road transport and on the measures to be taken to facilitate the circulation of the most modern vehicles. He promised to take an interest in the work of the next road congress and to take account of the conclusions that will be reached there.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Bruxelles 1910

Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

23 avril 1910 - 1 novembre 1910


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Génie Civil

Génie Civil à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1910

Un palais spécial abritait la Section du Génie civil. Il était un des plus vastes de tous ceux que l’Exposition vit édifier. On eut un instant le désir de lui épargner le sort des autres constructions érigées en matériaux éphémères et parées de décors postiches. Le projet était louable; il était surtout logique en l’occurrence. Mais des hasards et des déboires vinrent le contrecarrer. Plutôt que de ne voir leur palais terminé qu’à l’automne, les entrepreneurs, déjà fort en retard, bien longtemps après l’inauguration de toutes les autres sections, prirent le parti d’achever en bois, en plâtre et en staff ce qui avait été commencé en pierres et en briques.

L’architecture seule nous apparut donc conforme aux intentions. Elle donnait incontestablement grand air à ce palais en trois ailes perpendiculaires deux à deux.

Le pavillon du Génie civil a été inauguré le samedi 18 juin. Parmi les nombreuses personnalités présentes figuraient MM. les ministres Hubert, Delbeke et Renkin, MM. Léon Hubert, Georges Dupret, etc.

M. Hubert a prononcé le discours d’ouverture, auquel a répondu M. Delbeke. Celui-ci a vivement félicité les membres du Comité organisateur du pavillon, qui permettra à chacun de se rendre un compte exact du programme considérable des travaux réalisés en Belgique depuis 1830.

Le Ministre a rendu hommage au mérite de nos ingénieurs, et insisté sur l’importance du roulage et sur les mesures à prendre en vue de faciliter la circulation des véhicules les plus modernes. Il a promis de s’intéresser aux travaux du prochain congrès de la route et de tenir compte des conclusions qui y seront prises.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Bruxelles 1910