Back - List of Pavilions

North African Tourism -

Missing picture
Architect(s) : Lévêque

The sense of unity, so favourable to any expansion, so useful to any success, is precisely what marks the North African bloc. The three governments that make it up have understood this. Their palates are distinct and in conformity with the characters of the races living on their soil, but judiciously harmonised so as to give the idea of unity.

In the field of tourism - a social pleasure of which mankind has been deprived for too long - this unity is so justified that Tunisia, Algeria and Morocco have brought together in a single pavilion everything that can be related to transport and other tourist industries. There are no watertight partitions, no borders from Tunis to Marrakech; and it is rare that the tourist limits his journey to one of these three countries. Rather three than one: that is the programme.

Between the Algeria Pavilion and the lake, you will find in a spacious pavilion everything you need to plan your trip to North Africa.

First of all, there is a relief map on which are drawn, in miniature, the magnificent tourist itineraries that an electric arrangement allows you to make appear, at your convenience, luminous and precise. All around, there are pictures, views, models, dioramas, which will excite your curiosity and imagination. At the same time, information of all kinds will specify the object of your desires.

My opinion is that you should start in the East and end up on the Atlantic coast, in the Moroccan cities and the great medieval kasbas of the Atlas. Everywhere the hospitality is great. One is at home; but with that familiarity peculiar to North Africa, which does not exclude, at times, grandeur.

The hotels of the Compagnie Transatlantique have installed comfort even in the desert. And I wish refined tourists to occupy, in the right season, a flat in the Mamounia, in Marrakech, or the Dar-Jamaï, in Fez. My friends Tharaud have described magnificently the Arab gardens of North Africa, in which the play of light and water becomes a play of our mind and soul. The breaths of the desert, the winds coming down from the mountains or up from the Mediterranean accompany this change of scenery, which seems so far away and is so close that, for many French people, North Africa has become a habit.

But how many tourists, on the other hand, give up on a journey whose difficulties and expenses they exaggerate and who would undertake it with joy and enthusiasm if they knew in advance the time they would have to devote to it, if they knew who would welcome their requests for information and who would answer their questions!

Here you can choose the most convenient ways, the most advantageous means to satisfy your desire. To travel is to enlarge your life. The shortest life is that of the recluse; the longest is that of the traveller. To travel, it is only necessary to leave. To leave, you need an invitation to travel: here it is.

©Guide officiel - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tourisme Nord-Africain

manque image

Architecte(s) : Lévêque

Le sens d’unité, si favorable à toute expansion, si utile à toute réussite, est justement ce qui marque le bloc nord-africain. Les trois gouvernements qui le composent l’ont bien compris. Leurs palais sont distincts et conformes aux caractères des races qui vivent sur leur sol, mais judicieusement harmonisés de façon à donner l'idée d’unité.

En matière de tourisme — plaisir social dont l'humanité a été trop longtemps privée, — cette unité se justifie tellement, que la Tunisie, l’Algérie et le Maroc ont réuni dans un seul pavillon tout ce qui peut toucher aux transports et autres industries touristiques. Il n’y a pas de cloisons étanches, pas de frontières de Tunis à Marrakech ; et il est rare que le touriste limite son voyage à un seul de ces trois pays. Plutôt trois qu’un : tel est le programme.

C'est donc entre le Pavillon de l’Algérie et le lac, que vous trouverez, dans un pavillon spacieux, tout ce qui peut vous faciliter un projet de voyage en Afrique du Nord.

Tout d’abord, un plan en relief sur lequel sont tracés, en miniature, les magnifiques itinéraires touristiques qu'un agencement électrique vous permet de faire apparaître, à votre gré, lumineux et précis. Tout autour, ce sont des tableaux, des vues, des maquettes, des dioramas, qui vont exciter votre curiosité, votre imagination. En même temps, des renseignements de tout ordre précisent l'objet de vos désirs.

Mon avis est qu'il faut commencer par l’Est et finir par la Côte Atlantique, par les villes marocaines et les grandes kasbas moyenâgeuses de l'Atlas. Partout l’hospitalité est large. On est chez soi ; mais avec cette familiarité propre à l’Afrique du Nord, qui n'exclut pas, à certains moments, la grandeur.

Les hôtels de la Compagnie Transatlantique ont installé le confort jusque dans le désert. Et je souhaite aux touristes raffinés d’occuper, à la bonne saison, un appartement de la Mamounia, à Marrakech, ou du Dar-Jamaï, à Fez. Mes amis Tharaud ont décrit magnifiquement les jardins arabes de l’Afrique du Nord, dans lesquels les jeux de la lumière et de l’eau deviennent jeux de notre esprit et de notre âme. Les souffles du désert, les vents descendus de la montagne ou remontés de la Méditerranée accompagnent ce dépaysement, qui semble fort lointain et qui est proche au point que, pour beaucoup de Français, l'Afrique du Nord est devenue une habitude.

Mais que de touristes, en revanche, renoncent à un voyage dont ils s'exagèrent les difficultés et les dépenses et qui l’entreprendraient avec joie et entrain s’ils connaissaient d'avance le temps qu'il leur faut y consacrer, s'ils savaient qui accueillera leurs demandes de renseignements et qui répondra à leurs questions !

Ici, vous pourrez choisir les voies les plus commodes, les moyens les plus avantageux pour satisfaire votre désir. Voyager, c’est agrandir sa vie. La vie la plus courte est celle du reclus ; la plus longue est celle du voyageur. Pour voyager, il n'est que de partir. Pour partir, il faut une invitation au voyage : la voici.

©Guide officiel - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931