International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Colonial Press

Colonial Press at the Exhibition Paris 1931

© Ch. Manuel Frères

Architect(s) : Blanche

On the edge of the ring road of Lake Daumesnil, the Pavillon de la Presse Coloniale, topped by a slender tower in the Annamite style, provides the public with a collection of all the colonial periodicals.

The organisers of the Indochinese Exhibition in Vincennes wanted to associate in the most intimate way with this event the colonial journalists of France and of the Far East, who have always been good workers of an active propaganda in favour of the Second Metropole. It is to this desire that corresponds the creation of a Pavillon de la Presse Coloniale, which is the House of all the publicists whose work is devoted to the Overseas Possessions.

Built next to the Laos Pavilion and opposite that of the Commissariat, the Pavilion of the Colonial Press can claim to be similar to the latter in its architecture, which happily combines the lines of the Annamite style with the comfort requirements of modern construction. Topped by a slender tower reminiscent of one of those frail pagodons that can be seen emerging from a rice field in the land of the Pacified South, it comprises a two-storey building covering an area of about 80 m2, i.e. 8 m deep and 10 m wide. The ground floor is entirely reserved for the Syndicat de la Presse Coloniale, while the first floor houses the French and indigenous newspapers of Indochina. This building was designed by Mr. Blanche, the distinguished architect who presided over the delicate and remarkable reconstruction of the central group of Angkor.

Having an independent Pavilion in the very heart of the Indochinese Section, the members of the Colonial Press and the Indochinese Press thus have at their disposal a first-rate observation post and a meeting centre, which makes easier and lighter the beautiful task of propaganda which they pursue for the future of the greatest France.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Presse Coloniale

Presse Coloniale à l'exposition de Paris 1931

© Ch. Manuel Frères

Architecte(s) : Blanche

En bordure de la route de ceinture du Lac Daumesnil, le Pavillon de la Presse Coloniale, surmonté d’une tour élancée de style annamite, met à la disposition du public une collection de tous les périodiques coloniaux.

Les organisateurs de l’Exposition Indochinoise de Vincennes ont voulu associer de la façon la plus intime à cette manifestation les journalistes coloniaux de la France et d’Extrême-Orient, qui n’ont cessé d’être de bons ouvriers d’une active propagande en faveur de la Métropole Seconde. C’est à ce désir que correspond la création d’un pavillon de la Presse Coloniale, qui est la Maison de tous les publicistes dont l’œuvre est consacrée aux Possessions d’outre-mer.

Edifié à côté du Pavillon du Laos et en face de celui du Commissariat, le Pavillon de la Presse Coloniale peut se réclamer de ce dernier par son architecture, qui allie heureusement les lignes du style annamite aux exigences de confort de la construction moderne. Surmonté d’une tour élancée qui rappelle un de ces frêles pagodons que l’on aperçoit, émergeant d’une rizière, au pays du Sud Pacifié, il comporte un bâtiment de deux étages qui couvre une superficie de 80 m2. environ, soit 8 m. de profondeur sur 10 m. de façade. Le rez-de-chaussée est entièrement réservé au Syndicat de la Presse Coloniale, tandis que le premier étage abrite les journaux français et indigènes de l’Indochine. Ce bâtiment a été conçu par M. Blanche, l’architecte distingué qui a présidé à la délicate et remarquable reconstitution du groupe central d’Angkor.

Possédant un Pavillon indépendant au cœur même de la Section Indochinoise, les membres de la Presse Coloniale et de la Presse Indochinoise ont ainsi à leur disposition un poste d’observation de premier ordre et un centre de réunion, qui leur rend plus facile et plus légère la belle tâche de propagande qu’ils poursuivent pour l’avenir de la plus grande France.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931