Brussels World and International Exhibition 1910

Works of Art, Scientific Works and Products of Industry and Agriculture of all Nations

April 23, 1910 - November 1, 1910


Back - List of Pavilions

Plain of Attractions

Plain of Attractions at the Exhibition Brussels 1910

When, after having crossed the picturesque district of the Colonies, one arrived at the bridge over the Avenue du Pesage, one suddenly discovered the paradoxical swarming of the heterogeneous constructions which seemed to jostle each other in the Plain of Attractions.

Oh, what a strange and busy city!

Not everyone goes to the Exhibition to learn, do they?

We still go there to have fun. When you had had a tiring walk through the halls, when you had seen the main pavilions and crossed the gardens, you ended up in the Attractions Area. Access was free.

There were twenty or thirty attractions, each one funnier, more sensational, more curious, more moving than the last. There were the Water Bumps, the Thicklers, the Mountains Slides, the Scenic-Railways, the Mirror Maze, and other American imports of mad imagination. It was the Giant Tree, of which Micromegas alone would have been worthy to pluck one of the branches. It was the Apocalyptic Cave, into whose lair a fabulous dragon with disquieting glowing eyes would carry you away...

There was the Joyful House; there were the Charming Waves on which couples could be seen moving with a graceful ease that made the spectators admire them.

What else should we mention? The Redskins Station? The American Wild-West Show consisted of huge stands where 5000 people could comfortably sit and watch scenes from the prairie, performed in the open air by a troupe of Indians, cowboys and cowgirls. Picturesque, varied and sometimes even moving, this show was a great success from the first day.

Haunted by the memories of the impressive descriptions that James Fenimore Cooper drew of the ancient possessors of the American soil; seduced by the bold promises of the heroes of the tales of Captain Mayne Reid, that Irishman who, to tell it better, lived for two years on the banks of the Red River and hunted and traded with the inhabitants of the Far West - there was a real sympathy for these peoples for whom the "palefaces" had cruelties that had little to do with their civilizing mission? And this is probably the secret of the vogue of these exhibitions.

The American Wild West show was combined in such a way as to show us the Redskins in various aspects.

And since we are talking about primitives, let us say a word about the Senegalese Village.

The Senegalese Village! An agglomeration of huts, or rather of straw-roofed shelters, open to all winds, and under which the inhabitants initiated us into Senegalese occupations.
The children abounded, they were very nice. Good little faces and beautiful, velvety eyes, both soft and laughing.

As for the occupations in the village, they were quite basic.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910

23 avril 1910 - 1 novembre 1910


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Plaine des Attractions

Plaine des Attractions à l'exposition de Bruxelles 1910

Quand, après avoir traversé le pittoresque quartier des Colonies on arrivait au pont jeté sur l’avenue du Pesage, on découvrait tout-à-coup le grouillement paradoxal des hétéroclites constructions qui semblaient se bousculer dans la Plaine des Attractions.

Oh ! l’étrange ville et combien fréquentée!

Tout le monde ne va pas à l’Exposition pour s’instruire, n’est-ce pas ?

On y va encore pour s’amuser. Quand on avait fait une promenade fatigante dans les halls, quand on avait vu les principaux pavillons et traversé les jardins, on finissait par la Plaine des Attractions. L’accès en était gratuit.

Il y avait vingt, trente attractions plus drôles, plus sensationnelles, plus curieuses, plus émouvantes les unes que les autres. Ils y avait les Water Bumps, les Thicklers, -les Mountains Slides, les Scenic-Railways, les Mirror Maze et autres importations américaines d’imagination affolée. C'était l’Arbre géant dont Micromégas seul eût été digne de cueillir un des rameaux. C’était la Grotte apocalyptique dans l’antre de laquelle vous emportait un dragon fabuleux aux inquiétantes prunelles incandescentes...

Il y avait la Maison joyeuse ; il y avait les Vagues charmeuses sur lesquelles on voyait des couples évoluer avec une aisance gracieuse qui faisait l’admiration des spectateurs.

Que citer encore ? La station des Peaux-Rouges ? The american wild-west show était formé d’immenses tribunes où 5000 personnes pouvaient confortablement s’installer pour assister à des scènes de la Prairie, représentées en plein air par une troupe d’indiens, de cowboys et de cowgirls. Pittoresque, varié et parfois même émouvant, ce spectacle obtint dès le premier jour un gros succès.

Hanté des souvenirs des impressionnantes descriptions que James Fenimore Cooper traça des anciens possesseurs du sol américain ; séduit par les promesses hardies des héros des récits du capitaine Mayne Reid, cet Irlandais qui, pour mieux en parler, vécut pendant deux ans sur les bords de la Red River et chassa et commerça avec les habitants du Far-West — on éprouvait une réelle sympathie pour ces peuplades pour lesquelles les « visages pâles » eurent des cruautés peu en rapport avec leur mission civilisatrice ? Et c’est là très probablement le secret de la vogue de ces exhibitions.

Le spectacle de The american wild west show était combiné de manière à nous montrer les Peaux-Rouges sous divers aspects.

Et puisque nous parlons des primitifs, disons un mot du Village Sénégalais.

Le Village Sénégalais! Une agglomération de huttes, ou plutôt d’abris à toits de paille, ouverts à tous les vents, et sous lesquels les habitants nous initiaient aux occupations sénégalaises.
Les enfants pullulaient, ils étaient bien gentils. De bonnes petites frimousses et des yeux superbes, veloutés, à la fois doux et rieurs.

Quant aux occupations du village, elles étaient assez sommaires.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles 1910