International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Luxury Industries

Luxury Industries at the Exhibition Paris 1931

Architect(s) : Expert

To the right of the United States Pavilion and adjoining the Palace of the Netherlands, the Palace of Luxury and Miscellaneous Industries, situated in the middle of the park, is intended to highlight the refinement of taste in the industries of which France is so justly proud. The gardens along the western facade are decorated with the most beautiful products of ceramics and glassware.

The salon d'honneur, which is located at the entrance, was furnished by the group that includes the decoration and furniture of the houses. It gives access to the group that brings together the clothing accessory industries, and the yarn and fabric group, which are represented in such a way that the shimmer of cottons, wools, linens and silks harmonise to make them a joy to the eye.

Then move on to the two luxury groups par excellence: Haute Couture and Perfumes. Haute Couture must be doing significant business in North Africa and the Far East. But I know for a fact that in times of prosperity, the Blacks of Senegal are good customers for luxury perfumery, which they consume to a surprising degree.

These two groups are continued by the garment industry. The department stores show what French taste can put of finesse and even of personality in a conception of clothing which would appear at first sight too uniform.

Finally, a wing of the Palais, which has its own portico overlooking one of the entrances to the Exhibition, contains jewellery, goldsmith's and silversmith's work, ironwork and articles from Paris.

©Guide officiel - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Industries de Luxe

Industries de Luxe à l'exposition de Paris 1931

Architecte(s) : Expert

A droite du Pavillon des États-Unis et touchant au Palais des Pays-Bas, le Palais des Industries de luxe et diverses, situé en plein verdure, est destiné à mettre en lumière le raffinement du goût dans les industries dont la France est si justement fière. Les jardins qui longent la façade Ouest sont ornés des plus beaux produits de la céramique et de la verrerie.

Le salon d'honneur, qui se trouve à l'entrée, a été meublé par le groupe qui comprend la décoration et le mobilier des habitations. Il donne accès au groupe qui réunit les industries accessoires du vêtement, et au groupe fils et tissus, qui sont représentés de telle façon que les chatoiements des cotons, laines, lins et soies s’harmonisent pour en faire une joie des yeux.

Passez ensuite aux deux groupes de luxe par excellence : la Haute Couture et les Parfums. La Haute Couture doit faire des affaires importantes en Afrique du Nord et en Extrême-Orient. Mais je sais pertinemment qu’aux temps de prospérité, les Noirs du Sénégal sont de bons clients pour la parfumerie de luxe, dont ils font une surprenante consommation.

Ces deux groupes sont continués par la confection. Les grands magasins y montrent ce que le goût français peut mettre de finesse et même de personnalité dans une conception de l’habillement qui paraîtrait à première vue trop uniforme.

Enfin, une aile du Palais, qui a son portique particulier donnant sur une des entrées de l’Exposition, renferme la joaillerie, l'orfèvrerie, la ferronnerie d’art et les articles de Paris.

©Guide officiel - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931