Brussels World and International Exhibition 1910

Works of Art, Scientific Works and Products of Industry and Agriculture of all Nations

April 23, 1910 - November 1, 1910


Back - List of Pavilions

Sunlight - Soap

Sunlight - Soap at the Exhibition Expo Brussels 1910

The Forest factory is a model factory, manufacturing an incomparable product. The participation of the Sunlight in our world's fair allows the public to get an exact idea of the manufacture of the soap that they prefer.

Follow the majestic avenue that leads from the entrance of the Exhibition to the festival hall. No sooner have you passed the large pool from which the nymphs and pelicans emerge than your attention is suddenly drawn to an elegant building, all white in the green setting provided by the nearby foliage of the Bois de la Cambre.

You would think you were in front of a stately home. The style is sober and tasteful. It is Flemish Renaissance, skilfully modernised. Large windows distribute the light. A graceful turret tops one of the corners of the building. An artistically designed gable rises above the door. A small semi-circular building, crowned by a pretty balustrade decorated with vases, completes the pavilion to the north. This elegant building, which looks very good next to the artistic monuments erected by the cities of Brussels, Ghent and Liege, is the Sunlight Pavilion.

Let's go inside now. From the avenue, a few steps lead us up. We are in a large, bright white room, an exhibition hall, a shop and a workshop all in one.

Large frescoes covering a large section of wall introduce us to the work of saponification, while in the room male and female workers carry out the various operations of cutting, punching and packing the yellowish paste, which has been converted into symmetrical blocks and placed in those elegant boxes that all our housewives know.

At the back of the room is a panorama, which immediately captures our attention. It now shows us the practical results of this work, presented in an original and lively way. The soap briquettes, carefully packed in small square boxes, were delivered to the retail trade. Housewives have bought it. Its useful role will begin. Its unparalleled qualities will be revealed. Indeed, the panorama we are talking about, raised about a metre above the floor of the room, shows us, in a farmyard, in front of the flowery countryside, women busy with the work of washing. With their hands immersed in the basins, they are using the wonderful soap which, while reducing the effort and work, will give the laundry an unparalleled whiteness.

And is this not the best conception of an exhibition? What does it matter to display products if we are not shown the processes of their manufacture, if we are not made to feel, in a striking way, the advantages and qualities of them? Imagined in this way, an exhibition fulfils its true role: to educate while interesting, which is what the Brussels representatives of Sunlight Soap have understood so well in organising this splendid picture of industrial activity, so lively. Numerous visitors flock to this pavilion at any time of the day, where one can see the products that are now known and appreciated throughout the world and used in every household.

This famous firm owed it to its reputation to offer to the crowds attracted by our world's fair one of the most original and practically interesting spectacles imaginable.

© Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1910

Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

23 avril 1910 - 1 novembre 1910


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Sunlight - Savon

Sunlight - Savon à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1910

L’usine de Forest est une usine modèle, manufacturant un produit incomparable. La participation du Sunlight à notre world’s fair permet d’ailleurs au public de se faire une idée exacte de la fabrication du savon qui a ses préférences.

Suivez la majestueuse avenue qui, de l’entrée de l’Exposition, conduit à la salle des fêtes. A peine avez-vous dépassé le grand bassin d’où émergent les nymphes et les pélicans que votre attention est tout à coup attirée par une élégante construction, toute blanche dans le cadre de verdure que lui font les frondaisons voisines du bois de la Cambre.

On croirait se trouver devant une demeure seigneuriale. Le style en est sobre et de bon goût. C’est de la Renaissance flamande habilement modernisée. De larges baies distribuent la lumière. Une gracieuse tourelle surmonte un des angles du bâtiment. Un pignon, artistiquement conçu, s’élève au-dessus de la porte. Un petit bâtiment semi-circulaire, couronné par une jolie balustrade ornée de vases, termine au nord ce pavillon. Cette élégante bâtisse, qui fait très bonne figure à côté des monuments artistiques élevés par les villes de Bruxelles, de Gand et de Liège, c’est le pavillon du Sunlight.

Pénétrons à l’intérieur maintenant. De l’avenue quelques marches nous y conduisent. Nous sommes dans une vaste salle blanche et claire, tout à la fois un hall d’exposition, un magasin et un atelier.

De grandes fresques, couvrant un large pan de mur, nous initient aux travaux de saponification, tandis que dans la salle des ouvriers et des ouvrières effectuent les diverses opérations du découpage, du frappage, de l’emballage de la pâte jaunâtre, qui a été convertie en blocs symétriques et placés dans ces boîtes élégantes que toutes nos ménagères connaissent.

Au fond de la salle, un panorama, qui, de suite, captive notre attention. Il nous montre maintenant les résultats pratiques de ce travail, présentés d’une manière originale et vivante. Les briquettes du savon soigneusement empaquetées dans de petites boîtes carrées ont été livrées au commerce de détail. Des ménagères l’ont acheté. Son rôle utile va commencer. Ses qualités sans pareilles vont se révéler. En effet, le panorama dont nous parlons, surélevé d’un mètre environ au-dessus du plancher de la salle, nous montre, dans une cour de ferme, devant la campagne fleurie, des femmes occupées aux travaux de la lessive. Les mains plongées dans les cuvelles, elles font usage du savon merveilleux qui, tout en diminuant l'effort et le travail, donnera au linge une blancheur sans pareille.

Et n’est-ce point là la meilleure conception que l’on puisse avoir d’une exposition ? Qu’importe qu’on étale les produits si on ne nous montre pas les processus de leur fabrication, si on ne nous en fait pas sentir, d’une manière saisissante, les avantages et les qualités ? Imaginée ainsi une exposition remplit son véritable rôle : instruire en intéressant, c’est ce que les représentants à Bruxelles du Sunlight Savon ont si bien compris en organisant ce splendide tableau si animé, si vivant de l’activité industrielle. Des visiteurs nombreux se pressent ,à chaque moment de la journée dans ce pavillon, où l’on peut voir manufacturer les produits aujourd’hui connus et appréciés dans le monde entier, utilisés dans tous les ménages.

Cette firme célèbre devait à sa réputation d’offrir à la foule qu’attire notre world’s fair un des spectacles les plus originaux, les plus pratiquement intéressants qu’on ait pu imaginer.

© Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1910