Back - List of Pavilions

Attraction Park -

Attraction Park at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1931

The Parc des Attractions, considered indispensable to any modern exhibition, is located behind the French colonies, between the Porte de Reuilly and the Palais d'Angkor. There is a Senegalese proverb which says: "No one is taught to fall into a well. It is enough to cross the hole; then, the rest is easy... "In the sense of seduction, I could not say it better here: "You just have to go through the door; then it's easy... "

The Daumesnil lake is crossed in all directions by colonial flotillas: African pirogues going offshore to fish for sea bream or going down the Niger, thin outrigger pirogues from the Indian and Pacific oceans, Asian sampans visiting the Malayan islands or transporting rice along the multiple and monotonous arroyos. Their comings and goings lead you to the islands of Reuilly and Bercy, where subtle and elegant distractions await you.

To these permanent spectacles are added daily festivals, of a splendour and originality worthy both of the progress of science and of the exotic art spread in the overseas territories. Natives of all races, coming by hundreds from the fertile tropics, wish to reveal to you the secrets and splendour of their daytime and nighttime celebrations. The games of Water and Light, Music, Literature and History, Aviation and the Army, will unite in memorable days to give you new sensations and new feelings.

These celebrations, whether they are Senegalese or Malagasy, Malay or Indochinese, or simply metropolitan, are marked by the highest taste. Together with the documents which enrich this International Colonial Exhibition on all sides, may they make you understand, dear Visitor, that your home has grown singularly, both in surface and in depth, in the field of free joy as well as in the field of work and progress.

©Guide officiel - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Parc des Attractions

Parc des Attractions à l'exposition de Paris 1931

Le Parc des Attractions, jugé indispensable à toute I Exposition moderne, se trouve derrière les colonies françaises, entre la porte de Reuilly et le Palais d’Angkor. I II existe un proverbe sénégalais qui dit : “ On n’enseigne I à personne à tomber dans un puits. Il suffit de franchir l'orifice; ensuite, le reste est facile... ” Dans le sens de i la séduction, je ne saurais mieux dire ici : “ Il suffit de franchir la porte ; ensuite, ça va tout seul... "

Le lac Daumesnil est parcouru en tous sens par des flottilles coloniales : pirogues africaines qui vont au large pêcher la dorade ou qui descendent le Niger, minces pirogues à balancier des océans Indien et Pacifique, sampans de l’Asie qui visitent les îles malaises ou qui transportent le riz le long des arroyos multiples et monotones. Leur va-et-vient vous mène aux îles de Reuilly et de Bercy, où vous attendent des distractions subtiles et élégantes.

A ces spectacles permanents, s’ajoutent chaque jour des fêtes, d’une splendeur et d’une originalité dignes à la fois des progrès de la science et de l'art exotique répandu dans les territoires d’outre-mer. Des indigènes de toute race, venus par centaines des Tropiques féconds, tiennent à vous dévoiler les secrets et tes fastes de leurs réjouissances diurnes et nocturnes. Les jeux de l’Eau et de la Lumière, la Musique, la Littérature et l’Histoire, l'Aviation et l'Armée, s’uniront en des journées mémorables pour vous donner des sensations inédites et des sentiments nouveaux.

Ces fêtes, qu'elles soient sénégalaises ou malgaches, malaises ou indochinoises, ou simplement métropolitaines, sont marquées du plus haut goût. Associées aux documents qui enrichissent de toutes parts cette Exposition Coloniale Internationale, qu'elles vous fassent comprendre, cher Visiteur, que votre maison s'est singulièrement agrandie, en surface et en profondeur, dans le domaine de la joie libre comme dans le domaine du travail et du progrès.

©Guide officiel - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931