Back - List of Pavilions

Water and Forestry, Hunting and Fishing -

Water and Forestry, Hunting and Fishing at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1910

A magnificent palace, situated between the French Colonial Pavilions and Victoria Avenue, erected its snow-white architecture against the bright sky. It was a very happy effect, very lively, very open-air, and, as soon as one entered the palace, it was natural to see greenery and to hear the murmur of water jets.

Among a thousand other things, we should note a fairly new enterprise which deserves to be encouraged: it is the planting of slag heaps. Slag heaps are heaps of factory slag, which form almost hills in industrial countries, so much so that they rise up, and which were uncultivated until recent years. Following studies carried out in institutes such as Gembloux, attempts have been made to grow trees on this land, which seemed destined to remain dead to vegetation and whose blackness is enough to mourn the appearance of an entire region. Hornbeams, birches, elms, poplars, locust trees, alders and beeches were planted. These species have been successful.

Specimens of these new crops can be found at various points in the province of Hainaut, notably at Pâturages. In Charleroi, we could see a small, very green and robust wood, of various species, at the foot of the station, established on an old slag heap. Before undertaking such plantations, it is obviously necessary to have allowed sufficient time to elapse since the slag heap was abandoned, from fifteen to twenty years, to allow the fermentation of the ferruginous and sulphurous materials to be completely exhausted. The natural turfing of the slag heap must also precede the plantations for a few years.

Another curiosity is the Overmeire station, founded a few years ago by Dr. Rousseau, showing a very complete set of lake studies. The station has a scientific programme and a programme of practical applications. The plankton of different waters and the propagation of plankton are studied. This animal and plant element is the food of fish. The study of plankton has the greatest connection with fish farming. The diseases of the inhabitants of our waters have also given rise to numerous studies, the instructive results of which were clearly presented.

The Overmeire station summarised its extensive programme as follows
1° to draw up a qualitative inventory of the animal and plant productions of the country's waters and to constitute a collection that will be handed over to the State;
2° to draw up a quantitative inventory of these productions, i.e. to determine the different associations and groupings of species which constitute the "personality" of the local flora and fauna; 30 to study the habits and anatomy of freshwater plants and animals.

Let us conclude by praising this entire Exhibition and the compartment of the Fishing Pupils' School. This work was founded by Prince Albert in 1906. In the founder's speech, we note these beautiful words that the management has taken as a guideline: "In this floating school," said the Prince, "we will establish a paternal regime: people must be happy there. These simple words, well inspired, made a fortune.

The Exhibition was organised by the Œuvre de l'Ibis. It was one of the Section's successful stands, clean and neat in its correctness of maritime discipline, with the little emotion that always brings out the image of the frail child in contact with the terrible sea!

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Bruxelles 1910

Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

23 avril 1910 - 1 novembre 1910


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Eaux et forêts, Chasse et pêche

Eaux et forêts, Chasse et pêche à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1910

Un magnifique palais, situé entre les pavillons des colonies françaises et l’avenue Victoria, érigeait son architecture blanche comme neige sur le ciel éclatant. C’était d’un effet très heureux, très enlevé, très plein air, et, dès l’entrée du palais, on trouvait naturel d’y voir de la verdure et d’y entendre murmurer des jets d’eau.

A noter, entre mille choses, une entreprise assez nouvelle et qui mérite beaucoup d'être encouragée : c’est la plantation sur les terrils, on sait que les terrils sont ces amas de scories d’usines, formant dans les pays industriels presque des collines, tant elles s’exhaussent, et qui étaient incultes jusqu'en ces dernières années. A la suite d’études faites dans des instituts comme celui de Gembloux, on a essayé de l’arboriculture sur ces terrains qui semblaient devoir rester morts à la végétation et dont le noir ensemble suffit à endeuiller l’aspect de toute une contrée. On y a planté des charmes, des bouleaux, des ormes, des peupliers, des robiniers, des aulnes et des hêtres. Ces espèces y ont réussi.

On trouve des spécimens de ces nouvelles cultures en divers points de la province de Hainaut, notamment à Pâturages. A Charleroi, on a pu voir un petit bois très vert et robuste, d’essences variées, au pied de la gare, établi sur un ancien terril. Avant d’entreprendre de telles plantations, il faut évidemment avoir laissé s’écouler, depuis l’abandon du terril, un temps suffisant, de quinze à vingt ans, pour permettre à la fermentation des matières ferrugineuses et sulfureuses d’avoir atteint l’épuisement complet. Le gazonnement naturel du provoqué doit aussi, durant quelques années, précéder les plantations.

Autre curiosité : la station d’Overmeire, fondée il y a quelques années par le docteur Rousseau, montrant un ensemble très complet d’études lacustres. La station a un programme scientifique et un programme d’applications pratiques. On y étudie le plankton des différentes eaux et la propagation du plankton. Cet élément animal et végétal constitue la nourriture des poissons. Son étude a donc les plus grands rapports avec la pisciculture. Les maladies des habitants de nos eaux ont également donné lieu à de nombreuses études dont les résultats instructifs étaient clairement exposés.

La station d’Overmeire résume ainsi son programme, fort étendu :
1° dresser l’inventaire qualitatif des productions animales et végétales des eaux du pays et constituer une collection qui sera remise à l’Etat;
2° dresser l’inventaire quantitatif de ces productions, c’est-à-dire déterminer les différentes associations, groupements d’espèces qui constituent la « personnalité » des flores et faunes locales ; 30 étudier les mœurs et l’anatomie des plantes et animaux d’eaux douces.

Terminons par des éloges à toute cette Exposition et au compartiment de l'Ecole des pupilles de la pêche. Cette œuvre fut fondée par le Prince Albert en 1906. On remarquera, dans le discours du fondateur, ces jolies paroles que la direction a prises pour ligne de conduite : « Dans cette école flottante, disait le Prince, nous établirons un régime paternel : il faut que l’on y soit heureux ». Ces simples mots, bien inspirés, ont fait fortune.

L’Exposition fut organisée par l’Œuvre de l’Ibis. Ce fut un des stands à succès de la Section, propre et net dans sa correction de discipline maritime, avec la petite émotion qui fait toujours naître l’image de l’enfant frêle en contact avec la mer terrible !

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Bruxelles 1910