International Colonial Exhibition of Paris 1931

May 6, 1931 - November 15, 1931


Back - List of Pavilions

Bouatan

Bouatan at the Exhibition Paris 1931

The Malay word bouatan is an abbreviation of the verb bouat-bouatan, which means: to work by hand. The root bouat is a preposition which has the meaning of: in order to.

It is to this double meaning of the word that the above-mentioned Society has borrowed its name, having as its aim to encourage the manual work and applied arts of the natives, while making them preserve their own style and character, which are truly admirable.

In order to make these various objects of art better known in Europe, the Society opened a permanent exhibition and sale in The Hague near the Royal Palace in 1903. Queen Wilhelmina took a keen interest in the work, which was as much about the welfare of the Colonies as that of the Mother Country.

Bouatan also organised exhibitions abroad, in order to make the folk arts of the natives of the Sunda Islands and the Colonies in South America widely known. In 1929 she took part in the much-appreciated Exhibition of Applied Arts at the Pavillon de Marsan in the Louvre. In 1930 it took part with great success in the Colonial Exhibition in Antwerp. Now it is represented in Vincennes, in the beautiful 'Sumatran' house of the Dutch Section.

This elegant indigenous house, with its hand-carved wooden panels, contains real treasures of popular art: fibre, cotton and silk fabrics - the famous ikat and batik, and brocades woven with gold and silver threads - engraved and embossed copper, worked leather, spartan and basketry objects, jewellery, weapons, pottery, lace, etc.: objects that fit in equally well with the traditional art of the Sumatran people. In the past, craftsmen were protected by their families, but nowadays they have no protection.

In the past, the craftsmen were protected by their native Sovereigns, their own chiefs, who commissioned and bought the finest works of art from them.

It is only right that their European chiefs should now help them in their efforts, so that their art is not lost.

Bouatan has from the beginning made attempts in this direction and will continue until the goal is reached, so that the indigenous folk art of the Colonies will not perish for lack of European appreciation and encouragement.

In the early days of colonisation, the handicrafts of the natives were regarded as little more than curiosities, hardly worthy of inclusion in ethnographic museums in Europe. It is only in recent years that their artistic and social value has begun to be realised, at a time when they were "almost lost forever".

Among the various aims of the grandiose Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Vincennes, the least is certainly not the encouragement of popular arts. Bouatan is absolutely of the same opinion as M. J. Coëz in his report to the Congress of Colonial Crafts on 5 June 1931. He underlines the following words: "We want the craftsmen of each Colony to keep their own methods of manufacture, and to continue to put on their products the reflection of their racial qualities; we want there to be always the same difference between the product of an Indochinese craft and that of a Senegalese craft, between the work of a Malagasy craftsman and that of an Algerian craftsman. "

This differentiation of goods, an inevitable consequence of the Craft Industry, far from being an unfortunate phenomenon, is on the contrary a very favourable fact. It tends to eliminate the competition between the Metropolis and the Colonies which can only exist between producers of identical products, and the abolition of competition will develop a community of interest, a feeling of interdependence between the Mother Country and her overseas possessions.

But the maintenance of the indigenous craft tradition is perfectly compatible with the achievement of progress in the operation of the trades. We consider it essential to give the craftsmen of the Colonies the benefit of scientific processes and new methods of organisation.

If all the colonising nations would collaborate in this same aim, it is certain that it would soon be achieved.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931

Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Paris 1931

6 mai 1931 - 15 novembre 1931


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Bouatan

Bouatan à l'exposition de Paris 1931

Le mot malais bouatan est une abréviation du verbe bouat-bouatan, qui veut dire : travailler à la main. La racine bouat est une préposition qui a le sens de : dans le but de.

C’est à cette double signification du mot que la susdite Société a emprunté son nom, ayant pour but. d’encourager le travail manuel et les arts appliqués des indigènes, tout en leur faisant conserver leur style et leur caractère propres, qui sont vraiment admirables.

Pour mieux faire connaître ces divers objets d’arts en Europe, la Société a, dès sa fondation en 1903, ouvert à La Haye une exposition permanente avec vente, à proximité du Palais Royal. La Reine Wilhelmine s’intéresse vivement à l’œuvre, qui envisage tout autant le bien-être des Colonies que celui de la Mère-Patrie.

Bouatan organise également des expositions à l’étranger, pour faire connaître dans une large mesure les arts populaires des indigènes des Iles de la Sonde et des Colonies en Amérique du Sud. En 1929 elle a participé à l’Exposition si appréciée des arts appliqués au Pavillon de Marsan du Louvre. En 1930 elle a, avec beaucoup de succès, pris part à l’Exposition Coloniale d’Anvers. La voilà représentée aujourd’hui à Vincennes, dans la belle habitation' Sumatrane de la Section Néerlandaise.

Cette élégante demeure indigène, dont tous les panneaux sont en bois sculpté à la main, contient de vrais trésors d’art populaire : tissus en fibre, en coton et en soie —- les célèbres ikat et batik, et les brocarts tissés de fils d’or et d’argent — cuivres gravés et repoussés, cuirs travaillés, objets en sparterie et en vannerie, bijoux, armes, poteries, dentelles, etc. : objets qui cadrent tout aussi bien dans un milieu artistique européen.

Autrefois les artisans étaient protégés par leurs Souverains indigènes, leurs propres chefs, qui leur commandaient et leur achetaient les plus beaux travaux d’art.

Il n’est que juste que leurs chefs européens les aident maintenant dans leurs efforts, afin que leur art ne se perde pas.

Bouatan a dès le début fait des tentatives dans cette direction et elle continuera jusqu’à ce que le but soit atteint, afin que l’art populaire indigène des Colonies ne périsse pas, faute d’appréciation et d’encouragement de la part des Européens.

Dans les premiers temps de la colonisation, les travaux manuels des indigènes n’étaient guère considérés que comme des curiosités, dignes à peine de figurer dans les musées ethnographiques en Europe. Ce n’est que depuis quelques années qu’on commence à se rendre compte de leur valeur artistique et sociale, au moment où ils « faillirent se perdre à jamais ».

Parmi les différents buts que vise la grandiose Exposition Coloniale Internationale de Vincennes, le moindre n’est certes pas l’encouragement des arts populaires. Bouatan est absolument du même avis que M. J. Coëz dans son rapport prononcé au Congrès de l’Artisanat Colonial le 5 Juin 1931. Il souligne les mots suivants : « Nous voulons que les artisans de chaque Colonie conservent leurs méthodes propres de fabrication, et continuent à apposer sur leurs produits le reflet de leurs qualités raciales; nous voulons qu’il existe toujours la même différence entre le produit d’un métier indochinois et celui d’un métier sénégalais, entre l’œuvre d’un artisan malgache et celle d’un artisan algérien. »

Cette différenciation des marchandises conséquence inéluctable de l’Artisanat, loin d’être un phénomène fâcheux, est au contraire un fait très favorable. Elle tend à supprimer en effet entre la Métropole et les Colonies la concurrence qui ne peut exister qu’entre producteurs de produits identiques, et l’abolition de la concurrence développera une communauté d’intérêt, un sentiment d’interdépendance entre la Mère-Patrie et ses possessions d’outre-mer.

Mais le maintien de la tradition artisanale indigène est parfaitement compatible avec la réalisation d’un progrès dans le fonctionnement des métiers. Nous estimons indispensable de faire bénéficier les artisans des Colonies des procédés scientifiques et des nouvelles méthodes d’organisation.

Si toutes les Nations colonisatrices collaboraient dans ce même but, il est certain qu’il serait bientôt atteint.

©Livre D'Or - Exposition Coloniale Internationale - Paris 1931