Back - List of Pavilions

Suez Canal Company -

Missing picture
Architect(s) : Maurice Gras

Everyone knows that the Suez Canal is a great French achievement created by Ferdinand de Lesseps. But not everyone knows that the entire management of the canal remained French. On the other hand, the importance of the canal is not lost on anyone. In 1870, 486 ships transited with 436,000 tonnes; in 1929, 6,274 ships with 34,511,000 tonnes, i.e. 80 times more.

The draught has increased from 7.5 metres in 1870 to 10.6 metres today and will increase to 13 metres. The width, in the same time, has increased from 22 to 60 metres. So much so that the cube of excavated material has now reached 366 million metres. This represents the volume of a trench similar to that of our boulevards, but which would continue to Lyon. Thanks to this work, the transit time has fallen from 48 to 15 hours. As for the tariffs, still paid in gold francs, they were lowered from 10 francs per tonne of capacity to 6.65 francs.

These are the results and the main lines of the Suez Canal, which you must see in its pavilion. Relief plans, models of equipment, dioramic views (one of which represents the inauguration of the canal), all illustrate for you this first-rate work and its operation. As you may not be able to go there yourself, a moving diorama gives you the illusion of being on the deck of a transiting ship between the Asian shore - a real desert - and the Egyptian shore with its fresh water canal, its fast train, its maritime stations and the enchanted gardens of Ismailia.

Finally, a permanent film shows the Company's workshops and the social institutions that contribute, on a friendly shore, to the excellent reputation of this eminently French work.

©Guide officiel - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Compagnie du canal de Suez

manque image

Architecte(s) : Maurice Gras

Chacun sait que le canal de Suez est une grande œuvre française créée par Ferdinand de Lesseps. Mais tout le monde ne sait pas que la direction entière en est restée française. En revanche, l’importance du canal n’échappe à personne. En 1870, 486 navires transitaient avec 436.000 tonnes ; en 1929 c’étaient 6.274 navires avec 34.511.000 tonnes, soit 80 fois plus.

Le tirant d'eau est passé de 7 m. 50, en 1870, à 10 m. 06 aujourd’hui et ira jusqu'à 13 mètres. La largeur, dans le même temps, est passée de 22 à 60 mètres. Si bien que le cube des déblais atteint 366 millions de mètres, à l’heure actuelle. Cela représente le volume d'une tranchée pareille à celle de nos boulevards, mais qui continuerait jusqu’à Lyon. Grâce à ces travaux, la durée du transit est tombée de 48 à 15 heures. Quant aux tarifs, toujours payés en francs-or, ils ont été abaissés de 10 francs par tonne de capacité à 6 fr. 65.

Tels sont les résultats et les grandes lignes du canal de Suez, que vous devez voir dans son pavillon. Plans en relief, modèles d’appareils, vues dioramiques (dont une représente l’inauguration du canal), tout illustre pour vous cet ouvrage de premier ordre et son fonctionnement. Comme vous ne pourrez peut-être pas y aller vous-même, un diorama mouvant vous donne l’illusion d’être sur le pont d’un navire transiteur entre la rive asiatique — véritable désert — et la rive égyptienne avec son canal d’eau douce, son train rapide, ses gares maritimes et les jardins enchantés d’Ismaïlia.

Enfin, un film permanent vous montre les ateliers de la Compagnie et les institutions sociales qui contribuent, sur une rive amie, à l’excellent renom de cette œuvre éminemment française.

©Guide officiel - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931